English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2019, 17:55   #121
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
ok i'll wait new version for test
I'm almost done with Agony, I've to test it a little

Quote:
new Beast whdload package is released (http://whdload.de/games/Beast.html)
I obviously did not forget to credit you for your great fix
ross is offline  
Old 30 October 2019, 18:27   #122
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,230
Ok, new Agony slave available.

If there are no new issues could be a 2.1 release version
(I'll contact jotd to share it)

Patched also AGA NTSC video border issues and fixed bobs blitter mask.

Please test.
Attached Files
File Type: slave Agony_v21b2.slave (4.7 KB, 24 views)
ross is offline  
Old 30 October 2019, 18:37   #123
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Ok, new Agony slave available.

If there are no new issues could be a 2.1 release version
(I'll contact jotd to share it)

Patched also AGA NTSC video border issues and fixed bobs blitter mask.

Please test.
Great!

I'll test it this evening

It could be interesting as for Beast to add the ability to remove all AGA fixes via a 'Custom' option (for no AGA users)
CFOU! is offline  
Old 30 October 2019, 19:41   #124
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Ok, new Agony slave available.

If there are no new issues could be a 2.1 release version
(I'll contact jotd to share it)

Patched also AGA NTSC video border issues and fixed bobs blitter mask.

Please test.
hi,
I quickly tested.

It seems ok for PAL.

But NTSC seems too slow and not smooth (using 60hz video mode and NTSC option in winUaE)

I will test at home this evening to verify (no ULMB monitor here):
- PAL using 100hz+Black frame insertion
- NTSC using 120hz+Black frame insertion

normally both should have very smooth scrolling
CFOU! is offline  
Old 30 October 2019, 19:57   #125
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
But NTSC seems too slow and not smooth (using 60hz video mode and NTSC option in winUaE)
Yes, I noticed it also for the previous slaves..

But this is only a fix for AGA and bobs
ross is offline  
Old 31 October 2019, 10:22   #126
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Yes, I noticed it also for the previous slaves..

But this is only a fix for AGA and bobs
indeed same problem booting on disks of NTSC version!

i am not again tested all levels (working on game to decrypt=>RNC)
CFOU! is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 00:26   #127
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,400
Agony_v21b2.slave is working great! All bugs fixed!
hexaae is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 00:45   #128
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,400
BEAST
Oh... all these years and never noticed before the zeppelins in the sky scroll faster when running to the right against physics, oops
hexaae is offline  
Old 01 November 2019, 03:11   #129
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 46
Posts: 2,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Agony_v21b2.slave is working great! All bugs fixed!
confirmed
CFOU! is offline  
Old 08 November 2019, 16:18   #130
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,400
Agony fixed
Beast fixed
Only Lionheart left...


Known glitches in AGA mode:
1. horizontal line in the center of the screen when background parallax starts and shifting one pixel (easy to spot jumping with a tree on screen for example) e.g. http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=86991

Known glitches also in ECS mode:
2. water transparency with flickering lines at the bottom-right (when there is no background behind)


Optional
Clouds parallax inverted acceleration
3. not exactly a gfx glitch but something wrong to look at: clouds parallax moves faster when you move left adding screen scrolling + parallax speed instead of doing parallax - screen scrolling as expected Moving right should accelerate clouds parallax speed instead. This would be a quite interesting must have feature to change with a WHDLoad option

4. very minor: level 3 (second outdoor) you have to press I to enable interlaced sky. A WHDLoad option to enable it automatically would be useful.

Last edited by hexaae; 08 November 2019 at 16:42.
hexaae is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 01:02   #131
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,400
Also Pinball Fantasies AGA shows strange glitches with Subpixel display emulation ON (press F9-F10 to switch Low/High Res):

hexaae is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 01:40   #132
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Also Pinball Fantasies AGA shows strange glitches with Subpixel display emulation ON (press F9-F10 to switch Low/High Res):
Cannot replicate..

WinUAE version? WHDLoad or ADF? Pinball Illusions ?
ross is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 01:44   #133
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,400
WinUAE 4.3.0b5, WHDLoad 18.6, Pinball Illusions AGA latest slave.
My cfg in signature (060...). I tried to degrade many things but still pops-up when Subpixel display emulation ON. Press F9-F10 to switch to low-high.
Also led display top right border has glitches (missing part or badly centered)

Last edited by hexaae; 19 November 2019 at 03:04.
hexaae is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 10:47   #134
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Cannot replicate..

WinUAE version? WHDLoad or ADF? Pinball Illusions ?

Hello,



i can replicate.


After pressing F10.


WHDLoad version/slave 2.2. Win 8.1.WinUae 4.3.0b5

Right border issue confirmed.



Note : it's ok with WinUae 4.2.1 except for right border issue. Appears in WinUae 4.3.0b1

Edit : right border issue confirmed on real hardware.

Last edited by Zarnal; 19 November 2019 at 11:19.
Zarnal is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 13:39   #135
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarnal View Post
WHDLoad version/slave 2.2. Win 8.1.WinUae 4.3.0b5

Right border issue confirmed.


Edit : right border issue confirmed on real hardware.
Well, if the same on real hardware is not a WinUAE issue.
Or did I not understand correctly?
ross is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 14:36   #136
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarnal View Post
Edit : right border issue confirmed on real hardware.
Right border "hole" in the led panel only? No vertical bands on real hardware?
Looks like a bug in WHD slave (upper right gfx glitch) + bug in WinUAE (vertical bands when Subpixel display emulation ON) then...
hexaae is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 20:39   #137
Zarnal
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 61
Same problem with DK version.

I join a savestate of this issue with " Subpixel display Emulation ".
Attached Files
File Type: uss Pinballsub.uss (803.1 KB, 7 views)
Zarnal is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 20:44   #138
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,686
I don't get it, why are you guys turning on "Subpixel display emulation"?

Toni said the following in another thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Seriously, it is mainly useful for development and testing (exact same output in real hardware and in emulation) It isn't really visible without magnifying glass
Never needed to use it.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 November 2019, 20:52   #139
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,345
It is still a bug if it works incorrectly compared to real hardware.

I simply don't recommend using it normally because it is not optimized and can be much slower than normal mode.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 November 2019, 21:48   #140
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I don't get it, why are you guys turning on "Subpixel display emulation"?
Never needed to use it.
Yep, you are right Damien, but for a perfect emulation is needed.
Actually is really useful to patch glitches visible only on real machines.
Or also for a silky subpixel scroll on emulation (if used..)

But yes, usually not needed and slow to emulate.
ross is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bordersprites restrictions (AGA chipset) dissident Coders. Asm / Hardware 22 02 February 2019 00:37
Best way of detecting the AGA chipset? Steve Coders. Asm / Hardware 13 25 January 2014 23:08
Horz. + Vert. size +-0.50 | gfx option cfTrio support.WinUAE 39 09 January 2013 22:12
EHB sprites with AGA chipset ? FrenchShark Coders. General 4 17 September 2009 07:37
Small question about the extra chipset option. trackah123 support.WinUAE 2 24 September 2007 13:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09508 seconds with 16 queries