English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 April 2019, 09:36   #1
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 797
Help for hardware Morphos

I apologize if the section is not right, I have no experience with morphos. I was looking for some quick tips, thanks

Hi, I found a mac mini g4, the price is really low
this is the model:
https://everymac.com/systems/apple/m...i_g4_1.25.html

mac mini + power supply
cpu 1.25 ghz ppc
512 ram ddr sdram
ati radeon 9200 RV280 32 ram vga output
without keyboard
without a mouse
wi-fi to check (I read about the airport as an option)
without installation cd
operating system installed (but I can also remove it to use only morphos)

Does this configuration allow me to navigate with odyssey?
Can I use e-uae? what are the limits?
Can I use generic mouse monitors and keyboards?
Does the system work well with a 1280x resolution?
I'm not interested in 3D games

Thanks for the tips
White is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 09:52   #2
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 31
Posts: 437
I take it you've looked at this? - https://www.morphos-team.net/hardware

I'm using a G4 Powerbook and basic web browsing is good enough for me.

I haven't really done a great deal with e-uae, but iirc I could emulate the most basic stuff and it worked fine. I can have a go with it sometime and report back.

I've used generic mice, monitors and keyboards without any problems at all.

I'm pretty sure you can get quite high resolutions. Something I could test this weekend if I get a moment.

Hope that helps.
twiggy is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 09:57   #3
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 797
hi twiggy,
thanks for the reply, you were very kind I appreciate it very much.
yes i looked on morphos / hardware for compatibility.
Are you using version 3.11?
Thanks again, do you use wi-fi (airport)?
White is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 10:00   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
Does this configuration allow me to navigate with odyssey?
Yes.


Quote:
Can I use e-uae?
Yes.


Quote:
what are the limits?
Not sure what you mean. It's not as advanced as WinUAE but it runs Amiga games.


Quote:
Can I use generic mouse monitors and keyboards?
Yes. The Mac has only two USB plugs, so you need an USB hub if you want to connect more devices than just mouse and keyboard.

With a generic (Windows) keyboard you might have difficulties reading instructions for Macs because the special Mac keys are assigned to various keys on the Windows keyboard. You need to find a translation table.


Quote:
Does the system work well with a 1280x resolution?
Yes. I run it at 1920x1080. The Mac has a DVI-I connector, so you should be able to use digital (DVI-D or HDMI) as well as analog (VGA). I use it through VGA only, so I cannot tell if digital works with MorphOS. The required adapter might not be included. If you need to buy a DVI-VGA adapter, make sure it has the EDID/DDC lines connected, otherwise MorphOS will not be able to recognise the correct resolution (and run at 640x480 or so).
thomas is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 10:22   #5
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
Does this configuration allow me to navigate with odyssey?
Yes, but 512MB of RAM is quite low on today's standards, web pages tend to be javascript heavy stuff that consumes memory. For Amiga pages etc lighter it's fine, but some modern gossip pages you run out of memory quickly, unless you are OK to run it without Javascript enabled. I would recommend to upgrade the RAM to full 1GB in any case, then it's quite good.


Quote:
Can I use e-uae? what are the limits?
E-UAE runs everything pretty fine, if you configure the JIT support properly, it runs 060/AGA demos too. It doesn't have as fancy GUI as WinUAE to configure it, but read the docs and it should go quite fine. You might want to check this for easier Ambient integration with WHDLoad: http://www.morphos-storage.net/?page...Opener_1.2.lha


Quote:
Can I use generic mouse monitors and keyboards?
Yes, although I've had some problems with wireless mouse/keyboard combos, but separate mice and keyboards have all worked fine on my setups.

These Mac minis may also have some blackout issues with certain monitors with DVI, but tuning the refresh frequencies or using VGA should help in that case.

If you have the optional WLAN/Bluetooth module installed, you can also use Bluetooth keyboard and mouse, if you pair them under OSX first.


Quote:
Does the system work well with a 1280x resolution?
Yes, that resolution is fine even for this model with only 32MB graphics memory, but if you're going for higher (FullHD) resolutions, then you have to make compromises. 32MB isn't quite enough for the "enhanced" modes (3D accelerated 2D layers) in real life in higher resolutions and you have to fall-back to traditional 2D rendering, and I've had difficulties with FullHD resolutions via DVI with a 32MB mini, but the latest Mac mini G4 with 64MB is just fine on FullHD and DVI too. In any case 1280x1024 resolution should be modest enough for all supported machines.

BTW. check the MorphOS Library for more information. There's a better list of the supported computer systems too. Beginner's guide should be good read as well.

And if you are going to wipe the OSX setup, and you don't like the loud boot chime, mute the volume first under OSX and then boot directly to MorphOS installation, and the machine will be quiet forever then

Last edited by jPV; 04 April 2019 at 10:29.
jPV is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 10:33   #6
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 797
@thomas thanks for the reply
there is also a vga adapter

alien breed 3d 2 the killing ground works with e-uae?
( for curiosity )

thanks again for your answers.

@jPV
thanks for all the answers you have been very comprehensive.

Last edited by White; 06 April 2019 at 10:53.
White is offline  
Old 04 April 2019, 11:03   #7
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by White View Post
alien breed 3d 2 the killing ground works with e-uae?
( for curiosity )
IIRC it wasn't that playable when I once tried it quickly, but I don't remember did I have settings properly then... and would RTG patch help, I don't know.

And you also have to remember that 1.25GHz isn't that powerful for more CPU intensive stuff.. should be OK generally, but it surely limits emulation, video playback, bloated Javascript, etc CPU heavy stuff compared to more powerful supported machines. But it's worth to try how you like it, and then decide if you want to register MorphOS for it or would you rather look a more capable machine. All PowerPC Macs are quite cheap nowadays, and it's a good time to look what you want before they get out of market totally.
jPV is offline  
Old 05 April 2019, 23:49   #8
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 797
@jPV
Thanks for the information.
They were very important
White is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 14:20   #9
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 797
Hi,
I tried to sign up on morphzone
but replies that my email is incorrect
so I can't register
I guess it's a temporary problem
thanks for any help
White is offline  
Old 06 April 2019, 20:31   #10
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 797
solved
gmail works

yahoo does not work

thanks sorry for the "ot" and thanks for your patience

Last edited by White; 06 April 2019 at 20:43.
White is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vintage Hardware Adverts on the Amiga Hardware Database jasonru405 News 3 24 May 2018 07:07
What's New in MorphOS 3.10? jPV News 2 04 April 2018 19:53
Vintage Hardware Adverts on the Amiga Hardware Database thals News 4 21 October 2014 19:00
New FS for MorphOS Doc Mindie News 0 16 August 2010 11:17
Morphos Amigan Amiga scene 2 06 May 2008 11:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11767 seconds with 14 queries