English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2018, 19:08   #101
Steril707
OCS rocks!

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 454
Nice work, McGeezer!



Looks great so far...
Steril707 is offline  
Old 04 March 2018, 22:23   #102
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Nice work, McGeezer!



Looks great so far...
Thanks buddy!
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 14 March 2018, 21:24   #103
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 541
Sorry for lack of updates on the technical side of the game at the moment, rest assured I'm still working on it.

At the moment I'm knee deep in debugging some very difficult bugs.

Like intermittent, weird crashes... sometimes none crashes.

Very frustrating and time consuming.

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 15 March 2018, 00:43   #104
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 850
On the audio side am working to bring musics to three channels due to feedback, is time consuming too :/
saimon69 is offline  
Old 20 March 2018, 02:41   #105
Nightshft
Registered User

Nightshft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Austria
Age: 43
Posts: 21
Hey McGeezer. This version of bomb jack is just great! What would you have to change to memory layout/hunks to make it compatible with machines with 1MB of chipmem and no fastmem? (like some A600 or A1200). (I'd absolutely love to play it on a physical machine!)
Nightshft is offline  
Old 20 March 2018, 06:08   #106
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 388
Wow, fantastic work so far, this has been wonderful to see go from the start to where it is now, I really appreciate you taking the time to post the updates and share with us all how it's progressed. And I've learned from the technical discussion too. Great work!
TroyWilkins is offline  
Old 20 March 2018, 09:50   #107
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightshft View Post
Hey McGeezer. This version of bomb jack is just great! What would you have to change to memory layout/hunks to make it compatible with machines with 1MB of chipmem and no fastmem? (like some A600 or A1200). (I'd absolutely love to play it on a physical machine!)
This is now quite high on my list to sort out given I'm nearing the end of development. I'll try and put it in the next Beta as I want it to be OS friendly.

PS - Thanks for the feedback - really appreciate it!
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 20 March 2018, 09:51   #108
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by TroyWilkins View Post
Wow, fantastic work so far, this has been wonderful to see go from the start to where it is now, I really appreciate you taking the time to post the updates and share with us all how it's progressed. And I've learned from the technical discussion too. Great work!
Thanks for your kind words and glad someone has learned from my work. It has been a really enjoyable learning curve for me as well.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 17:38   #109
LeCaravage
Registered User

LeCaravage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: AmigaLand
Posts: 130
Played beta3E version on PAL Amiga 500 KS1.3 + 1,8Mb Fake Fast Ram.
Great experience, addictive game. Played it during 30 mins.

No major bug or crash popped out during this session.
The only disturbing thing is the random/periodic short slow down (during 1 or may be 2 frames?).
May be I'm wrong as I'm not a specialist but, the music sounds way better on real machine (old CRT TV) than on YT.

Great work. Bravo.

Nitpicking : Do you plan to horiz. center game area with monitor border ?
LeCaravage is offline  
Old 31 March 2018, 22:43   #110
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeCaravage View Post
Played beta3E version on PAL Amiga 500 KS1.3 + 1,8Mb Fake Fast Ram.
Great experience, addictive game. Played it during 30 mins.

No major bug or crash popped out during this session.
The only disturbing thing is the random/periodic short slow down (during 1 or may be 2 frames?).
May be I'm wrong as I'm not a specialist but, the music sounds way better on real machine (old CRT TV) than on YT.

Great work. Bravo.

Nitpicking : Do you plan to horiz. center game area with monitor border ?
Wow - thanks very much for the great feedback!

The slow downs are caused by too many sprites on screen at the same time, the code still needs to be optimised so with a bit of luck I'll be able to get it running smooth with 10 enemies (like the arcade).

I wasn't aware the display was not centered, are you able to take a photo for me so I can align it?

Thanks,
mcgeezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 09:37   #111
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,099
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgeezer View Post
Wow - thanks very much for the great feedback!

The slow downs are caused by too many sprites on screen at the same time, the code still needs to be optimised so with a bit of luck I'll be able to get it running smooth with 10 enemies (like the arcade).

I wasn't aware the display was not centered, are you able to take a photo for me so I can align it?

Thanks,
mcgeezer
Sprites 7 and 8 stop working when you center the screen.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 09:41   #112
LeCaravage
Registered User

LeCaravage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: AmigaLand
Posts: 130
I noticed this periodic short slow down occurs even in the title screen or when there's only one ennemy. Must check if it's also there in WinUAE though.

Edit : Just tested it on WinUAE (Amiga 500 KS1.3 512Kb CHIP + 512KbF. Fast) and the same slow down is present.

Here is the photo of the decentered screen :


Last edited by LeCaravage; 01 April 2018 at 09:48.
LeCaravage is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 09:45   #113
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!

Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft. Collins, CO USA
Age: 44
Posts: 1,099
Send a message via Yahoo to Samurai_Crow
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeCaravage View Post
I noticed this periodic short slow down occurs even in the title screen or when there's only one ennemy. Must check if it's also there in WinUAE though.

Here is the photo of the decentered screen :

Ah! So it's the right border that needs trimming! That's better! Those sprites only go away when you trim the left border.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 11:02   #114
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeCaravage View Post
I noticed this periodic short slow down occurs even in the title screen or when there's only one ennemy. Must check if it's also there in WinUAE though.

Edit : Just tested it on WinUAE (Amiga 500 KS1.3 512Kb CHIP + 512KbF. Fast) and the same slow down is present.

Here is the photo of the decentered screen :


Moving the display 1 word to the right should not be a problem, I'll check it out on my real Amiga first as well beforehand.

The slowdown is actually caused by the mod playback routine or the music module itself, as of yet I haven't been able to shed much light on it but I might contact PHX and see if he knows what might be going on. The sound is placed on interrupt 3 so it gets priority over everything else - so something in there is stealing frames from the game.

You'll only lose sprites 7/8 if you move the display window down to word $30... at the moment it is at $3c so I probably just need to move it to $3e.

Cheers,
Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 11:42   #115
LeCaravage
Registered User

LeCaravage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: AmigaLand
Posts: 130
Regarding this pb of slow down. May be, if you use in your main program a vertical synch with a BNE you should replace it with a BCS ?

For instance :

Code:
.vsync:
move.l $dff004,d0
and.l #$1ff00,d0
cmp.l #250<<8,d0
BNE.b .vsync
replace it with :

Code:
.vsync:
move.l $dff004,d0
and.l #$1ff00,d0
cmp.l #250<<8,d0
BCS.b .vsync
The music interrupt the sync just at the edge of 250 and at the return from music to main code the vertical pos is > 250 so the frame is skipped because of the BNE.

Last edited by LeCaravage; 01 April 2018 at 16:07.
LeCaravage is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 12:53   #116
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeCaravage View Post
Regarding this pb of slow down. May be, if you use in your main program a vertical synch with a BNE you should replace it with a BCS ?

For instance :

Code:
.vsync:
move.l $dff004,d0
and.l #$1ff00,d0
cmp.l #250<<8,d0
BNE.b .vsync
replace it with :

Code:
.vsync:
move.l $dff004,d0
and.l #$1ff00,d0
cmp.l #250<<8,d0
BCS.b .vsync
The music interrupt the sync just at the edge of 255 and at the return from music to main code the vertical pos is > 255 so the frame is skipped because of the BNE.

Holy shit dude! That's exactly what it was! The frame rate is now rock solid!

Thanks you ever so much Le Caravage!

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 16 April 2018, 21:40   #117
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 541
Being out of the Amiga game for over two decades means my knowledge of Amiga hardware is very very limited so I know absolutely next to nothing about accelerator cards and the like.

The only real hardware I have at the moment is my A500 which I'm amazed still works.

Anyway, on topic - Bomb Jack crashes when there's an accelerator card in use. It runs fine on stock Amiga 500/600/1200. What I can say is that interrupts are still firing so I can only put it down to invalid ways I access the hardware.

Are there any do's and don'ts that would cause this behavior of crashing when using a fast CPU/accelerator? I'm more than happy to share the code if it helps track down what is going on. I haven't done a whole lot of testing because I just don't have the hardware to try it and I can't reproduce it in WinUAE with a faster CPU configured at 28Mhz.

Any help is really appreciated.

Thanks,
mcgeezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 17 April 2018, 08:04   #118
Apollo
Registered User

Apollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 125
Since you say that the interrupts are still firing I assume its not the problem that the interrupt vectors are moved into fastram.

  • do you use self modifying code? higher 680x0s have an instruction cache
  • do you rely on cpu timing loops?
  • maybe a forgotten blitter wait which maybe wasn't a problem on 68000 since the blitter was ready anyway before you fired the next blitter move
Apollo is offline  
Old 17 April 2018, 08:54   #119
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo View Post
Since you say that the interrupts are still firing I assume its not the problem that the interrupt vectors are moved into fastram.

  • do you use self modifying code? higher 680x0s have an instruction cache
  • do you rely on cpu timing loops?
  • maybe a forgotten blitter wait which maybe wasn't a problem on 68000 since the blitter was ready anyway before you fired the next blitter move
Thanks Apollo

There's no self modifying code or CPU timing loops.
I'll double check the blitter waits though - so a good shout.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 17 April 2018, 10:14   #120
Asman
68k

Asman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 645
@mcgeezer
change (mean adapt ) your blitter waits macro to
Code:
;-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
;
;in
;	a5 - _custom
;
BLITTERWAIT:	MACRO
		tst.b	dmaconr(a5)
.1\@		btst	#6,dmaconr(a5)
		bne.b	.1\@
	ENDM

;-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
This should help you.
Asman is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Docs on writing a handler TCH Coders. System 9 18 June 2017 03:46
Writing an (Xbox 360) Kinect USB Driver - achievable? lantus360 Coders. General 3 13 December 2016 13:56
Process for writing original game disk image to disk Doc99 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 6 19 May 2016 12:20
Writing AVI BippyM support.WinUAE 16 20 May 2005 23:43
Found -> Champion Driver (was: top view racing game) T_hairy_bootson Looking for a game name ? 3 06 December 2003 19:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09181 seconds with 15 queries