English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 January 2005, 00:54   #1
maxmouse
 
Posts: n/a
BlizzardPPC+Powerflyer Somebody Please Help!

I am a 240/040 PPC+Bvision+Power Flyer owner and have also had problems with
the flyer.

My question is why does my ata3.driver prefs say "found PPC240/040+ card
defective rescue mode On". All programs PPC and native work fine (as far
as i can tell) but it is worrying when you see that message on your
screen. The diskpeed command that came with the ata driver reports that my
HD is running at 4Mb/s on my old 030 it did 6Mb/s but i think thats due to
the faster clock speed of the 030 ie 50Mhz and 040 25Mhz.

Have any other PPC+Power Flyer owners had messages in the presfs like mine
and are their
diskpeed values the same as mine?
 
Old 17 February 2005, 06:44   #2
maxmouse
 
Posts: n/a
Smile Hope this helps?

For what it is worth, I had finally emailed Elbox which I should have done
in the first place. If anybody had similar problem with their Power Flyer Gold.
This is how Elbox explained to me and I quote.

> Configuration: Elbox Fast ATA 1200 Gold BlizzardPPC 240MHZ 68040 cpu
> 25MHZ BVision
> and SCSI. Maxter 1915MB Hard Drive and Western Digital 40GB ATAPI LSZIP
> 100
> ATAPI DVD ROM 96MB of Ram Mirage A1200 Tower. AmigaOS 3.9
>
> My question is why does my ata3.driver prefs say "found PPC 603e+
> 240/040 says card
> defective rescue mode On".

This requested means that your 68k processor does not execute move.16 commend
properly. It is a very well know bug in one series of 68040 processors made
in USA factory in years 1991/92.

> All programs PPC and native work fine (as far
> as i can tell) but it is worrying when you see that message on your screen.
> It should say card working. All get is PPC 240/040??? card defective
> resecue mode on.

Please do not worry about this requester. It only informs that 68k processor
did not pass move.16 instruction test included in the ATA3Prefs program.
ATA3Prefs stores appropriate info in Envarc:AATA3.prefs file, which makes
that ATA3.driver does not use in your config the commend sequences, which
are not properly supported by your 68040 processor version.

> How do I correct this problem.

Only replacing the 68040 processor by processor with the corrected mask
would help. But you do not need to do it. Our software takes care on this
issue.

So I hope this will help anybody out there who has had similar problem.
Elbox was very helpfull. Thank you Elbox!
 
Old 17 February 2005, 08:38   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
nice job!
keropi is offline  
Old 01 October 2006, 22:56   #4
Brass
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 55
Great to know what the msg means BUT...

Great to see that Elbox have all the answers but heres a question, if those faultys are out there, is there a software patch to fix this problem as my cpu is not socketed as Im sure many others arent also
Brass is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
powerflyer gold MK2 2E0TMF support.Hardware 1 10 January 2011 22:44
Macro shot of powerflyer mk3 needed DoogUK support.Hardware 3 10 May 2009 23:41
PowerFlyer Question. Sigh... Charlie support.Hardware 14 13 September 2008 20:50
Powerflyer Gold on ebay UK Syko MarketPlace 7 12 December 2004 02:41
powerflyer gold setup help needed!!!! backtoskooldaze support.Hardware 5 26 September 2002 18:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05938 seconds with 13 queries