English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2011, 00:11   #1
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,400
Iprefs causing OS3.9 weirdness?

After installing OS3.9 (no Boing Bags) I didn't realise I had a problem until I tried running a few programs like PowerPacker 5.0, Audio-Master, Maverick, LockPick 2.0 and quite a few others. What happens is when I run any of those programs the screen goes haywire like the monitor is out of sync until I press Left Amiga + M to cycle the screen back to WB. If I drag the WB screen down I can see the program and can use it so long as it doesn't pop to the front (especially when a requester opens) as it goes haywire again and I have to keep using Left Amiga + M to get back to WB and use the program from behind the WB window!

So after messing about with the startup I found commenting out IPrefs solves the problem but leaves my WB icons looking crap as the colour depth looks like 4 colours not 256. Anyone have a clue as to what the problem is? I'm using PAL High Res for the monitor setting if that helps.
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 December 2011, 00:23   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,543
IPrefs just loads and applies your saved preferences. If IPrefs causes a problem, it's not IPrefs' fault but you saved some preferences which don't match your hardware.

First check Devs/Monitors directory. Leave only those drivers in there which your monitor can display and move everything else to Storage/Monitors. For example if you have a PAL or NTSC monitor only leave PAL or NTSC in Devs/Monitors and remove everything else.

Next check Prefs/IControl and disable mode promotion.

If all of the above does not help, you can delete all saved preferences and start from scratch. Open a Shell window and enter

delete envarc:sys/#?.prefs

Then reboot.
thomas is offline  
Old 27 December 2011, 02:59   #3
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,400
Thanks thomas deleting all the monitor modes my 8833 MKII couldn't use cured the problem. I thought that just because they were in there only the one saved with Prefs\ScreenMode would be used, now I know different!
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sram causing flickering daznic support.Hardware 6 11 February 2009 07:05
WHDLoad causing havoc(!) Iznougoud Retrogaming General Discussion 0 08 November 2007 02:29
IPrefs OS3.9 Problem lopos2000 support.Apps 17 17 June 2006 13:51
AmiBlitz causing havoc jobro support.Apps 17 07 December 2005 18:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.41768 seconds with 14 queries