English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 October 2018, 15:11   #41
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 911
After comparing all the files between the "IPF" set and the "[cr-GOD]" set (disks 2 -> 9), as there was no difference at all, I have renamed the ADF files and added the one kindly provided by StingRay (disk 1). It's in the zone .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SimonCompare-IPF_GOD.png
Views:	87
Size:	16.2 KB
ID:	60126  

Last edited by malko; 05 October 2018 at 10:10. Reason: Screenshot
malko is offline  
Old 04 October 2018, 15:26   #42
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
My crack is just a 1-byte modification on disk 1.
StingRay is offline  
Old 04 October 2018, 15:49   #43
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 911
... and it does the job .

"La modestie va bien aux grands hommes. C'est de n'être rien et d'être quand même modeste qui est difficile."
Jules Renard - Artiste, écrivain (1864 - 1910)
malko is offline  
Old 04 October 2018, 19:30   #44
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,861
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
My crack is just a 1-byte modification on disk 1.
Mhhhh will you add a nice intro for this patch or will you fix the GOD crack ?
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 04 October 2018, 19:45   #45
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
Mhhhh will you add a nice intro for this patch or will you fix the GOD crack ?
I will not touch the lame GOD crack at all (why should I?) and probably won't add any intro either as this was just a quick hack to help malko. Game works and can be played, that's all I was interested in.
StingRay is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 17:40   #46
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 911
For information purpose only

My "mini-Gozilla" were complaining about an action they cannot perform with the new crack (see bug 4 below)

So I checked and I saw more bugs with the "GOD" release :
bug 2a- Simon will jump in front of the dwarf's cave ;
bug 2b- Before Simon jumps, texts are not displayed in the same chronology as in the original game ;
bug 2c- After jumping Simon will disappear when we want to move him ;
bug 3- As soon as we want to move to another screen, Simon says he is wearing the beard (even if not wearing it) ;
bug 4- Simon can go through the closed grid of the castle and enter the torture room.

For sure there are other issues, but since we are not playing this set any more ...

In view of the above, maybe dlfrsilver's idea about a cracktro is a good idea
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GOD-crack_prb-MineDesNains1.gif
Views:	100
Size:	190.9 KB
ID:	60157   Click image for larger version

Name:	GOD-crack_prb-MineDesNains2.gif
Views:	93
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	60158   Click image for larger version

Name:	GOD-crack_prb-GrilleDuChateau.gif
Views:	94
Size:	130.1 KB
ID:	60159  
malko is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 19:54   #47
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,880
malko, why are you still using the GOD release? Surely you should use StingRay's disk 1 and the IPFs for the other disks.

...or even install using the above set.
DamienD is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 20:32   #48
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
malko, why are you still using the GOD release? Surely you should use StingRay's disk 1 and the IPFs for the other disks.

...or even install using the above set.
I don't use it any more. I only checked the so-called "bug" my kids reported .
Of course we use the "StingRay" one
malko is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 14:45   #49
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 911
Today I received a biiiiiiiiiiiiiiiig hug ! With a biiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiig THANK YOU DAD for the working game !!!
(an action that was impossible before is now allowed with your crack and they tested it only today)

I keep the hug , but forward you the "biiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiig THANK YOU" from my "mini-Godzilla" StingRay
malko is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 20:42   #50
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
Excellent. I wish your little ones much fun playing the game.
StingRay is offline  
Old 11 October 2018, 21:10   #51
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,861
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Excellent. I wish your little ones much fun playing the game.
Simon is a top class game. ah, so well used 64 colors halfbright graphics
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 17:10   #52
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 50
Posts: 1,087
Many years passed after Mok cracked ECS version correctly, then I can recall something wrong. But I suspect that StingRay crack will be dont works from HD. Why? Because HD installer copy files from 1st to 9th disk. And cracked file from first disk is overwritten by same file (uncracked) from other disk. Of course maybe it was different adventure game with this smart protection, but on 90% it was Simon The Sorcerer game. If Im right then cracked file must be copied on other disk too.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 17:35   #53
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
Yes, the data file is present on disk 2 as well. This has more to do with with minimizing disk changes than smart protection for me though.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 17:35   #54
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 12,880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
Many years passed after Mok cracked ECS version correctly, then I can recall something wrong. But I suspect that StingRay crack will be dont works from HD. Why? Because HD installer copy files from 1st to 9th disk. And cracked file from first disk is overwritten by same file (uncracked) from other disk. Of course maybe it was different adventure game with this smart protection, but on 90% it was Simon The Sorcerer game. If Im right then cracked file must be copied on other disk too.
Couldn't you just install using Stingray's Disk 1 and the .IPFs for the other disks; then once complete manually copy Stingray's cracked file from Disk 1 to the installed folder?
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 17:48   #55
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,157
Yes, that will of course work.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 18:51   #56
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
[...] But I suspect that StingRay crack will be dont works from HD. Why? Because HD installer copy files from 1st to 9th disk. And cracked file from first disk is overwritten by same file (uncracked) from other disk. [...]
I will replace the archive with an updated disk 2 as well then.
Good for me that, with DOS disks, I always copy the files manually and begin with the last disk of the set (9 -> 1)
malko is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 19:34   #57
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 50
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Yes, the data file is present on disk 2 as well. This has more to do with with minimizing disk changes than smart protection for me though.
No, this is smart HD protection, if i remember right this file is not called/unused when you played from disks. Maybe Malko can delete this file from second disk and play from disks to confirm?
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 19:41   #58
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 50
Posts: 1,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Couldn't you just install using Stingray's Disk 1 and the .IPFs for the other disks; then once complete manually copy Stingray's cracked file from Disk 1 to the installed folder?
Yes, it will be works, but clean version (for me) is replaced uncracked file with cracked version. If someone will be used original HD installer. In my Amiga collection, I have cracked file on both disks. I remember that someone fixed this problem modyfiyng original HD install too, data from first disk was copied at the end. At begining data from disk 2 to disk 9 was copied.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 19:44   #59
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
No, this is smart HD protection, if i remember right this file is not called/unused when you played from disks. Maybe Malko can delete this file from second disk and play from disks to confirm?
If I remember correctly a video in youtube, this game takes almost 5 hours to complete when you know what has to be done... I thus have to decline, or you have to wait maybe 6 month or a year before I can confirm that the whole game is working without the file on disk 2...

Ok, updated archive in the zone.

Edit: Thanks DonAdan

Last edited by malko; 12 October 2018 at 20:27. Reason: wording
malko is offline  
Old 28 October 2018, 01:00   #60
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 911
The day before yesterday my min-Godzilla managed to finish Simon the Sorcerer .
I only helped them twice for the whole game. Whaou !

Your crack is StingRay !

They issued some bugs while playing but I am quite sure it is not related to the crack. To keep a record, here are the two issue they faced (not reproducible every time) :
- From the village, use the map to go to the dwarfs' cave. Enter the cave -> crash.
- From the dwarfs' cave walk to the woodcutter's house. When entering the woodcutter "screen" -> black screen, music still playing, if you click with the mouse several time -> crash.
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simon the Sorcerer 2 edd_jedi support.Games 2 31 December 2012 11:30
simon the sorcerer in french voice !!!! turrican3 project.Amiga Game Factory 2 17 November 2012 12:06
simon the sorcerer with subtitles in french ? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 2 05 March 2010 01:08
Simon the Sorcerer mai HOL data problems 2 02 November 2008 18:41
Save/load game in Simon The Sorcerer CD32 Ironclaw support.Games 3 31 May 2006 17:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09417 seconds with 16 queries