English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 February 2019, 08:21   #41
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 996
About zipping demos stuff, did you notice that zip compression is better than lha ?

Last edited by chip; 05 February 2019 at 08:29.
chip is offline  
Old 06 February 2019, 22:39   #42
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,548
I wonder why, when I start WinUAE, load a config, and drag my first file into it, that it doesn't load and after a couple of seconds, drops me back to the Windows desktop? It's not a big deal, as it works when I drag it across again and thereafter, but I wonder why it does that? I find it quite handy that it goes back to the Windows desktop so I can try again.
Foebane is online now  
Old 06 February 2019, 23:08   #43
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,303
Strange, it does it with even small files lha?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 06 February 2019, 23:41   #44
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Strange, it does it with even small files lha?
I don't have any draggable LHAs to try it with, only ADFs and bootable EXEs. The configurations I use for drag and drop are essentially for floppy-based A500, A600 and A1200 and don't have the ClassicWB HDF, since that's for all the HDD stuff I have, on the higher end.
Foebane is online now  
Old 07 February 2019, 01:58   #45
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,548
AS, it's really not a big deal, I was just curious, that's all.
Foebane is online now  
Old 07 February 2019, 02:11   #46
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
I don't have any draggable LHAs to try it with.
On Aminet almost all archives are in LHA, dragging works with any OS and even from Workbench booted from floppy.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 08:05   #47
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,548
Nope, with the demos I collected, I've taken the LHAs and ripped out the EXEs and tossed away everything else, at least with those demos that are single executables. For demos with multiple EXEs and/or data files included, they're untouched except for renaming.
Foebane is online now  
Old 07 February 2019, 08:14   #48
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 996
I do the same
chip is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 08:41   #49
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
I do the same
Whew, that's a relief. I was starting to think I was being naughty in just keeping the EXEs and discarding their descriptive text files, etc. But really, that's what they are, just text documents. I prefer to let the demos themselves do the talking, since the credits are usually there anyway.
Foebane is online now  
Old 07 February 2019, 08:48   #50
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 996
I still don't understand why TOSEC has so few demos in EXE format

I mean, they are actually a lot
chip is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 08:54   #51
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
I still don't understand why TOSEC has so few demos in EXE format

I mean, they are actually a lot
I get almost all of my demos from Pouet.net. From the page of each demo is a Download link, and I got my files from there. The links are to Scene.org, usually, and that saves having to search that site itself.

I'm attaching my current list of Amiga demos with Pouet.net links, so you can see what demos you're missing (if any) and add them to your collection. Almost all the files I've downloaded have been LHAs, with sometimes EXEs by themselves, and rarer still, ADFs and DMSs. Enjoy!
Attached Files
File Type: zip Amiga Demos.zip (12.5 KB, 9 views)
Foebane is online now  
Old 07 February 2019, 09:01   #52
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 996
Hey, thanks .... nice list

What they are the letters with "Small" and "Large" text ?

Last edited by chip; 07 February 2019 at 09:16.
chip is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 11:52   #53
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Hey, thanks .... nice list

What they are the letters with "Small" and "Large" text ?
The letters A-H are the eight configurations I use for Amiga stuff (A being an A500 with half meg expansion, all the way up to H which is the fastest 68040 (060) stuff.

"Large" means the multi-file demos within LHA archives that I leave intact (because these are single demos made up of many files or ADFs and so they are almost always larger).

"Small" means the single EXEs and ADFs that I've ripped out of LHA archives, and most of those are smaller.

Foebane is online now  
Old 07 February 2019, 12:50   #54
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 996
I always prefer EXE instead of ADF (if possible)

Then ADF and only as last option the ZIP
chip is offline  
Old 07 February 2019, 13:18   #55
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
I always prefer EXE instead of ADF (if possible)

Then ADF and only as last option the ZIP
I've seen quite a few downloaded LHAs containing both EXE and ADF versions.
Foebane is online now  
Old 07 February 2019, 13:20   #56
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 996
Yes

But ADF is kept ONLY if it adds something relevant respect than EXE

And that's usually not the case
chip is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga formatted zip disks via USB zip drive in WinUAE? planetidiot New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 02 February 2018 09:43
System.zip / bad zip-file Ztein project.ClassicWB 24 22 April 2012 03:14
Large number of cheap X68000s available on YAJ papa_november Retrogaming General Discussion 0 06 September 2010 20:42
Your wii number? T_hairy_bootson Retrogaming General Discussion 21 26 January 2007 19:35
zip-zip hooray! TheOutrider support.WinUAE 1 21 November 2003 00:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10406 seconds with 14 queries