English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 August 2018, 14:22   #141
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 451
Chipram was never the issue.. the issue was me being an idiot and forgot that damn resistor CBM patched 1D.4 PCBs with , you know the TH one close to alice
Chucky is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 16:50   #142
PR77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Chipram was never the issue.. the issue was me being an idiot and forgot that damn resistor CBM patched 1D.4 PCBs with , you know the TH one close to alice
Yes I know that one! I was surprised by the patches in the A1200; still quicker than a silicon spin though.

When you start with adding the mods to the PCB layout will you consider clearance for PLCC sockets? Also, does the 68EC020 need to be soldered even if an accelerator is fitted? Thinking about reducing soldering directly to components and damn QFP packages.
PR77 is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 16:52   #143
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by PR77 View Post
Also, does the 68EC020 need to be soldered even if an accelerator is fitted?
You don't need to solder the 020 if you'll use an accelerator.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 17:19   #144
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 451
clearance for PLCC sockets. I think most can be done except for memory and btw sockets just introduce more issues anyway..

and you do not need the 020 if you will use a CPU card. that I can confirm.
Chucky is offline  
Old 12 August 2018, 18:14   #145
PR77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 137
Regarding the CPU good to know. I was thinking it wouldn’t work because of the BR and BG handshake but the external CPU (card) must have the smarts to handle it.
PR77 is offline  
Old 14 August 2018, 19:54   #146
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 451
Status:

All audioissues solved
Distortion on video solved

tested:
Boot with and without turbocard.
Composite out delivers a way more clear picture
SVideo not tested due to the fact: I have no connector.. (damn)
df0: works.
df1: works (atleast gotek no mechanical drive athome)
serial, parallel, joystickports tests ok in diagrom.
pcmcia 3com network works fine.
pcmcia reset fix.. not tested. will do tomorrow
internal keyboard will test tomorrow
lyra adapter works.
15KHz video works.
RGB port works.

Simply put: DONE Working!..

ALSO! muy BPPC 50Mhz 060. 330MHz PPC, 128MB ram boots off a normal 4.5A PSU.. my original A1200 PCB refuses to do this.


So release sometime on sunday unless something weird happens.


Right now enjoying some 060 demos on it.. AHh!
Chucky is offline  
Old 14 August 2018, 19:57   #147
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 52
Posts: 1,717
Incredible. Just incredible. I wonder if someone will make an ATX or mATX A1200 board

Sent from my Redmi Note 4 using Tapatalk
Methanoid is offline  
Old 14 August 2018, 21:08   #148
PR77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Status:

All audioissues solved
Distortion on video solved

tested:
Boot with and without turbocard.
Composite out delivers a way more clear picture
SVideo not tested due to the fact: I have no connector.. (damn)
df0: works.
df1: works (atleast gotek no mechanical drive athome)
serial, parallel, joystickports tests ok in diagrom.
pcmcia 3com network works fine.
pcmcia reset fix.. not tested. will do tomorrow
internal keyboard will test tomorrow
lyra adapter works.
15KHz video works.
RGB port works.

Simply put: DONE Working!..

ALSO! muy BPPC 50Mhz 060. 330MHz PPC, 128MB ram boots off a normal 4.5A PSU.. my original A1200 PCB refuses to do this.


So release sometime on sunday unless something weird happens.


Right now enjoying some 060 demos on it.. AHh!
Holy crap! Well done! Could you share some pictures?
PR77 is offline  
Old 14 August 2018, 21:35   #149
jotd
Cat freak
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,556
All those people who'll be able to play a remade Rygar or a remade A1200 board... awesome work.
jotd is offline  
Old 14 August 2018, 23:14   #150
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 451
Chucky is offline  
Old 15 August 2018, 13:00   #151
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 109
Wow that is amazing work Chucky!
AJCopland is online now  
Old 15 August 2018, 13:29   #152
Marlon_
Amiga Programmer

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 483
If someone does an atx version (when the files are released) that still works with mediator, that would be dope.
Marlon_ is offline  
Old 15 August 2018, 15:37   #153
PR77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 137
@Chucky, on my 68SEC000 accelerator Rev 4 PCB I will (haven't started the layout yet) route Pin 20 of the IDE connector to +5V to support DOMs via a jumper. Will you do something similar? Then a simple IDE44 to 40 can be used and no expensive DOM Power Cable (here is DE I can get a 128MB DOM for 0.95€ cents).
PR77 is offline  
Old 15 August 2018, 16:14   #154
AJCopland
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Beeston, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 109
PR77 is that why DOM's don't work out of the box!?! I didn't know that! I have two of them (4GiB) lying around that I could use if I'd known that.
AJCopland is online now  
Old 15 August 2018, 17:58   #155
PR77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJCopland View Post
PR77 is that why DOM's don't work out of the box!?! I didn't know that! I have two of them (4GiB) lying around that I could use if I'd known that.
Without the external power cable, correct. It simply will not power.
PR77 is offline  
Old 15 August 2018, 23:20   #156
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 451
30 pcs of the PCB is ordered..


So release on sunday. if not. I have just ordered 30 useless PCBs.. (meaning I found something REALLY serious wrong.. what that now could be)


release means I will release the sprint file, gerbers and a PARTIAL BOM.

also sprintfile and gerbers for the A1200 clone without any kind of modifications. even if my ReAmiga is designed from this. I have not tested it IRL so anyone ordering a PCB from that is on your own.
Chucky is offline  
Old 15 August 2018, 23:23   #157
graffias79
Registered User

graffias79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 41
I have a possibly not functional 1D.1 board. Would the chips from this board revision work on this if it came to needing to be completely replaced?

This is theoretical, I do not have the skills or equipment to transfer chips and solder smd components to a new board.
graffias79 is offline  
Old 15 August 2018, 23:25   #158
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 451
yes! will work fine.. any A1200 revision will work..

it is based on the 1D.4 but I have fixed all what I know is fixed in rev2. wiiiith some slight "optional" jumperpossabilities..
Chucky is offline  
Old 15 August 2018, 23:30   #159
graffias79
Registered User

graffias79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 41
Glad to know this is an option now! I'll have to have someone see if the board is fixable or not. It desperately needs a recap and may already be too far gone. Floppy connector doesn't seem to work, IDE header missing a pin.
graffias79 is offline  
Old 18 August 2018, 18:15   #160
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 46
Posts: 451
Unfortuinally there will be no ReAmiga release on sunday.. as I need to work.

BUT! that means it will be TODAY!!! So TEASER:


[ Show youtube player ]
Chucky is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Fund the Amiga 4000 Replica Project! Acill Amiga scene 75 15 August 2018 04:03
Amiga PCB Explorer (A4000 Desktop PCB Rev B) SuperPlay Amiga scene 6 04 January 2018 15:21
A1200 recap progress Acill Hardware pics 1 18 September 2016 02:21
A1200 power pinout on the pcb? spoUP Amiga scene 4 21 June 2013 02:00
My A1200 progress ck1200 Hardware mods 19 07 October 2010 18:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12645 seconds with 15 queries