English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2006, 16:06   #61
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
 
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 49
Posts: 9,768
There can only be one... well one good one.

I doubt there isn't a BASIC I have not programmed in over the last 20 or so years...

*ahem, I'm not that old *

The best BASIC (obvioulsy was't amiga, cbm or M$ lol) but IMHO was ZX80.. lets see.... I was the grand age of 9 years old. my father decided to get a ZX80 (little white kit built computer / cheese wedge thingy )..

and under supervision I built my first computer (also had my first, second and third soldering blister too).

But the pain was worth it for when i finnished I had a monster 1Kbyte of RAM Computer! with a FULL BASIC interpreter..

by the time I was nine and a half I was a BASIC guru (game prices and pocketmoney could never be equal!). using BASIC to poke values to memory address and build hard-coded routines and multiple subfunctions. Line numbers were virtualy a thing of the past.. infact I think it was just before my 10th Birthday that I changed from my Zx80 Kit built with Kempston interface and 16KB RamPack and Curraspeach unit to a 8 colour 48k spectrum ... ahhh such days.... the strange thing is though. even though they used exactly the same chip and interpreter it just felt slightly slower than that zx80....

By the time i was 13 ish i was already into asm and hardly ever touched basic after that.... (untill i had no choice in 1994 with Qbasic and VB1 through 3 nasty little blighters they were)

hmmm

10: for F = usr "a" to usr "u": read a: poke f,a: next f
90: data 255,129,129,129,129,129,129,255

there must be some that know what that does

but today, REAL coders use C++

JAVA's nice for prototyping,
Pascal is good for posing
(I remeber those in the above school year who thought they knew it all. I out codeded them on an Acorn using BASIC... because i could! )

and finally ASM is good for boring your best mate / girlfriend (and proving howmuch a geek you are ) and since i am lazy i can never be botherd to order my created toolsets properly..

but hey... isn't programming fun?!


PS. i dont know how they did it, but microsoft took the fun outa programming

l8rs Z.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 28 June 2006, 02:40   #62
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 53
Posts: 237
@Zetr0

Quote:
10: for F = usr "a" to usr "u": read a: poke f,a: next f
90: data 255,129,129,129,129,129,129,255
I'm no speccy expert, but understand the basic behind it. Just give's me an out of memory error under speccy 48k. But basically it just pokes the memory addresses 65368 - 65528 with the data underneath.

So go on... gimme a clue... whats it used for?
PaulyQ is offline  
Old 28 June 2006, 02:51   #63
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
 
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 49
Posts: 9,768
*teehee* go into extended graphics mode and press the letter a *teehee*
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 29 June 2006, 23:46   #64
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 53
Posts: 237
I'll give it a try... I suppose I should really have looked at the memory map for the speccy first eh!
PaulyQ is offline  
Old 30 June 2006, 23:11   #65
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
 
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvanmev
Commodore screwed MS on the orginal contract for the pet basic vic20 and c64. Which all used the same basic. MS was only paid for the pet basic by a loop hole in the contract commodore was allowed reused and change the basic used by these computers without additional payment.
I bet Bill Gates NEVER forgot that...
Antiriad is offline  
Old 01 July 2006, 00:52   #66
redblade
Zone Friend
 
redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 40
Posts: 2,127
@antiriad: Yeah thats most probably why Billy only made $80billion USD and not $82billion
redblade is offline  
Old 10 August 2006, 02:42   #67
Dunny
Registered User
 
Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulyQ
I'll give it a try... I suppose I should really have looked at the memory map for the speccy first eh!
You'll find that the code posted is not going to do what the author intended :-p

Try this instead:

10 FOR f=USR "a" TO USR "a"+7: READ a: POKE f,a: NEXT f
20 DATA 255,129,129,129,129,129,129,255

Then enter graphics mode (Caps Shift+9 in an emulator, Alt-GR/Right-Alt in BASin) and press "a".

If you've not seen it, BASin is an Emulator/Development IDE for the best implementation of BASIC ever - Sinclair BASIC :-)

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/paul.dunn4/BASin_r13a.exe

But that's really getting off-topic now.

Cheers,

D.
Dunny is offline  
Old 16 June 2013, 10:34   #68
mcbone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: nottingham uk
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
"Amiga BASIC is the most powerful BASIC interpreter supplied with any personal computer on the market. Written by Microsoft, it combines in a single language almost every feature found in IBM PC Advanced BASIC plus Microsoft BASIC for the Macintosh. In fact, many IBM BASICA and Macintosh BASIC programs will run on the Amiga with minor modifications."

COMPUTE! ISSUE 70 / MARCH 1986 / PAGE 105. Tom R. Halfhill, Editor

Tell me it isnt so!!!
basic for the amiga are amigabasic amos basic gfabasic hisoft basic and Abasic
mcbone is offline  
Old 16 June 2013, 12:18   #69
xArtx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 685
Yes, actually, if there's something wrong with MS BASIC,
there is also something wrong with the C-64,
and for me the only thing wrong with that was porting anything that
used it's graphic characters and colours to draw anything
(ie. Planetarium)
because that is difficult to port to another BASIC.
xArtx is offline  
Old 16 June 2013, 21:01   #70
mcbone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: nottingham uk
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by adolescent View Post
Yep. Pet, C64, etc. all used Microsoft BASIC (along with about every other home computer).



But that deal meant that the C64 had the same primitive BASIC as the Pet.
just like to point out that when commodore pet come out bill gate was still at school. and commodore was make computer long be for microsoft and apple come out.
mcbone is offline  
Old 16 June 2013, 21:21   #71
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
 
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 44
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbone View Post
and commodore was make computer long be for microsoft and apple come out.
That's not true. Commodore (well, actually MOS Technology, before CBM bought them) released the KIM-1 in 1976. The Apple I was also released in 1976. Microsoft was founded in April 1975, with Altair BASIC being their flagship product at the time.

Commodore's 8-bit BASICs were always Microsoft's 6502 BASIC, which was originally written in 1976. Their 8080 BASIC (first appearing on the Altair), being the product that gave Microsoft their start, was written in 1975. The PET and Apple II both came out in 1977, both using Microsoft BASIC.

Relevant articles:
Bill Gates' Personal Easter Eggs in 8 Bit BASIC
Create your own Version of Microsoft BASIC for 6502
LocalH is offline  
Old 21 June 2013, 10:06   #72
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvanmev View Post
Commodore screwed MS on the orginal contract for the pet basic vic20 and c64. Which all used the same basic. MS was only paid for the pet basic by a loop hole in the contract commodore was allowed reused and change the basic used by these computers without additional payment.
here you will hear from Jack Tramiel about doing business with Bill Gates (regarding Basic!):

[ Show youtube player ]

kovacm is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 12:21   #73
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 51
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbone View Post
basic for the amiga are amigabasic amos basic gfabasic hisoft basic and Abasic
What? BlitzBasic wasn't for Amiga????

I'll have to uninstall that then....
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 16:14   #74
mcbone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: nottingham uk
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
What? BlitzBasic wasn't for Amiga????

I'll have to uninstall that then....



https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blitz_BASIC


blitz basic was on the amiga as me and my brother use it on the Amiga
mcbone is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 22:35   #75
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 51
Posts: 841
Well you didn't list Blitz in your first post, I just picked up on it was slightly sarcy about it
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 16:17   #76
mcbone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: nottingham uk
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie View Post
Well you didn't list Blitz in your first post, I just picked up on it was slightly sarcy about it
sorry i miss read your reply to my i did mean to put in blitzbasic
mcbone is offline  
Old 27 June 2013, 05:53   #77
stevsurv
Beta 1.666
 
stevsurv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in 1985
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
"Amiga BASIC is the most powerful BASIC interpreter supplied with any personal computer on the market. Written by Microsoft, it combines in a single language almost every feature found in IBM PC Advanced BASIC plus Microsoft BASIC for the Macintosh. In fact, many IBM BASICA and Macintosh BASIC programs will run on the Amiga with minor modifications."

COMPUTE! ISSUE 70 / MARCH 1986 / PAGE 105. Tom R. Halfhill, Editor

Tell me it isnt so!!!
hmmmm... So does this mean our early Amiga's were PC poisoned?
stevsurv is offline  
Old 27 June 2013, 08:51   #78
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevsurv View Post
hmmmm... So does this mean our early Amiga's were PC poisoned?
but with Microsoft Basic you could do amazing stuff!!!

like this: [ Show youtube player ]
kovacm is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manuals for GFA Basic and Hi-Soft Basic 2 ricky500 request.Apps 20 12 February 2013 21:06
Sites with programs written in BASIC Leandro Jardim Retrogaming General Discussion 35 01 January 2013 04:14
Microsoft pays $6.1M for opensource Amiga program alexh Amiga scene 2 20 June 2006 16:34
Now have a look at this. It is a Microsoft book about the Amiga. Seeing is believing. Tolismlf Nostalgia & memories 13 25 November 2004 12:42
A new Amiga Book from Microsoft Press Pyromania Amiga scene 8 18 May 2003 18:34

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:12.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.20958 seconds with 16 queries