English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 May 2017, 19:47   #1
toples50
 
Posts: n/a
External Gotek

I've got an external Gotek(as DF1) but can't run most games/demos in an A600.If I exchange the internal floppy with an internal Gotek I will be able to play most games and demos?
 
Old 25 May 2017, 19:50   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Yes. Most software is hardwired to run from the internal device (DF0).
You might need to change a jumper to DS0 in your Gotek if it has been changed to DS1.

You still won't be able to play the software that is incompatible with Goteks (like some multidisk stuff)
Akira is offline  
Old 25 May 2017, 20:10   #3
toples50
 
Posts: n/a
So an internal Gotek its a better option.
 
Old 25 May 2017, 23:10   #4
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
It is possible to change the external drive to become DF0, however this is tricky on a 600. Much easier on a 500.
demolition is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 13:55   #5
toples50
 
Posts: n/a
Another question...Is it possible to buy an internal Gotek model that fits exactly into the place of the floppy of an A500+ or have to cut the plastic?
 
Old 26 May 2017, 14:05   #6
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Kipper2k made one that can be installed without cutting into the case:
http://www.kipper2k.com/intlgotek.html
demolition is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 15:33   #7
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 376
I modded an A500 1.3 to work with an external Gotek. It was as easy as bend two CIA pins and route one of them where the other one was. Happy to share more infos, if you want to give a try.
KONEY is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 15:58   #8
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
And if you don't like modding your Amiga in any way, then ACA500plus can also perform this trick of making the external drive become DF0, so you can use an external floppy emulator for all games which would normally only work in the internal drive.
demolition is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 16:23   #9
KONEY
Vampire 2 Amiga Musician

KONEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Venice - Italy
Posts: 376
Also you can fit a bootselector, which essentially is the CIA mod on a removable socket and with a switch.
KONEY is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 16:59   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,920
There are 3d printable holders for a decased gotek around these days. I strongly recommend modifying the gotek instead of hacksawing the amiga case. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 18:20   #11
EzdineG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
There are 3d printable holders for a decased gotek around these days. I strongly recommend modifying the gotek instead of hacksawing the amiga case. :-)


Do you have any experience with third party 3D printing services that would do it at a reasonable cost? I've looked up a few, and it's always ~$50 for a printed Gotek case.

I'm not too familiar with the true costs of 3D printing, but they all seem a bit high. Maybe I just need to wait a few years
EzdineG is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 18:21   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,920
I haven't tried them myself, as I'm in the privileged position of having friends who own printers, so I can get these done for a much lower price.
Jope is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 19:50   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
To be clear, you don't necessarily need a case, but an attaching mechanism.

Here is one for the A600:
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2000074
Akira is offline  
Old 18 August 2018, 15:22   #14
Gordon
Settler

Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,234
If I unplug an internal floppy from a600 and plug gotek in external port, will it be seen as DF0?
Gordon is offline  
Old 18 August 2018, 15:24   #15
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
If I unplug an internal floppy from a600 and plug gotek in external port, will it be seen as DF0?
No, unless you modify your Amiga the first external drive will always be DF1.
demolition is offline  
Old 18 August 2018, 18:26   #16
Gordon
Settler

Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,234
Thank you for answering
Gordon is offline  
Old 05 November 2018, 01:31   #17
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
To be clear, you don't necessarily need a case, but an attaching mechanism.

Here is one for the A600:
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2000074
Just took a look at this users select of 3D prints, pretty impressive what can be made! Even the trapdoor cover for A500 lol.

Might have to look at getting some of these printed, not sure if cost-wise it would make sense to buy an original product off eBay?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 05 November 2018, 12:16   #18
Vypr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by EzdineG View Post
Do you have any experience with third party 3D printing services that would do it at a reasonable cost? I've looked up a few, and it's always ~$50 for a printed Gotek case.

I'm not too familiar with the true costs of 3D printing, but they all seem a bit high. Maybe I just need to wait a few years
I got a cheap(ish) 3d Pritner myself and usually print them off for around £10, it's not the material that's expensive, it's the time, 3d Printers are not very fast, it takes my printer 2-3 hours to print off a Gotek case.
Vypr is offline  
Old 05 November 2018, 18:59   #19
EzdineG
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vypr View Post
I got a cheap(ish) 3d Pritner myself and usually print them off for around £10, it's not the material that's expensive, it's the time, 3d Printers are not very fast, it takes my printer 2-3 hours to print off a Gotek case.
I eventually picked up one of these:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Anet-A8-3D-...frcectupt=true


I've since printed everything from Gotek mounts to C64 cartridges. It isn't very expensive, but the time investment is high. Granted, it's a cheap printer so the level of difficulty getting good prints is probably higher than most. Just calibrating this thing is more than most people would probably be up for.
EzdineG is offline  
Old 06 November 2018, 17:22   #20
wizard1
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: New Ross /Wexford/ Ireland
Posts: 1
Hi All, sorry if this is the wrong place or the wrong way, but I did`nt know where else, so I searched "Gotek" and ended up here, anyway here goes:Just received my new USB Gotek. I have a question I`m hoping someone out there might be able to help with?. I have the external adapter version. The ribbon cable is wired to the pcb with the red strand on pin 34?, the other end if you following the keying notch puts the red strand on pin 1?, is this correct?. If I reverse the Gotek end of the cable to make it right, then the Gotek is upside down when connected?.

Cheers

UPDATE: All sorted, up and running

Last edited by wizard1; 07 November 2018 at 11:51.
wizard1 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek (jumper) settings as external floppy Vaninna support.Hardware 7 16 May 2018 14:58
Gotek as external drive pincoo support.Hardware 16 16 February 2018 16:49
Gotek on external drive as DF1: and bootable ramonsmits support.Hardware 11 20 December 2016 14:49
EDU - External Disk Unit | External gotek for Commodore Amiga with LCD & Sound arananet Amiga scene 7 02 April 2016 22:06
Gotek External Floppy Disk Drive adapter? alexh support.Hardware 7 01 October 2014 13:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09671 seconds with 15 queries