English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 January 2024, 15:30   #21
Nightfox
Registered User
 
Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 385
All this GUI magic happens in the gui.c file in the source if anyone wants to have a look
Nightfox is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 15:30   #22
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 55
Posts: 1,975
Then perhaps can be trashing memory problem. You can alloc more memory that is necessary for work.
f.e alloc 2MB fast, if You need only 100KB.
Fill this memory with ID, f.e "WTWT" And save to file when quit from program.
Later look at this memory.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 15:32   #23
Nightfox
Registered User
 
Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 385
well I dont know what is being trashed right? im doing a whole bunch of individual allocations with AllocVec() for whatever needs memory
Nightfox is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 15:33   #24
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfox View Post
Actually I've seen a lot of messages from sad people wanting to run AmigaGPT on AmigaOS 3.1 which doesn't have ReAction
Isn't ClassAct the AmigaOS 3.1 predecessor of ReAction? Most AmigaOS3.1 users will have ClassAct installed. It might be easier to back-port to ClassAct than MUI
alexh is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 15:35   #25
Nightfox
Registered User
 
Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 385
but won't the ClassAct gadgets be yet even older and have less functionality and more bugs? sounds like a nightmare
Nightfox is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 15:40   #26
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,354
Probably but it was you who suggested supporting AmigaOS 3.1 and ClassAct would probably be quicker/easier than MUI.
alexh is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 15:44   #27
Nightfox
Registered User
 
Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 385
is MUI honestly really that bad? I was under the impression its the go-to GUI library for Amiga dev and is what almost everyone is using
Nightfox is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 15:51   #28
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,231
It is at least unmaintained.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 15:52   #29
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,354
It was far more widespread than ClassAct. But you had to have both if you wanted to be able to run "everything".

You did the right thing choosing ReAction. Encourage users to upgrade to AmigaOS 3.2
alexh is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 15:57   #30
Nightfox
Registered User
 
Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 385
Oh man wouldn't it be amazing if some of the geniuses in this forum could band together and create a whole new GUI library with modern features compatible with 3.1->4.1

If I was smart enough I'd tackle that on my own but I'm not. I'm still getting into grips with the fundamentals of BOOPSI
Nightfox is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 16:46   #31
Thomas Richter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Isn't ClassAct the AmigaOS 3.1 predecessor of ReAction? Most AmigaOS3.1 users will have ClassAct installed. It might be easier to back-port to ClassAct than MUI
Yes and no. ClassAct provides (and provided) a lot of gadgets and classes, but reaction was more than that - it was/is a library that created from an abstract description a "classact"-based GUI. This is the reaction.library. This is a copyright of a third party and thus not part of 3.2, though the classact gadgets are.
Thomas Richter is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 17:07   #32
Don_Adan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 55
Posts: 1,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfox View Post
well I dont know what is being trashed right? im doing a whole bunch of individual allocations with AllocVec() for whatever needs memory
Then add f.e 1000 or 5000 or 10000 bytes bytes for every allocation (remember to free more memory too) and check if it still crashes.
Simple, alloc more memory than You need, or think than You need.
Or use MMU tool.
Don_Adan is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 17:24   #33
Nightfox
Registered User
 
Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 385
Hm sure why not? When I’m in next a dev mood again I’ll search through every AllocVec() and make it allocate 10x more than it needs. I’ll see if this at least narrows it down to a memory problem
Nightfox is offline  
Old 29 January 2024, 23:36   #34
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
 
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Adan View Post
3.X has the latest versions of Amiga components, I think.
Alas not, see screenshot...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfox
Oh man wouldn't it be amazing if some of the geniuses in this forum could band together and create a whole new GUI library with modern features compatible with 3.1->4.1
No need for yet another GUI library. The root problem is that many Amiga users for some reason insist on using obsolete buggy versions of things, and are then surprised that they don't work properly. Which does make we wonder why I bothered fixing all those bugs in the first place.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AmigaForeverGadgetVersions.gif
Views:	48
Size:	16.5 KB
ID:	81493  

Last edited by Minuous; 29 January 2024 at 23:48.
Minuous is offline  
Old 30 January 2024, 10:04   #35
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 14,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
Alas not, see screenshot...
Interesting. I thought this discussion was about the 3.X Kickstart ROM?

But actually it's actually about 3.X AmigaOS/Workbench install?
alexh is offline  
Old 30 January 2024, 10:20   #36
Snoopy1234
Registered User
 
Snoopy1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 843
Amikit loaded with Amiga Forever has rom v45.66 and WB v45.3 which is 3.x rom and OS3.9 BB2 equiv respectively. The Amiga Forever install includes AROS elements to confuse the lay person.
Snoopy1234 is offline  
Old 30 January 2024, 11:54   #37
meynaf
son of 68k
 
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 51
Posts: 5,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfox View Post
Oh man wouldn't it be amazing if some of the geniuses in this forum could band together and create a whole new GUI library with modern features compatible with 3.1->4.1
What do you need exactly that regular GadTools does not provide ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfox View Post
If I was smart enough I'd tackle that on my own but I'm not.
I've started doing mine. It is a game of designing something, trying to implement it, then discover the host OS not only does not provide the relevant tools but also goes in the way.
So ok, i want it to be usable outside of Amiga world so it often goes against the guidelines, but nevertheless.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightfox View Post
I'm still getting into grips with the fundamentals of BOOPSI
Before going to Boopsi, you can start with a simple paint program and draw it by hand, just to see how it has to look like. If you want modern features this may be more difficult than it seems.
meynaf is offline  
Old 30 January 2024, 12:02   #38
Nightfox
Registered User
 
Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
What do you need exactly that regular GadTools does not provide ?
texteditor.gadget is a big one. It's not even fully implemented in its AmigaOS 3.2 form. Some features in the autodocs I dont think are even implemented yet like for example it says you can use escape sequences to change the pen but I can't get that to work at all

I dont think regular gadtools has anything super cool like layout.gadget either
Nightfox is offline  
Old 30 January 2024, 12:23   #39
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
 
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoopy1234 View Post
Amikit loaded with Amiga Forever has rom v45.66 and WB v45.3 which is 3.x rom and OS3.9 BB2 equiv respectively. The Amiga Forever install includes AROS elements to confuse the lay person.
Its version.library might claim V45.3 but it is certainly not equivalent to OS3.9 BB2, as I demonstrated in my previous post.
Minuous is offline  
Old 30 January 2024, 12:26   #40
Nightfox
Registered User
 
Nightfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 385
yeah I think it must be the old .gadget files having some bug or something causing a total crash. I have had to change my code a bit in order to do backwards compatibility with older ROMs but that was mainly for exec.library calls
Nightfox is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you like or dislike Cloanto/Amiga Forever? MarioMario456 Amiga scene 206 22 May 2019 15:28
Cloanto's Amiga Forever Emu Amiga project.ClassicWB 9 22 June 2012 12:57
Cloanto and Amiga Forever alexh Amiga scene 13 01 October 2006 12:09
clock in cloanto amiga forever... zACK! support.WinUAE 2 08 April 2006 20:36
Save State on Cloanto Amiga Forever 3.0 NeutralizeR New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 14 November 2002 14:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:27.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11193 seconds with 14 queries