English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 March 2010, 06:42   #1
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
os 3.1 to 3.9

just wondering if its worth upgrading from os 3.1 to 3.9?
a3k 2 meg chip and 4 meg fast.. just for gaming and the odd app.. is there a difference or a benefit just to game?

lost
lost_loven is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 March 2010, 07:05   #2
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
nope, not enough FAST RAM to be worth the trouble.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 29 March 2010, 07:10   #3
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,498
NovaCoder is right, keep your 3.1 and pimp it a bit!
gulliver is offline  
Old 14 April 2010, 00:39   #4
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
just saw this thread and thought i would take the chance of asking a question which is slightly relevant to this.
Where do you actually get a copy of amiga OS 3.9?
Thought i would give it a try, but do not know where to get it.
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 14 April 2010, 02:05   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikolaj_sofus View Post
Where do you actually get a copy of amiga OS 3.9?
Thought i would give it a try, but do not know where to get it.
Hi Nikolaj,

Get it here.

Last edited by prowler; 15 April 2010 at 00:30. Reason: Fixed link to keep everyone happy, just like me :)
prowler is offline  
Old 14 April 2010, 08:37   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,553
@prowler:

You shouldn't offer your private shopping cart to the public. Rather use the direct link from the bottom of the page: http://www.vesalia.de/e_os39.htm
thomas is online now  
Old 14 April 2010, 11:16   #7
Nikolaj_sofus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Copenhagen / Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 259
Send a message via MSN to Nikolaj_sofus
yeah... saw it right after i actually posted

Guess i'm gonna do a bit of shopping at some point
Nikolaj_sofus is offline  
Old 14 April 2010, 23:11   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
@prowler:

You shouldn't offer your private shopping cart to the public. Rather use the direct link from the bottom of the page: http://www.vesalia.de/e_os39.htm
Hi Thomas,

Please correct me if I'm wrong here. AFAIK there is nothing 'private' about that link. It shows all the details of the product, but still requires registration/login if you decide to go ahead and purchase.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 April 2010, 23:34   #9
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
I checked earlier and could`t find any of your dets Prowler or you would have had a pm or something


you might want to take Amiga OS 3.9 out of your basket though
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 14 April 2010, 23:35   #10
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
I checked earlier and could`t find any of your dets Prowler or you would have had a pm or sothing
Thanks for looking out for me, Cosmic!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
you might want to take Amiga OS 3.9 out of your basket though
Yes, I've had my OS 3.9 CD for nine years now.
prowler is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 00:23   #11
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
@ http://www.vesalia.de/e_os39.htm I mean, or shopping cart as its called there
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 00:32   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Yep, that's what Thomas said. You'll be glad to know that I've bowed to popular opinion and fixed my link accordingly.
prowler is offline  
Old 15 April 2010, 00:56   #13
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
I think you'll need at least an 030@50 with 32mb ram to enjoy 3.9...btw, I think Amigakit are selling OS3.9 too
klx300r is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26119 seconds with 13 queries