English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 April 2017, 12:25   #1
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 332
Send a message via Skype™ to KONEY
WiFi RS-232 Modem

Searched the forum and didn't find any occurence of this, which I find quite interesting.

Quote:
A WiFi RS-232 Modem is a small device that plugs directly into a standard RS-232 port and emulates a Hayes modem using typical "AT" commands.
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1F...ewform?c=0&w=1
KONEY is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 April 2017, 22:56   #2
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 533
I've seen it on Twitter. There are also pictures of the early versions of this RS232 WIFI modem.
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 30 April 2017, 19:13   #3
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 533
RS232 WiFi Modem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wifi-modem.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	395.1 KB
ID:	52949  
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 30 April 2017, 20:44   #4
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 455
I was considering building a null modem over Ethernet adapter, something along the lines of the Plipbox. Only, it would connect 2 Amigas as if they were joined directly with a serial cable so would work in games that support a null modem connection.

It looks like this is something similar. Or could be hacked in that direction
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 30 April 2017, 20:55   #5
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 533
There's something called Parnet cable. It's fast and you can connect between two Amigas.
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 30 April 2017, 23:19   #6
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 455
I have (or will have as soon as a certain pair of Netgear FA411 cards turn up... ) Ethernet on all my Amigas. That's fine for data transfer between machines but no use for non-workbench games that use a null modem cable.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 01 May 2017, 07:00   #7
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 42
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Lucas View Post
RS232 WiFi Modem.
lol that's my pic from twitter.

Received the kit last week and built it yesterday. Took about 15ish minutes to solder together.


Works brilliantly and sooooo much better than the bulky Lantronix setup I was using.

Will have a video review in the next week or so after some more testing on other platforms.
thgill is offline  
Old 01 May 2017, 09:21   #8
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 349
Could it be self-powered via serial??

Thanks,
McT
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 01 May 2017, 10:18   #9
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 533
@thgill
I look forward to your video review. Can you post it here as well?
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 01 May 2017, 14:30   #10
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 42
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Could it be self-powered via serial??

Thanks,
McT
No. There is not enough power provided by the Amiga serial port. Plus it's designed to be used by pretty much any computer with a serial port and most serial ports don't provide any power.


However you could use the Amiga floppy drive port to provide power to it.
thgill is offline  
Old 14 May 2017, 08:33   #11
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 533
Great WiFi232 modem review by AmigaLove.
https://amigalove.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=243
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 07:39   #12
ReadOnlyCat
Code Kitten

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Montreal/Canadia
Age: 46
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Lucas View Post
Great WiFi232 modem review by AmigaLove.
https://amigalove.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=243
Indeed!

For the more visually oriented kittens, Clint from Lazy Game Reviews has dedicated a full video to a review of the device which is also very much worth watching for anyone who's curious as to what the experience feels like.

[ Show youtube player ]
ReadOnlyCat is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 08:27   #13
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,023
http://biosrhythm.com/?page_id=1453
Sinphaltimus is online now  
Old 21 July 2017, 08:40   #14
Romanujan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Szczecin/Poland
Posts: 228
Unfortunately, it is next to impossible to purchase it, you have to be extremely lucky - I'm checking this web page nearly everyday, but it seems all the batches gets sold out really quickly. A pity there is no waiting queue
Romanujan is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 09:34   #15
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 945
I just use a raspberry pi zero for this.
kolla is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 09:52   #16
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
I use a laptop with a usb rs232 adapter + linux. Sure, those wifi modems are in a convenient package, but on the other hand, I always have my laptop with me/around me.

I understand there is a simple gui program to achieve this with Windows too.
Jope is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 16:05   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
I just use a raspberry pi zero for this.
Would you mind sharing how you did this? A kind of tutorial. I am really interested and have too many Zeros around doing nothing.

What I have done in the past successfully is creating a PP connection via serial to an Amiga from a PC using Linux, so this ought to be similar.

I don't know how that would work with terminal though, because what this thing does, i I am not wrong, is basically convert AT commands to telnet or something? That's the part I don't get. I know you could use a telnet client on Amiga, but I would not want to do that, I want to use NComm or something.
Akira is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 16:51   #18
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanujan View Post
Unfortunately, it is next to impossible to purchase it, you have to be extremely lucky - I'm checking this web page nearly everyday, but it seems all the batches gets sold out really quickly. A pity there is no waiting queue
Yeah, I got lucky - I picked up the kit to save a few bucks and recently completed the assembly. You really do have to check everyday and possibly multiple times a day. This thing works great. I'm using it on my TI for now until I can install a solution for jumper settings. That's my only criticism of this device. The Amiga needs hardware flow control and this device only supplies solder pads to enable that and some other settings. So if you want to use it as intended for the Amiga , you'll have to do a solder bridge that is a permanent alteration to the board. i don't want to do that. I want the option of configuring it anyway I see fit according to whatever computer I want to attach it to. so I'm probably going to solder wires to the pads and attach jumper blocks.
Sinphaltimus is online now  
Old 21 July 2017, 18:10   #19
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I don't know how that would work with terminal though, because what this thing does, i I am not wrong, is basically convert AT commands to telnet or something? That's the part I don't get. I know you could use a telnet client on Amiga, but I would not want to do that, I want to use NComm or something.
Use NComm with telser.device. That's one of the great things about the Amiga it's a modern computer platform.
idrougge is offline  
Old 21 July 2017, 18:43   #20
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Use NComm with telser.device.
You learn new things every day. I didn't know this existed, that is brilliant!
I gotta remember how to setup a PPP link now, and use a Zero to connect. Oh and finally figure out AmiTCP, because I refuse to use Miami ever again.

Thanks idrougge!
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
25 x WIFI CARDS - LINKSYS - WPA2/AES - AMIGA - A600/A1200 PCMCIA WIFI Sir_Lucas MarketPlace 200 11 April 2018 21:10
WiFi modem for all Amigas? JimDrew Amiga scene 115 24 January 2018 22:08
Use 7 data bits on RS-232 BlankVector Coders. Asm / Hardware 0 19 March 2017 20:45
Access modem on PC RS-232-port jcm support.FS-UAE 0 13 September 2016 11:03
25 x WIFI CARDS - ZYXEL - WPA2/AES - AMIGA - A600/A1200 PCMCIA WIFI Sir_Lucas MarketPlace 82 10 February 2016 16:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29133 seconds with 13 queries