English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 April 2010, 09:38   #1
stachu100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Piaseczno/Poland
Posts: 333
Unsuccessful attempt to install 604e@350MHz onto Blizzard PPC

Hi,

As an experiment I tried to put 604e@350MHz CPU onto Blizzard PPC.

Modification done:
1) PPC CPU replaced
2) Oscillator 60MHz with x5,5 which gives 330MHz frequency for CPU core
3) Removed original 2,5V voltage regulator
4) 1,9V/10A voltage regulator added ("classic" type soldered ad-hoc just to proof the concept)
5) +5V from power supply connected to 1,9V voltage regulator directly; without it I've measured 4,5V on the Blizzard PPC instead of 5V

As a results card is booting without RAM, but PPC is not recognized:

[ Show youtube player ]

With RAM installed I have RAM error:

[ Show youtube player ]

Pictures:
http://picasaweb.google.pl/stacho100...HzUnsuccessful#

So I assume that Blizzard PPC software inside flash memory cannot init 604e correctly (lack of proper routines inside Blizzard PPC flash) and/or logic on the board is not working with 604e because onboard CPLD IC's are not adopted to serve 604e.

Anyway as I'm not a genius I will drop the idea to modify Blizzard PPC hardware/software and just un-solder 604e and put standard 603e@300MHz.

But at least I tried.
stachu100 is offline  
Old 09 April 2010, 11:52   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,222
What about examining the bootrom from a Cyberstorm PPC?

Have you found a Cyberstorm MKIII you can upgrade yet?
alexh is offline  
Old 09 April 2010, 12:34   #3
stachu100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Piaseczno/Poland
Posts: 333
I don't have knowledge to do so
I can read/write Blizzard PPC/Cyberstorm III flash content (I've made this to ressurect Blizzard PPC card):

http://picasaweb.google.com/stacho10...ReadingWriting#

But I have no idea what is inside and what needs to be modified...
I know one rule: "Don't know how it works? - don't modify!!!"

And yes, I have Cyberstorm PPC for modification already

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
What about examining the bootrom from a Cyberstorm PPC?

Have you found a Cyberstorm MKIII you can upgrade yet?
stachu100 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Blizzard PPC 060@66MHz/PPC@330MHz with SCSI + 128MB RAM stachu100 MarketPlace 3 27 May 2011 18:14
Wanted: SCSI cable for Blizzard 604e+ stachu100 MarketPlace 0 16 February 2011 09:27
Sale: Phase 5 Blizzard PPC 603e+ 68040/25 PPC 240 Mhz wizard66 MarketPlace 6 09 February 2007 17:34
Cyberstorm PPC 604e, Picasso IV and more alewis MarketPlace 31 07 February 2007 09:28
SALE: Amiga Blizzard PPC card PPC@160 , 68040 @25 MHz morka MarketPlace 3 12 October 2006 00:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05953 seconds with 13 queries