English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 January 2016, 07:24   #21
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
I guess the sound part gotta be really different though, isn't it? Someone must compose a .mod music to go along, and then you have more memory usage and stuff, am I wrong?

By the way, thank you for all this work
Yes, the sound part is different. Im not interested in learning it at all, because if i emulate the sound as Meynaf does, that rules out 68000 Amigas right away which is not something i am keen on.

Thankfully there are several guys that are only too happy to contribute something which means i dont have to learn ST sound code, and obviously, whilst converting the graphics on the fly in realtime means i cant improve them for Amiga, there is no such restriction with the sound.

Memory can be a problem, but simply making the game 1meg minimum makes life easier.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 January 2016, 19:25   #22
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 671
Heard the ST music and reminds me of an irish ballad; wonder if using fiddles and flutes to remake it might come out interesting...
saimon69 is offline  
Old 08 January 2016, 22:51   #23
4mat_
Demoscene musician
4mat_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 51
I'm intrigued why ST sound emulation would need more than a 68000, can you grab the mixer register & tone/noise frequencies and do a direct conversion with chip waves? At least that's how I'm wrapping around the AY to play them on c64. (with a table to grab the buzzer sync frequencies if they're needed, most early games didn't) In my experience the timing/envelope stuff wasn't used very much in favour of the volume registers, so I left all that out which made it a lot easier to get working.
4mat_ is offline  
Old 08 January 2016, 23:16   #24
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4mat_ View Post
I'm intrigued why ST sound emulation would need more than a 68000, can you grab the mixer register & tone/noise frequencies and do a direct conversion with chip waves? At least that's how I'm wrapping around the AY to play them on c64. (with a table to grab the buzzer sync frequencies if they're needed, most early games didn't) In my experience the timing/envelope stuff wasn't used very much in favour of the volume registers, so I left all that out which made it a lot easier to get working.
Its not the sound thats the problem, its the way i convert ST games that is.

Rather than me hack each game and change every single routine to blit Amiga format graphics and change each ST image into one thats natively understood by the Amiga, i wait until the ST code has built the Atari screen in memory to display, and then in realtime, convert that ST image to an Amiga one every frame.

That routine is VERY processor heavy for a 68000, and couple with expecting the cpu to then also do a realtime conversion of the sound and music, its just too much.

And unless David Whittaker was doing the music, the Amiga version would have sounded differently in any case.

I dont want to exclude A500 owners, if i have to do that, then id rather not bother at all.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 08 January 2016, 23:20   #25
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,454
So in my understanding: in this case conversion means more emulation than porting.
Predseda is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 00:21   #26
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,593
Quote:
I dont want to exclude A500 owners, if i have to do that, then id rather not bother at all.
Thank you for that
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 01:01   #27
PortuguesePilot
The Son of Luso
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
(...) I dont want to exclude A500 owners, if i have to do that, then id rather not bother at all.
You're one of my personal heroes, you know that?
PortuguesePilot is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 01:14   #28
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,243
I hear ya PortuguesePilot!!!

What; you as well? You know anything / released by Galahad is guaranteed to work 100%!!! I was a teenager in Sydney, Australia when I had an Amiga 500 and the name FLT / Galahad resonated even there half a world away...

Sir Galahad is a f$%kin' legend in the Amiga community and has been since I was 15 (24+ years go) and still is still going strong

All hail the master cracker / coder

Last edited by DamienD; 09 January 2016 at 01:25.
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 09:32   #29
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,454
Okay, but this is just flattery online
Predseda is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 12:20   #30
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
This is a great game to convert. Thanks Galahad! One of my st favourites. I too remember thinking it was just some silly arcade game. But the rune casting and spell casting really made it for me. And the feeling when a level was completely clear. :-)
musojon74 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 15:37   #31
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Ok. Well I've done a few bars of music conversion. Will upload ASAP. Might need to use a different Amiga as I keep getting pauses / complete freezes playing high notes through Paula...
musojon74 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 15:49   #32
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Atari ST to Amiga Conversion: Ranarama

I'll upload a different way.

Last edited by musojon74; 09 January 2016 at 15:50. Reason: name in post
musojon74 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 16:00   #33
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Ok let's try this. https://instagram.com/p/BAUo9-8mdab/
musojon74 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 16:22   #34
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by musojon74 View Post
Sounds good. Dont be afraid to give it some kick ass sounding samples so it doesnt sound so delicate if you know what i mean.

Good start
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 16:26   #35
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Thanks! Ok I've got most of the notes in now. Coming in at 41k. How much can I have? :-)
musojon74 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 16:27   #36
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Yeah will update the samples. The snare doesn't work. Sounds amazing at original sample rate in logic. Now, not so much.
musojon74 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 16:53   #37
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,364
Just make any ST conversion need minimum A500 with 1mb, loads of Amiga games need 1mb so why piss about when you can use 1mb, just aim for that config and leave it at that!
BarryB is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 17:49   #38
musojon74
Registered User

musojon74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dereham, United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 469
Ok. I need to eat. I'll perhaps try sampling directly on the Amiga. Every sample I send over via cf and convert seems a bit flat.
musojon74 is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 21:12   #39
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by musojon74 View Post
Thanks! Ok I've got most of the notes in now. Coming in at 41k. How much can I have? :-)
Keep it under 90k and i can ramload it so its not too slow to reload when the player dies
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 09 January 2016, 21:39   #40
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,454
Although I love Graftgold productions, do not forget to Bubble bus work.
Predseda is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atari ST to Amiga: Starquake Amiga Conversion Galahad/FLT Amiga scene 255 06 October 2017 16:41
New Atari ST conversion coming to Amiga Galahad/FLT Amiga scene 158 30 April 2017 18:05
Ugly Ass Atari St Doom conversion Fred the Fop Retrogaming General Discussion 18 07 May 2016 21:22
Super Sprint - Atari ST Conversion Galahad/FLT Retrogaming General Discussion 83 12 March 2012 21:34
Old Atari ST ? Game...not sure if there was an Amiga conversion.. HCF Looking for a game name ? 14 17 October 2004 17:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35277 seconds with 13 queries