English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 April 2019, 11:27   #1
guidobartoli80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Loro Ciuffenna
Posts: 11
Question How to detect WHDLoad files?

Hi to everybody, long-time Amiga fan here!

I've installed FS-UAE 2.9.7dev4 on Linux Mint 19.1 and I copied all my ADF and WHDLoad collection into a local folder.
Everything went fine with ADFs after updating File Database, FS-UAE correctly showed all my games in the list, but no WHDLoad variant was detected, every game shows the ADF variant only.
I tried various WHDLoad formats (zipped LHAs, normal LHAs, raw folders with WHDLoad files, ...), nothing is detected by FS-UAE... did anyone have similar problems?

Many thanks in advance!
guidobartoli80 is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 12:28   #2
ztronzo
Registered User

ztronzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 97
Try downloading a file from http://www.whdownload.com/ and mount it as a harddrive zip file. It should add the whdload parameters automatically which will include the slave file.

If that doesnt work.. I would say signup for the fs-uae openretro database, all you need is an email and password. It may take a while for fs-uae launcher to update the database with all the entries

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
ztronzo is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 16:40   #3
guidobartoli80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Loro Ciuffenna
Posts: 11
Mmmh, good suggestion, that worked indeed, I tried with Turrican II (1.5) and FS-UAE detected it!
So, the correct WHDLoad format seems a .zip file containing a .info file together with a folder with game files. I downloaded WHDLoad collection from EAB FTP server, but they are all in .lha format, did I get the wrong package from there?

Many thanks!
guidobartoli80 is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 16:44   #4
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,497
The WHDownload zips are very outdated. FS-UAE supports lha compressed archives too. The EAB FTP file server has always the latest versions. Not sure if Frode already support most of them.

edit: Just checked. Turrican II v1.7 is detected via lha archive.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 13 April 2019 at 17:08.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 17:08   #5
guidobartoli80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Loro Ciuffenna
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
The WHDownload zips are very outdated. FS-UAE supports lha compressed archives too. The EAB FTP file server has always the latest versions. Not sure if Frode already support most of them.
There are many places in EAB server where to get WHDLoad (Game/WHDLoad, Retroplay/WHDLoad, WHDLoad_Packs, etc...), can you recommend the one supported by FS-UAE?
guidobartoli80 is offline  
Old 13 April 2019, 17:09   #6
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,497
Only use the ones Retroplay preinstalled.Make sure you have the latest files. He made a complete reinstall of all games in 2017+all the newer updates till today.

Then in FS-UAE

1. Update File Database
2. Update Game Database
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 14 April 2019, 00:09   #7
guidobartoli80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Loro Ciuffenna
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Only use the ones Retroplay preinstalled.Make sure you have the latest files. He made a complete reinstall of all games in 2017+all the newer updates till today.

Then in FS-UAE

1. Update File Database
2. Update Game Database
Hi Retro-Nerd,
I downloaded the Retroplay WHDLoad latest collection in .lha format (I ended with a folder for every alphabet letter), I added it to the FS-UAE File Database and then I updated the Game Database with my OpenRetro Account.
Unfortunately, FS-UAE still does not detect any WHDLoad in this format...

Here is an example file on disk:


These are the File Database paths:


This is the WHDLoad variant not detected:
guidobartoli80 is offline  
Old 14 April 2019, 00:35   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,497
That's strange, it's detected properly here in FS-UAE 2.9.7dev 4.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 15 April 2019, 12:16   #9
guidobartoli80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Loro Ciuffenna
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
That's strange, it's detected properly here in FS-UAE 2.9.7dev 4.
Thanks for trying it out!
Mmmhh it's strange, indeed... what format are you using for WHDLoad?
guidobartoli80 is offline  
Old 15 April 2019, 12:33   #10
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,497
You mean the archives? Just the ones Retroplay uploaded to the EAB File Server in lha. WHDLoad itself is automatically downloaded via FS-UAE launcher.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compression of WHDLoad data files E-Penguin project.WHDLoad 3 18 January 2017 06:01
Copy WHDLoad files to HD 1988 support.WinUAE 2 01 December 2010 20:46
Wgat are WHDload files? Gonzouk support.WinUAE 2 30 April 2007 22:31
HELP:Using .IPF files with WHDLoad installers caius project.SPS (was CAPS) 3 07 January 2006 09:34
trouble with WHDload LZX files... rattus New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 08 February 2004 19:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07576 seconds with 15 queries