English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 July 2017, 00:36   #1
Lasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alta
Posts: 24
Amiga 1200 - White screen from RGB - Scart

My Amiga 1200 comes up with a white screen om my Samsung LCD TV, and a dark screen with some hazy icons on my Toshiba LCD TV. Both connected via the RGB connector - Scart TV.

The Composite output is working fine.

Anybody got an idea?
Lasse is offline  
Old 31 July 2017, 03:38   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,785
Most likely the cable is just very cheaply made, or made for 1084/8833 monitors which don't care about the RGB enable signal (they have switches on the front for that).

So the TV never gets the signal that tells it that it should enter RGB mode. You can fix that through a resistor or two in the SCART hood.
idrougge is offline  
Old 31 July 2017, 13:10   #3
Lasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alta
Posts: 24
Thanks! I just ordered a new cable from AmigaKit
Lasse is offline  
Old 31 July 2017, 13:13   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,704
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lasse View Post
Thanks! I just ordered a new cable from AmigaKit
How many scart sockets as some dont support RGB.
FOL is offline  
Old 31 July 2017, 14:50   #5
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 838
I have Samsung 37" lcd tv. This one doesn't have RGB scart at all. Have you tried with composite scart adapter?
utri007 is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 15:07   #6
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 341
Burnt choke. I do not remember designator though. Surface mount. It is 5v or 12v supply to rgb connector.
bebek is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 16:01   #7
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,704
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by bebek View Post
Burnt choke. I do not remember designator though. Surface mount. It is 5v or 12v supply to rgb connector.
I would have mentioned this, apart from he said he had a white screen. Choke causes white screen with faint picture in the background.
FOL is offline  
Old 04 August 2017, 12:30   #8
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 341
This one will make screen completely white. It does not turn on rgb on TV correctly. At lease I have seen white only on my LCD.

Last edited by bebek; 04 August 2017 at 14:31.
bebek is offline  
Old 07 August 2017, 13:27   #9
Lasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alta
Posts: 24
No. I have just ordered a Scart to HDMI converter and a new RGB to Scart cable. We'll see if it works
Lasse is offline  
Old 07 August 2017, 13:28   #10
Lasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alta
Posts: 24
I do have 5v and 12v on RGB port. I will try the new cable firs, before I start looking for errors.
Lasse is offline  
Old 08 August 2017, 21:43   #11
bebek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lasse View Post
I do have 5v and 12v on RGB port. I will try the new cable firs, before I start looking for errors.
When you measure voltage with DMM it will show 12V, 5V as the choke is not completely open circuit but high resistance - under load will give not enough. Quickest thing is to use tweezers to short the choke (one of two closer to tv modulator) while it is working and picture should show if it is the case.

Wrong RGB cable will produce same problem though - I have cables that are fine with A500 but have white screen with A1200.
bebek is offline  
Old 10 August 2017, 23:37   #12
Lasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alta
Posts: 24
Thanks Bebek for many useful advise. I got the new RGB to scart cable from Amigakit today. And everything worked out fine. The other two RGB cables that I had was probably made for old CRT screens? I am very happy everything works now. The picture is brilliant, and now I am just waiting for my Scart to HDMI to even improve it more ��
Lasse is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 18:35   #13
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 539
Thanks guys. I 've been trying to sort a 1200 out and I found a beautifully built scart/RGB cable from my first 1987 A500/1081, only to be confronted with the dreaded white screen. After a finding this thread, using a much less noble-looking cable sorted the problem. :-)
Thanks.
Angus is offline  
Old 11 February 2019, 19:33   #14
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
How many scart sockets as some dont support RGB.
Indeed the Second Socket on my 26 in CRT is not RGB
Nobby_UK is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 & RGB scart cable results in very dark picture mrleeman support.Hardware 12 12 March 2019 00:18
RGB to Scart & Scart to HDMI converter Retrofan support.Hardware 24 20 August 2017 11:16
Amiga RGB to Scart pinout kipper2k support.Hardware 2 04 April 2011 06:43
Amiga RGB scart Mr B support.Other 8 12 January 2010 22:20
Amiga RGB > Mulitimode SCART Boot_WB support.Hardware 12 09 June 2008 23:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08072 seconds with 15 queries