English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 January 2015, 23:02   #61
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Quote:
For other's educational learning or for yours?
Don't know. Maybe I have the urge to leave something here in case some disaster could happen & I can't remember how I did all that mess.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 21 January 2015, 12:28   #62
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Small clip of the project. Could be cool if other clips from other systems configurations could be "youtubed".
[ Show youtube player ]
Cowcat is offline  
Old 24 August 2015, 14:59   #63
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Hi ! Been a while.

Some little fog code taken from different sources.

On gl_rmain.c

Some cvars at the beginning:

Code:
cvar_t	*gl_fog;
cvar_t	*gl_fogred;
cvar_t	*gl_foggreen;
cvar_t	*gl_fogblue;
cvar_t	*gl_fogstart;
cvar_t	*gl_fogend;
cvar_t	*gl_fogdensity;
qboolean fog = false;
On R_RenderView function:

Some var at beginning.
vec3_t fogcolors;

then just before R_DrawWorld() call

Code:
if (gl_fog->value)
	{			
		glFogi(GL_FOG_MODE, GL_LINEAR);

		fogcolors[0] = gl_fogred->value;
		fogcolors[1] = gl_foggreen->value;
		fogcolors[2] = gl_fogblue->value;

		glFogfv (GL_FOG_COLOR, fogcolors);		
		glFogf (GL_FOG_START, gl_fogstart->value);
		glFogf (GL_FOG_END, gl_fogend->value);
		glFogf (GL_FOG_DENSITY, gl_fogdensity->value);

		qglEnable(GL_FOG);
		fog = true;	
		
	}

	else if (fog)
	{	
		qglDisable(GL_FOG);
		fog = false;
	}
Now we add the new cvars to R_Register function:

Code:
 gl_fog = ri.Cvar_Get( "gl_fog","0",0);
	gl_fogstart = ri.Cvar_Get( "gl_fogstart","50.0",0);
	gl_fogend = ri.Cvar_Get( "gl_fogend","800.0",0);
	gl_fogdensity = ri.Cvar_Get( "gl_fogdensity","0.8",0);
	gl_fogred = ri.Cvar_Get( "gl_fogred","0.6",0);
	gl_foggreen = ri.Cvar_Get( "gl_foggreen","0.5",0);
	gl_fogblue = ri.Cvar_Get( "gl_fogblue","0.4",0);
For a good mix with other effects I added some fog check on R_RenderDLights function at gl_light.c file.

Code:
  if(fog) qglDisable(GL_FOG);
	qglDepthMask (GL_FALSE);

        ......

        qglDepthMask (GL_TRUE);
	if(fog) qglEnable(GL_FOG);
with an "extern qboolean fog" before that.
That looks good with gl_flashblend 1 enabled.

A little of this mod can be seen here: [ Show youtube player ]
Cowcat is offline  
Old 02 October 2015, 06:06   #64
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET
 
Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 839
Nice ;-)
Michael is offline  
Old 30 November 2015, 17:07   #65
Hedeon
Semi-Retired
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,993
Does it have a software renderer or is it Warp3D only? My setup doesn't currently support Warp3D but I like to try it out (and make a youtube video of it :-D)
Hedeon is offline  
Old 30 November 2015, 21:35   #66
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Yes. ref-soft.dll for RTG.
A video with sonnet stuff ?.....O_o !!
Cowcat is offline  
Old 02 December 2015, 11:51   #67
Hedeon
Semi-Retired
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,993
OK, Good to know :-)
Hedeon is offline  
Old 03 December 2015, 02:18   #68
Hedeon
Semi-Retired
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,993
OK, so on soft-renderer with demo1:

320x200 = 32.3 FPS
512x384 = 19.3 FPS
640x480 = 14.3 FPS

Good job with the port. I hope to get Warp3D and such going soon too.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 03 December 2015, 13:27   #69
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Thanks. Still a lot to update/fix to the sources. Even the warpos version I uploaded was compiled without a tailored cpu in mind. So, all of this is left to the readers of this thread (by now).

Anyways, with my run options (exposed earlier), I've got nowadays 12.7-12.9 FPS with 512x384 on Warp3D.......
Cowcat is offline  
Old 03 December 2015, 14:02   #70
Hedeon
Semi-Retired
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,993
Have to say that I used the compiled binaries for WarpOS (beta2) from this thread. I don't know if you included any optimizations since then? I'm a bit of a noob with compiling C sources. I have vbcc installed, however :-)

Edit: I used the default config file. Except I changed snd_paula to snd_ahi. Oh, and I used a VooDoo3. I might try with the Radeon later today

Last edited by Hedeon; 03 December 2015 at 14:10. Reason: Added note about config file/Gfx card
Hedeon is offline  
Old 03 December 2015, 15:31   #71
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Well, those binaries were compiled from "almost" final vbcc 0.9d (before christmas 2014), so maybe a new compile and some parameters like -cpu (603 or 604) & -merge-constants should increase performance and reduce size (certainly it does). As I said non of those parameters were used for those old uploads, so it´s up to people to tweak to their specifications (minigl lib was compiled with 603 in mind anyways).
Nothing special for soft_dll : Code is mostly untouched from old gcc sources. The last source update has some optimizations to try, but still no new build from me

Quote:
I'm a bit of a noob with compiling C sources
It's obvious that my abilities are amateurish at most, but certainly Sonnet stuff not !
Cowcat is offline  
Old 04 December 2015, 10:39   #72
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 411
Quake 2, 640x480, software renderer, on Sonnet:
[ Show youtube player ]

strim is offline  
Old 04 December 2015, 20:25   #73
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Fucking awesome
Cowcat is offline  
Old 25 December 2015, 13:41   #74
Hedeon
Semi-Retired
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,993
And now with Warp3D with demo1:

320x200 = 45.3 FPS
640x480 = 32.6 FPS
800x600 = 22.0 FPS
Hedeon is offline  
Old 25 December 2015, 16:41   #75
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
.....of course everyone expects "the christmas video quake 2 warp3d sonnet " !

Maybe I should upload a new rogue warp3dppc lib that probably works with more cards than Permedia2.......Or more quake2 binaries (difficult to make things just a little better ).

Again, awesome
Cowcat is offline  
Old 25 December 2015, 16:49   #76
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
....thinking about the chip-ram issue with sonnet lib. I remember that one of my oldest Blitzquake binary used FastMem instead of ChipRam for mouse code (Indeed it worked, but Frank Wille told me not to do that).

A possible workaround/temporary hack for Paula & mouse ??
Best wishes.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 12:45   #77
Hedeon
Semi-Retired
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,993
All is well through AHI regarding Paula. And I'm guessing in the games I've been playing the mouse is actually being read by 68K code because I haven't seen problems.

Video is on its way :-)
Hedeon is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 13:02   #78
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Cool!
I should point about "gl_guardband" command that in (some/all?) Voodoo Cards should be enabled for performance. Permedia 2 default is "0".
Cowcat is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 14:42   #79
Hedeon
Semi-Retired
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,993
Did what is mentioned in http://www.amiga.org/forums/archive/...hp/t-7150.html (except I use AHI) and it went up to 45.6 FPS for 640x480 and 31.2 for 800x600
Hedeon is offline  
Old 26 December 2015, 19:15   #80
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 758
Some configs are discussed earlier in this thread.

I saw the warp3dppc new video

Just a remainder: The gl versions here don't have the same minigl code as Hyperion Q2, so it's slower compared to that. "ref_gl.dll" for warpos still doesn't do what it's supposed (cleaning textures, etc from time to time) contrary to the m68k version. Don't know about network options as I don't have networked amiga to try & test the code.
Besides of that, It's more stable, has new game options & vbcc fully compatible code & ready for mods since a year

Elbox, where those Sharks went?

Happy New Year.
Cowcat is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADF-Workshop (formerly DMS-Workshop) Crashdisk project.TOSEC (amiga only) 233 23 February 2024 18:45
Anim Workshop Manual _amigan request.Other 0 03 December 2012 15:30
Looking for Anim Workshop 2.0 amigagenie request.Apps 12 10 July 2011 17:07
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 21:11
Workshop Pron Boot_WB Hardware pics 19 06 June 2008 20:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:06.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11635 seconds with 14 queries