English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 December 2002, 18:01   #1
Withnail
 
Posts: n/a
HD games

Hi, first I'm going to apologise for this question, but this has been bothering me for a long time. I've used WinUAE for a long time and had no trouble apart from running HD games. I have created a HD image in WinUAE and I have transfered Workbench onto the hard disk. Now I can't work out how to run the games. I have WHDload and Lha but can't even work out how to get these running through WinUAE. If someone can either give me a step by step guide to do this or give a link to show me how, I would be very grateful!!
 
Old 24 December 2002, 19:24   #2
Jambo
Yarr!
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: n. A place where something is or could be located; a site.
Age: 44
Posts: 112
Withnail and I!
Jambo is offline  
Old 24 December 2002, 20:10   #3
Jambo
Yarr!
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: n. A place where something is or could be located; a site.
Age: 44
Posts: 112
Now to your question..

You've installed Workbench but you can't install anything else, its that your problem? That might be because you haven’t got installer installed.

There’s an excellent guide to the basics of lha and setup (including installer) at http://jambo.abime.net/howto.php

I'm not blowing my own trumpet either, it was written by Paul, The Green Amiga Alien!

Good stuff.
Jambo is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 01:30   #4
Withnail
 
Posts: n/a
right I've done the lha stuff and I've tried to do the installer thing, but I'm not sure if it worked, I typed in the command line, then nothing happened that i could see

oh and there must and shall be aspirins!
 
Old 25 December 2002, 18:46   #5
Withnail
 
Posts: n/a
I'm trying to do all this stuff on a different computer, and now I'm trying to install lha, only problem is that "h" refuses to type in UAE, it worked on my other computer, any help??
 
Old 25 December 2002, 23:20   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Change your keyboard?
Akira is offline  
Old 25 December 2002, 23:46   #7
Fjrb
Junior Member
Fjrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portugal
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally posted by Withnail
I'm trying to do all this stuff on a different computer, and now I'm trying to install lha, only problem is that "h" refuses to type in UAE, it worked on my other computer, any help??
Hi Withnail,

You may have mapped your H key (and others) to serves as substitues for Joystick movements in WinUAE's input config section.

If it is a keyboard problem the H should have the same problem in Windows.
Fjrb is offline  
Old 26 December 2002, 12:20   #8
Withnail
 
Posts: n/a
thanks, thats got that problem sorted!
 
Old 27 December 2002, 01:15   #9
Withnail
 
Posts: n/a
I've managed to get some games running now, so thanks to everyone who helped!
 
Old 19 January 2003, 00:03   #10
Frantic
 
Posts: n/a
HD games are tougher in winuae

I've too got problems (well atleast for now A problem with ONE game (hoping none other will pop-up))

I've followed the guides from Jambo's site (excellent work there, allthough I still need to figure out WHAT it is that I installed, well, I'll figure that out later(I do know lha ( ))

Anyway, the game I'm trying to install is Nobunaga's Ambition from Koei. A great game, but I'd love to see it run from the HD since there'a a lot of loading involved.

There's a "nobunaga HD" file on the disk 1 (of 2) but when I run it it just looks a bit on the floppy, and then nothing happens.

I'm booting from my wb 31 hd partition.

Can anyone give me a hine here please.

Frantic
PS: If I've missed out on any tutorials or guides or faqs concerning this that will solve my problem, please don't hesitate to send me over there. I'm so sorry if that's the case.
PPS: MAN I've looked for a place like this for some time, actually at the moment I found out that amiga HD's coule be amulated with winuae
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LTTF: Amiga CD32 Games ~ HFT: Old School & Import Games mobiusclimber Swapshop 3 08 December 2015 00:35
F/S Amiga Games, big lot Unboxed but Complete with Manuals (77 Disks/21 Games!) fitzsteve MarketPlace 5 19 October 2013 18:32
LucasArts to release 10 of their classic games on Steam, including 4 SCUMM games DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 12 08 August 2009 20:17
More boxed Amiga games and cd32 games! Also coverdisks and unboxed games! Smiley MarketPlace 12 20 July 2005 22:39
For Sale: Boxed Amiga games (still with receipts) and a metal A500+ case! (30+ games) Smiley MarketPlace 5 04 July 2005 23:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08517 seconds with 15 queries