English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 February 2019, 19:53   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,546
Possible to launch floppies from a large number in .zip?

I know that you can take an ADF file and zip it up and WinUAE will still read it fine, and that you could take a few ADFs in a zip and select them from a drop-down list in floppies, but is it possible to take dozens or even hundreds of ADFs and bootable exes in a single zip? The idea is I'd like to compress an entire folder of disks and exes into a single zip rather than individual zips for each and every one.

I experimented earlier with the current system and it seemed to have an upper limit of a few dozen or so, and not all of the 170+ files in my zip were listed. What is the upper limit? If I have to break up the folder into a few zips, I don't really mind, but I would prefer no limits.
Foebane is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 20:26   #2
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,546
I've just tested, and it seems the drop-down list limit is 50. I guess the folder will have to be split up then.
Foebane is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 20:35   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
The idea is I'd like to compress an entire folder of disks and exes into a single zip rather than individual zips for each and every one.
Why would you or anyone want to do this?

Also, if you keep files zipped then nothing can be written to them, which will be a problem if a game saves hiscores or settings.
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 20:46   #4
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,546
At the moment, I have hundreds of Amiga files that I store in an ISO image, but it doesn't compress anything, but I use ISO as the contents cannot be changed (storage) and I can burn it onto recordable DVD immediately as backup.

I was investigating zipping up whole folders of these files to compress them and reduce the size of the ISO and still being able to access them when done (the alternative would be extractions beforehand) but having tried it out this afternoon, it's proven to be impractical.

I'm forever trying to organise my files in different ways, just so you know. It may be strange, but I like doing so.
Foebane is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 21:20   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
I experimented earlier with the current system and it seemed to have an upper limit of a few dozen or so, and not all of the 170+ files in my zip were listed. What is the upper limit? If I have to break up the folder into a few zips, I don't really mind, but I would prefer no limits.
I do not know if I understand correctly, I do not know the maximum limit of files that you can compress in Zip certainly are many and many more than 170. I tested a folder with 300 .adf and I had no problem, saved 100MB of space.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 21:22   #6
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
I do not know if I understand correctly, I do not know the maximum limit of files that you can compress in Zip certainly are many and many more than 170. I tested a folder with 300 .adf and I had no problem, saved 100MB of space.
How did you run them from the .zip through WinUAE without extracting?
Foebane is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 21:32   #7
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
How did you run them from the .zip through WinUAE without extracting?
You do not have to extract them, you just have to drag them from the GUI of WinZip or WinRAR etc .. into the floppy drive of WinUAE, see video attached, the rest will think Windows to create the virtual floppy in the TEMP

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 04 February 2019 at 22:49.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 21:32   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,354
History list is restricted to sane size.. You can also manually use two path types:

name_of_zip.zip\name_of_file_inside_zip.adf

or

name_of_zip.zip\#100 = open file number 100 in zip.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 22:17   #9
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
You do not have to extract them, you just have to drag them from the GUI of WinZip or WinRAR etc .. into the floppy drive of WinUAE, see video attached, the rest will think Windows to create the virtual floppy in the TEMP
Your video nicely demonstrates how to do this in a window, but I always run WinUAE in fullscreen. What is the procedure for that? I tried drag-n-drop with ordinary files, but it ignored those from an archive opened in 7-Zip and File Explorer.
Foebane is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 22:45   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Your video nicely demonstrates how to do this in a window, but I always run WinUAE in fullscreen. What is the procedure for that? I tried drag-n-drop with ordinary files, but it ignored those from an archive opened in 7-Zip and File Explorer.
Simple, just use the Alt-Tab keys and take the file wherever you want, see video

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 04 February 2019 at 22:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 22:52   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,459
You guys do realise that you don't have to be in the "Floppy drives" section?

This thread has details about a feature that's in v4.1.0: Pointless Feature Request - Zoned areas for drag and drop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Window corners now work as drag'n'drop hot spots for different floppy drives. (top/left=0, top/right=1, bottom/left=2, bottom/right=3).
This works in Windowed, Fullscreen or Full-window modes.
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 22:53   #12
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,546
For some reason, WinUAE is ignoring files dragged from zip archives on 7-Zip (I created the zip archives from that as well). I keep getting the "circle with a slash through it".
Foebane is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 23:01   #13
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
For some reason, WinUAE is ignoring files dragged from zip archives on 7-Zip (I created the zip archives from that as well). I keep getting the "circle with a slash through it".
Yes confirm, the files dragged from the 7-Zip GUI on WinUAE do not work, while with the GUI of Windows Explorer it is not possible to drag the files from on WinUAE (tested only with Win7 32Bit)

Everything works perfectly with WinRAR (you can also do it to save on the floppy), i have not tested other archivers.


@Damiano
Sorry, you can move everything if you think it's appropriate

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 02 February 2019 at 23:09.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 23:11   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
while with the GUI of Windows Explorer it is not possible to drag the files from on WinUAE (tested only with Win7 32Bit)
Weird, dragging .ZIP files from Windows Explorer works fine here.

I'm using Windows 7 [64-bit] though, but can't imagine using [32-bit] would make a difference...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
@Damiano
Sorry, you can move everything if you think it's appropriate
The comments I made were not for the purpose of moving / merging threads.

It was for you guys to be made aware of the "drag'n'drop hot spots"

Last edited by DamienD; 02 February 2019 at 23:17.
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 February 2019, 23:31   #15
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Weird, dragging .ZIP files from Windows Explorer works fine here.

I'm using Windows 7 [64-bit] though, but can't imagine using [32-bit] would make a difference...
Damiano, i was not talking about dragging .ZIP files but the file .ADF contained in the ZIP as shown in the two videos.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 00:05   #16
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Everything works perfectly with WinRAR (you can also do it to save on the floppy), i have not tested other archivers.
Confirmed! (I just checked, lucky I registered WinRAR a long time ago)

What I've tried is to open WinUAE to my specified floppy configuration, then press the middle mouse button to get back to the desktop and drag an item from WinRAR to the WinUAE icon on the taskbar. It then goes to WinUAE fullscreen and I can drop it then, and it will boot, although I have to restart the Amiga if something's already running.

However, doing this seems to not change the disk unless I eject it with Shift+End+F1 first.
Foebane is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 00:09   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,303
Ok, WinRAR Number 1
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 00:25   #18
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Ok, WinRAR Number 1
Yeah, this conversation tonight reminded me that 7-Zip has issues with drag and drop, I'd completely forgotten. I would've preferred to just have the one archiver, but more than one is more useful.
Foebane is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 00:36   #19
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
I would've preferred to just have the one archiver, but more than one is more useful.
Yes, an Italian TV spot says .. two and better than one
Quote:
However, doing this seems to not change the disk unless I eject it with Shift+End+F1 first.
Even here there is a solution, you can drag on the AMiGA screen the ADF without using F12, in this way the exchange will be automatic, watch video

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 04 February 2019 at 22:48.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 03 February 2019, 02:28   #20
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 13,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
What I've tried is to open WinUAE to my specified floppy configuration, then press the middle mouse button to get back to the desktop and drag an item from WinRAR to the WinUAE icon on the taskbar. It then goes to WinUAE fullscreen and I can drop it then, and it will boot, although I have to restart the Amiga if something's already running.
Yes, you have to reset if something's already running.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
However, doing this seems to not change the disk unless I eject it with Shift+End+F1 first.
Doesn't happen here... are you using the "drag'n'drop hot spots" method? Don't have the GUI open at all, or be on the "Floppy drives" section.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Window corners now work as drag'n'drop hot spots for different floppy drives. (top/left=0, top/right=1, bottom/left=2, bottom/right=3).
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Ok, WinRAR Number 1
Yup, I don't use any other compression software on Windows.

WinRAR is all anyone should need

Last edited by DamienD; 03 February 2019 at 02:33.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga formatted zip disks via USB zip drive in WinUAE? planetidiot New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 02 February 2018 09:43
System.zip / bad zip-file Ztein project.ClassicWB 24 22 April 2012 03:14
Large number of cheap X68000s available on YAJ papa_november Retrogaming General Discussion 0 06 September 2010 20:42
Your wii number? T_hairy_bootson Retrogaming General Discussion 21 26 January 2007 19:35
zip-zip hooray! TheOutrider support.WinUAE 1 21 November 2003 00:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08725 seconds with 14 queries