English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 March 2010, 01:14   #1
jamespstevenson
Registered User
jamespstevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 40
How do I add new WHDLoad games to extras in GB Amiga

Hello,

I'm trying to add Odyssey to GB Amiga, it's in the listing and I've downloaded the .lha file from WHDLoad download pages.

I'd like to know how I add this to the extras path and get it to launch it as a WHDLoad file by default. This would also be useful infor for other games not in the excelled KG download packs.

Thanks!
jamespstevenson is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 March 2010, 01:40   #2
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
IF by downloading the LHA from WHDLOAD download pages, you mean the Slave, that is ALL it is.

You need to extract the files from the LHA and run it. Once executed, the Slave will then ask for the *ORIGINAL* disks, from which the slave will make disk images on your HDD, which then gets patched (Depending on what the slave author coded in to it), and is then able to be run from HDD.

The file you downloaded from WHDLOAD is *NOT* the full game, only a script that tells WHDLOAD what disks are needed, and how to patch it.

Other people, like KG's WHDLOAD archive, means this has all been done for you.
whiteb is offline  
Old 30 March 2010, 08:55   #3
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Did you not try the version from WHDownload?
Graham Humphrey is online now  
Old 30 March 2010, 09:33   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
Did you not try the version from WHDownload?
Exactly. Since GB Amiga searches for the preinstalled version by KG, it's a good idea to use it
TCD is offline  
Old 30 March 2010, 12:23   #5
jamespstevenson
Registered User
jamespstevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 40
Thanks for the advice. I've downloaded the version linked to in this thread from WHDownload and dropped this into the extras folder with the other zipped games.

My problem is, even after I refresh the list of available games in GB Amiga, there's still no link to the game from Right Clicking on the Extras button - no WHDLoad option.

Is there something I'm missing in this instance? If someone else could try it out I'd be very grateful. I notice there are 2 versions in the WHDownload version entitled 1.1 and 1.2, I've tried them both.

Is there an easy way to tell GB Amiga to use the zip file as a WHDLoad extra like the other games?

Thanks!
jamespstevenson is offline  
Old 30 March 2010, 13:23   #6
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
I see your problem now. Okay, quick guide how to add a new WHDLoad game (with a big 'but' at the end )

1. Open the extras for the game :



2. Create a new entry for WHDLoad :


3. Enter 'WHDLoad' as the name, select the zip with the preinstalled WHDLoad game and click the two options with the red circle


after that, click on 'Edit...'

4. This is the tricky part
Put 'WHD' in the 'Version Comment' field.
Now put the following in the 'Keys & Values' box :
Code:
cd=dh1:Odyssey;
whdload=Odyssey.slave PRELOAD;
cpu_speed=real
immediate_blits=false
cpu_compatible=false
cpu_cycle_exact=false
blitter_cycle_exact=false
Where 'Odyssey' is the game name (have a look at the WHDLoad zip which folder name and slave name you have to use here). Of course you might need to adjust the other values aswell.


Now it should work, but for Odyssey you get the following error :


Maybe eLowar will fix it one day...
Hope this is useful for adding new WHDLoad games

Last edited by TCD; 31 March 2010 at 09:37.
TCD is offline  
Old 30 March 2010, 15:25   #7
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Great guide TCD!

Apparently always fails if the package contains files with characters like '<', '>', ...?
Now this won't be an easy task to fix this for a true Windows application...
andreas is offline  
Old 30 March 2010, 15:40   #8
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
It's more than possible.

I believe Toni gave eLowar some details about the way WinUAE cirumvents the filename problems, just don't think he had time to implement it.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 30 March 2010, 16:55   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Indeed. Hopefully this thread will encourage eLowar to have another look
If I have some spare time, I'll try to add some WHDLoad games and post the correct scripts in a seperate thread.
TCD is offline  
Old 31 March 2010, 12:04   #10
jamespstevenson
Registered User
jamespstevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 40
Thanks for time to post such a detailed reply, that should be useful to a lot of people - especially those new to emulation like myself. I'll keep an eye on this thread for any developments!

Can I also just add that the work you're all doing to archive and preserve all of this gaming history is amazing, I had no idea that there was such a wealth of interest, information and playable software out there. As I work in the video games industry (I'm currently a senior animator with developer Ninja Theory working on a title called Enslaved: Odyssey to the West), I've developed a real nterest in the heritage of video game - in particular the artwork and and I'm amazed how well a lot of titles have stood the test of time.

Keep it up guys, and great to see so much activity on these forums. Your hard work is much appreciated!

James
jamespstevenson is offline  
Old 31 March 2010, 12:07   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Always nice to hear that James
Btw : Enslaved looks interesting. Will keep an eye on it
TCD is offline  
Old 31 March 2010, 12:27   #12
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,905
Agreed, nice tut TCD

That game looks right up my street too jamespstevenson, I hope it plays as well as it looks
seuden is offline  
Old 31 March 2010, 12:40   #13
jamespstevenson
Registered User
jamespstevenson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 40
Thanks guys, yeah we're working hard on the final push now, it's out later in the year and we're getting some very positive preview press which is a good sign! It's been, and still is, a really interesting project to work on.

Thanks again for all your efforts.
jamespstevenson is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whdload instructions? [where to put WHDLoad games for GameBase Amiga v1.4] luke_70it project.MAGE 8 28 October 2009 07:36
Add a CD32 games to Amiga GameBase elec3cdreams project.MAGE 2 21 November 2007 15:27
How to add games to database? emuola project.MAGE 11 23 October 2006 22:43
Boxed amiga games for sale + extras Smiley MarketPlace 5 06 June 2005 18:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26635 seconds with 14 queries