English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language > Coders. C/C++

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 December 2017, 21:52   #1
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
Which of those do you think you can port?

Hey emufan,


I am wondering how hard to port one of these games?

A) https://libregamewiki.org/Hero_of_Allacrost
B) https://libregamewiki.org/Imperium:_Sticks
C) https://libregamewiki.org/Iter_Vehemens_ad_Necem
D) https://libregamewiki.org/Secret_Maryo_Chronicles
E) https://libregamewiki.org/Tile_World
F) https://libregamewiki.org/Simple_Sokoban
G) https://libregamewiki.org/Xye <-- I am wondering if you could do this one! Because this one looks the most funnest of them all, but I am leaving it to you to pick one of them
xboxown is offline  
Old 06 December 2017, 13:16   #2
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
#1) zoned: xye-68k-WIP.lha
keyboard input or mouse clicks do not work here - for sure some "unicode" weirdness :/

extract the folder and assign the included data folder to data:
for example extracted in ram:

assign DATA: ram:xye-WIP/data

so it does find the data files. I could not find a way to make the data folder relative to the xye binary :/

#2) zoned: TWorld-68k-WIP.lha
this one does work somehow. keyboard input is ok - does make some sound aswell.
there is a "chips.dat" file missing in data folder. I duplicated the intro.dat, just renamed.
the lynx sets are better animated, compared to the "ms" sets. added the CCLP set

#3)
C) IVAN does not build, weird template error and others
D) some dependency I cannot build/find (lib boost filesystem)
F) needs SDL2
B) cannot find source code
A) does need QT4 - sort of gui toolkit.

Last edited by emufan; 06 December 2017 at 16:32.
emufan is offline  
Old 06 December 2017, 20:36   #3
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!! I am so excited!!! - drinks water, smacks the cup on the table and inhales deeply - OK! Ok! - swallows - Ok!!

Here goes nothing. Ok for xye you said there is unicode weirdness. Is that something you can resolve like the ascii code for the keyboard input character? Because I really seriously want to play this game in my Amiga heheh

Also in this game there is a level editor http://xye.sourceforge.net/levels.php here...does that mean I can use the level editor in windows and take the levels I made and can play them in my Amiga? Can the level editor also be ported? Just curious!

THANKS FOR THE TWORLD PORT I AM GOING TO GO HOME AND TRY IT OUT!
xboxown is offline  
Old 06 December 2017, 21:23   #4
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
np. not much, but a littlebit at least
I already did some changes, but had no effect. it's not that easy, as seen with NAGI.

and I think the editor is build in the game, but nothing we can use atm.
those levels made with a windows version may work.

#1) fixed the data path, no need to do the data: assign anymore.
is looking for data folder in location of the xye binary

editor does start when multiple clicks on it's button in main window, but stays black,
console says something about missing file.
but when running snoopdos and xye the system is stalled (HALT3) - not the fault of xye,
did happen with other tools aswell :/


#2) with another config in winuae, snoopdos gave some results,
added a file, so the editor does load - but stays black ...
it does load the editor, if you click on the "F1 Editor" button right after starting xye.

some keys increase/decrease values in the window title bar (b and n for example).
but far from working :/

zone: updated xye-68k-WIP.lha - update #2

Last edited by emufan; 06 December 2017 at 22:53.
emufan is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 00:38   #5
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
eeeeeee I really am anxious! I really, really want to play XYE - bites shirt -
xboxown is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 20:58   #6
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
eeeeeee I really am anxious! I really, really want to play XYE - bites shirt -
no progress. I did some debug things, but cannot see whats wrong :/

while using gcc -noixemul" I get those link errors:
Code:
/m68k-amigaos/lib/libstdc++.a(misc-inst.o)...: undefined reference to `_getc'
/m68k-amigaos/lib/libstdc++.a(misc-inst.o)...: undefined reference to `_getc'
/m68k-amigaos/lib/libstdc++.a(misc-inst.o)....: undefined reference to `_putc'
/m68k-amigaos/lib/libstdc++.a(basic_file.o)...: undefined reference to `_fdopen'
what do I need to link to fix this?
emufan is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 22:30   #7
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
Is there a part of the code that deals with keyboard input or something like that? Somewhere in the classes there is a logic or function that is waiting for device input. In there put a debugging string and see if condition logic there.
xboxown is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 23:07   #8
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
the key issue is again a mess, one game does perfect, the other not at all.
those keys/unicode things are spread around the source code - no clue how to revert.
and somehow those unicode things should work, since the source code of the amiga-sdl
lib does handle those, kind of "if unicode do this ..." and so on :/

but there must be something else. starting the Editor - it goes black and does nothing.
it should show at least some graphics from the imported files from data/... folder.

even the sega dgen emulator does show graphics, on default false colors, but not a black screen only.

the Play button triggers some events, but it does not reach the game.
it's trapped somewhere in the middle, and I cannot see where :/
emufan is offline  
Old 07 December 2017, 23:31   #9
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
OH! So it is not possible to port this game
xboxown is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 00:11   #10
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
OH! So it is not possible to port this game
cannot say for sure, I'm not a coder, I can do some pattern matching and fix simple things,
but maybe this is a version issue, since we do not have the latest sdl 1.2.15.
AmigaOS support was removed from those latest 1.2.x version :/
I cannot say for sure which sdl version I'm using, cannot find a version number, only 1.2 is listed.

maybe grelbfarlk can try to build it for warpos. I write a request in his sdl thread.

#1) I did try to build it with Novacoders SDl lib for aga, but here I have a link issue, missing Keymap and Commodities lib:
Code:
m68k-amigaos-gcc ... -lSDL_ttf -lSDL_image -lSDL_AGA_040 -lpng -ljpeg \
-lfreetype -lz c2p8_040_dbl_asm.o c2p8_040_asm.o -lamiga
....
/m68k-amigaos/lib/libamiga.a(addievents.o)...: undefined reference to `_CxBase'
/m68k-amigaos/lib/libamiga.a(maprawkey.o)...: undefined reference to `_KeymapBase'
added -lauto, which did not help :/
how do I link with keymaps and commodities library?

Last edited by emufan; 08 December 2017 at 00:25.
emufan is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 04:08   #11
grelbfarlk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
the key issue is again a mess, one game does perfect, the other not at all.
those keys/unicode things are spread around the source code - no clue how to revert.
and somehow those unicode things should work, since the source code of the amiga-sdl
lib does handle those, kind of "if unicode do this ..." and so on :/

but there must be something else. starting the Editor - it goes black and does nothing.
it should show at least some graphics from the imported files from data/... folder.

even the sega dgen emulator does show graphics, on default false colors, but not a black screen only.

the Play button triggers some events, but it does not reach the game.
it's trapped somewhere in the middle, and I cannot see where :/
Unicode does not work for me. There is a warning in the SDL source that unicode has some performance penalty perhaps it was disabled in the amiga versions. I've had to change unicode calls to normal keysym calls for this reason, which was a good few days of getting Exult to work.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 10:42   #12
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
I think I have the same issue. I saw the unicode thing mentioned in the src code aswell.
did you fix the sdl source code or do you adjust the keymap things in the game you build (exult) ?
emufan is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 12:58   #13
grelbfarlk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
I think I have the same issue. I saw the unicode thing mentioned in the src code aswell.
did you fix the sdl source code or do you adjust the keymap things in the game you build (exult) ?
I just adjusted the keymap and removing unicode where necessary. It may be as simple as this to turn it on in SDL:
In SDL_keyboard.c
Code:
...
int SDL_TranslateUNICODE = 0;
...
/* Public functions */
int SDL_KeyboardInit(void)
{
    SDL_VideoDevice *video = current_video;
    SDL_VideoDevice *this  = current_video;
    Uint16 i;

    /* Set default mode of UNICODE translation */
    SDL_EnableUNICODE(DEFAULT_UNICODE_TRANSLATION);
...
Then in SDL_Events_c.h
Code:
/* Used by the OS keyboard code to detect whether or not to do UNICODE */
#ifndef DEFAULT_UNICODE_TRANSLATION
#define DEFAULT_UNICODE_TRANSLATION 0    /* Default off because of overhead */
#endif
extern int SDL_TranslateUNICODE;
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 15:43   #14
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
I just adjusted the keymap and removing unicode where necessary. It may be as simple as this to turn it on in SDL:
In SDL_keyboard.c
ok. both settings I have the same way in my sdl source code already.

#1) just build a libsdl with both settings enabled (1) - does not make a diff with xye :/
emufan is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 16:57   #15
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
ok. both settings I have the same way in my sdl source code already.

#1) just build a libsdl with both settings enabled (1) - does not make a diff with xye :/
xboxown is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 17:29   #16
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
yeah, it's more like this: but you are right. frustrating.
but I just found sdl 1.2.15 - it was totaly unnoticed
emufan is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 19:54   #17
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
yeah, it's more like this: but you are right. frustrating.
but I just found sdl 1.2.15 - it was totaly unnoticed
Do you think this will fix it?
xboxown is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 19:56   #18
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
yeah, it's more like this: but you are right. frustrating.
but I just found sdl 1.2.15 - it was totaly unnoticed
By the way, I cannot find this TWorld-68k-WIP.lha in the zone anymore. Where did it go?
xboxown is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 19:58   #19
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
Do you think this will fix it?
cannot say for sure, but it is the latest version.
currently we have a version from 2003 (my source code says so), latest was in 2012, IIRC.
maybe it will help somehow. at least something to experiment with

#1) what about the attached image ?

I got a sdl version 1.2.15 by arti - and this one does work.
so it is a sdl version thing.

@arti: please release the version, put on aminet

zoned: xye-68k-WIP.lha (update #4) - removed some debug stuff

I need to remove some debug stuff, but this is some great result

Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxown View Post
By the way, I cannot find this TWorld-68k-WIP.lha in the zone anymore. Where did it go?
maybe I removed it accidentally, while updating xye versions in the zone.
zoned again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard-1.png
Views:	274
Size:	12.7 KB
ID:	55776  

Last edited by emufan; 08 December 2017 at 22:14.
emufan is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 22:53   #20
xboxown
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver/Canada
Posts: 676
aaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
xboxown is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Port of IK from the ST meynaf Amiga scene 173 23 July 2019 03:55
Using PotGo on Mouse Port (Port 0)? Daedalus Coders. System 14 02 March 2016 20:44
Serial port, parallel port, and pipe device mount errors Samurai_Crow support.FS-UAE 4 13 March 2014 00:04
Port to Linux Enverex support.WinUAE 22 26 April 2006 15:35
AExplorer and com port Ebster support.Hardware 12 05 October 2005 09:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:32.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.50758 seconds with 14 queries