English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2019, 10:52   #1
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 514
PS2 keyboard on CD32 riser card, am i doing something stupid?

Probably....

I've had the riser card for some time now, had it since getting my TF328 ages ago but I've never had need to use the PS2 port on it until last night. I plugged in an old HP PS2 keyboard I've had lying around for years but it doesn't seem to work. Am I missing something obvious here? Do I need to load any drivers to get this to work? (I don't think so). When the CD32 first powers on the 3 lights on the keyboard i.e. number, caps, scroll lock all flash but thats the only life I get from it. None of these work again after the initial flash and no keys work in workbench or games.

Oh and yes I've tested the keyboard on an old windows 95 laptop (it works fine) and its just a standard keyboard i.e. no multimedia buttons.

Any ideas whats going on?

I unfortunately don't have another keyboard to try all be it I could borrow one from work over the weekend. (yes we have stuff that old in work)

Edit: I currently have the TF330 plugged into the card rather than the TF328 but I don't think that would be the issue.
Glen M is offline  
Old 15 March 2019, 11:10   #2
Wachi
Registered User

Wachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Madrid
Posts: 104
Thumbs up

Surely it is your keyboard, I have a Genius KB-110X, PS/2, black color, that cost me € 10 and works perfectly.

Last edited by Wachi; 15 March 2019 at 11:17.
Wachi is offline  
Old 15 March 2019, 11:14   #3
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 879
Yes the Riser is picky with some PS/2 keyboards..rule of thumb is older the better, like Dell, compaq, ect
supaduper is offline  
Old 15 March 2019, 11:17   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,734
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Also depends on riser. I had murder with mine until firmware on pic was updated.
FOL is offline  
Old 15 March 2019, 11:23   #5
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 514
OK thanks guys I'll grab another keyboard and give it a go.

The keyboard I was trying is from the 90s but I guess it just bad luck on my part that particular one doesn't work.

The riser was built by supaduper so I expect it to be fine as per all the other excellent stuff he puts together.
Glen M is offline  
Old 15 March 2019, 13:31   #6
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,734
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
The riser was built by supaduper so I expect it to be fine as per all the other excellent stuff he puts together.

Im sure it will be fine, he does good work.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 March 2019, 03:11   #7
xubidoo
Scoobydoo

xubidoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Blackburn,UK
Posts: 219
i bought a brand new ps2 pc keyboard off ebay and it works great on the riser port on the tf328 and tf330.

black and silver HP ,brand new for about £8 ish
xubidoo is offline  
Old 22 March 2019, 12:33   #8
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by xubidoo View Post
i bought a brand new ps2 pc keyboard off ebay and it works great on the riser port on the tf328 and tf330.

black and silver HP ,brand new for about £8 ish
I've had no luck with mine so far. Would you mind giving me the link of the keyboard you bought just so if I'm buying one I no I'm getting something that will work.
Glen M is offline  
Old 22 March 2019, 18:17   #9
xubidoo
Scoobydoo

xubidoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Blackburn,UK
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glen M View Post
I've had no luck with mine so far. Would you mind giving me the link of the keyboard you bought just so if I'm buying one I no I'm getting something that will work.

The seller i got mine from is out of stock unfortunatly , but is a lot still for sale altho at mostly silly prices.

MPN Number 434820-037

New but only 1 left in stock Ebay No: 163543161596 £8 + £3 post

used if your interested, Ebay No: 293012791211 £5 + £3 post

Last edited by xubidoo; 22 March 2019 at 18:29. Reason: added prices
xubidoo is offline  
Old 22 March 2019, 21:47   #10
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Back in Somerset
Posts: 468
I also use a HP 0316 keyboard for my CD32 and FPGA devices.
Solid keyboard.
It was the main one that came with our work computers and they can take a lot of punishment plus a good scrub and still work!
Higgy is offline  
Old 22 March 2019, 22:48   #11
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,458
I bought this cheap black dell one, works fine with my riser and tf330

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F273383204132

/edit - it’s actually not perfect. It works fine in workbench but will quickly lockup in games like Doom or Alien Breed 3d after a few moments and needs a power on/off to revive

Last edited by trixster; 03 April 2019 at 21:09.
trixster is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 20:45   #12
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wachi View Post
Surely it is your keyboard, I have a Genius KB-110X, PS/2, black color, that cost me € 10 and works perfectly.
no luck here with the exact same keyboard, bought today.
wairnair is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 20:48   #13
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Also depends on riser. I had murder with mine until firmware on pic was updated.
what firmware did you update? what's "pic"?
wairnair is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 21:01   #14
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 816
As far as I am aware, there is only 1 firmware version for the PIC used on the kipper rev 6 risers. You guys also have to remember that stock CD32 PSU can't drive every keyboard, since they tend to draw a lot of power. So it might be that the keyboard you have is perfectly fine but the PSU simply can't provide enough.

For example, look at the bottom of your keyboard how much power it draws. I've seen from 50 mA to 150 mA, nd none of them give me any trouble when powered through an AT 250W power supply, but they might if I had the stock CD32 PSU.
alenppc is offline  
Old 03 April 2019, 21:05   #15
xubidoo
Scoobydoo

xubidoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Blackburn,UK
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
As far as I am aware, there is only 1 firmware version for the PIC used on the kipper rev 6 risers. You guys also have to remember that stock CD32 PSU can't drive every keyboard, since they tend to draw a lot of power. So it might be that the keyboard you have is perfectly fine but the PSU simply can't provide enough.

For example, look at the bottom of your keyboard how much power it draws. I've seen from 50 mA to 150 mA, nd none of them give me any trouble when powered through an AT 250W power supply, but they might if I had the stock CD32 PSU.

Just checked mine and its 50mA (HP 0316 Keyboard), no problem on either of the tf328 or tf330 on the stock cd32 psu, but possibly psu's vary or maybe be more fussy if its had a hard life

checked Trixsters KB link for the Dell PS2 Black 05N292 and its 75mA , maybe why it locks in demanding games, Wachi's Genius kb is fine at 100mA so who knows.

50mA - HP 0316 Keyboard
75mA - Dell PS2 Black 05N292
100mA - Genius KB-110X

Last edited by xubidoo; 04 April 2019 at 02:35.
xubidoo is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 00:39   #16
Wachi
Registered User

Wachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Madrid
Posts: 104
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
no luck here with the exact same keyboard, bought today.
I do not understand why it does not work for you, I use a normal power supply with 17W for CD32 and it works without problems on TF328 and TF330.




Last edited by Wachi; 04 April 2019 at 00:47.
Wachi is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 00:57   #17
Puggsy
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
As far as I am aware, there is only 1 firmware version for the PIC used on the kipper rev 6 risers.
But does the OP have that riser? it is not said.
Is your riser's PIC chip 8 or 16 pins? That will tell you what version you have.
Puggsy is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 11:02   #18
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puggsy View Post
But does the OP have that riser? it is not said.
Is your riser's PIC chip 8 or 16 pins? That will tell you what version you have.
my riser is from eduarana and it does not have any microcontroller on it. it has a vga port so I built a vga-scart cable for good picture quality.
for that cable I had to make use of the 5V pin of the ps2 port though. But that's just pull up to 5V because scart needs it, no load there effectively.
still, maybe that's the culprit..
it does look like a power issue, the capslock etc leds sometimes get stuck after reset,after some time.
I guess an original amiga kb would be ideal, but they go for serious money..
wairnair is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 16:49   #19
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puggsy View Post
But does the OP have that riser? it is not said.
Is your riser's PIC chip 8 or 16 pins? That will tell you what version you have.

Rev 6 risers use pic16f628a-i/p which is what I and supaduper include with bundles bought from us.

Rev 5 risers used something different.


So currently my statements are only applicable to kipper rev6 risers.
alenppc is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 17:21   #20
Puggsy
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
it does look like a power issue, the capslock etc leds sometimes get stuck after reset,after some time.
Have you recapped your CD32?
Puggsy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
and another CD32 Riser! Bprepared Hardware mods 87 27 April 2019 13:02
CD32 riser with PS2 in combination with CD32 keyboard port Steffest support.Hardware 4 26 February 2019 21:50
Kipper2k CD32 Riser - RGB (DB23) and PC Keyboard (PS/2) Ideal for TF328 kgc210 MarketPlace 43 24 May 2018 01:37
CD32 Expansion Riser solidcore Hardware mods 84 05 October 2017 16:33
WTB: CD32/A4000 to PS2 Keyboard Adapter nc88keyz MarketPlace 19 27 January 2008 16:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09220 seconds with 15 queries