English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 February 2018, 17:33   #781
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,512
Anyone put this internally in a Spcctrum +3? Seen the external mods but wondered if anyone has done an internal cable mod for a Gotek and what the cable looks like!
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 February 2018, 18:35   #782
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,183
Shouldn't that be much like the Amstrad CPC mods?
idrougge is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 00:44   #783
wmsteele
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 117
I have done this many years back, followed a cable diagram on cpcwiki, power cable needs modified as well.
wmsteele is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 00:54   #784
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,571
I've done a CPC 6128 but not a +3, supposedly they are the exact same. Yes the +12V and +5V are inverted, you gotta flip it. Be careful with that or you can burn the USB connected to the Gotek (I did this with an A500) or the Gotek itself.
Akira is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 17:02   #785
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 73
Hi guys,

I bought a bunch of 0.91" OLED Displays from China, but the current ones are not marked "GND VCC SCL SDA" but instead "GND VCC SCK SDA".
The FF wiki just says that the marking of the pin headers should be like the first example. so is this just an alternate name for the same signal or is this signal compatible? if not, is there any way to modify it to match SCL?

best, Chris
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 17:38   #786
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,512
I just want to remove the +3 drive and put the gotek in place using the existing cables if possible, if I have to make a cable that's no problem, just need a link/diagram of what to wire up!
BarryB is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 17:38   #787
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ch40s_engineer View Post
Hi guys,

I bought a bunch of 0.91" OLED Displays from China, but the current ones are not marked "GND VCC SCL SDA" but instead "GND VCC SCK SDA".
The FF wiki just says that the marking of the pin headers should be like the first example. so is this just an alternate name for the same signal or is this signal compatible? if not, is there any way to modify it to match SCL?

best, Chris
Hi Chris I was looking for one of them on Ebay and I've always read "SCL" on the pictures. Have you bought a bunch of OLED 0.91" 128x32 IIC I2C?

UPDATE:
I've just noticed that the one used by wmsteele says "SCK" so I think you're golden... and BTW if you want to sell one I am willing to buy it!

Last edited by jurassicman; 13 February 2018 at 19:27.
jurassicman is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 18:28   #788
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
I just want to remove the +3 drive and put the gotek in place using the existing cables if possible, if I have to make a cable that's no problem, just need a link/diagram of what to wire up!
All I find is the CPC 6128 diagrams, I am not 100% sure they apply to the +3, but I kind of remember that it does.

Here's a guy putting an HxC inside a 6128:
https://www.retrohax.net/amstrad-cpc-6128-hxc-mod/

Google thoroughly before you burn something up. If the +3 also has the power connector inverted, you have to make sure you don't fry something up by plugging it normally.

A lot of people choose to add it externally, though:
http://randomkak.blogspot.com/2013/0...-spectrum.html

[edit] Here, search for "(iv) Internal 3.5” A: drive on Spectrum +3" and it will say the process is the same as the Amstrad 6128:
https://www.secarica.ro/index.php/en...plus3-hardware
In red, it does say the power connector is inverted. So be wary.

Last edited by Akira; 13 February 2018 at 18:38.
Akira is offline  
Old 13 February 2018, 23:13   #789
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 73
alright, checked and they work just fine 👍
as it turns out the two displays in my possession are defective so I thought those SCK OLEDs simply don't work at all. thanks for your answers
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 14 February 2018, 11:22   #790
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,512
Yep, seen similar info when googling before but never sure if it's +3 compatible so thanks for the info and warnings, i'll see what i can blow up over the weekend

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
All I find is the CPC 6128 diagrams, I am not 100% sure they apply to the +3, but I kind of remember that it does.

Here's a guy putting an HxC inside a 6128:
https://www.retrohax.net/amstrad-cpc-6128-hxc-mod/

Google thoroughly before you burn something up. If the +3 also has the power connector inverted, you have to make sure you don't fry something up by plugging it normally.

A lot of people choose to add it externally, though:
http://randomkak.blogspot.com/2013/0...-spectrum.html

[edit] Here, search for "(iv) Internal 3.5 A: drive on Spectrum +3" and it will say the process is the same as the Amstrad 6128:
https://www.secarica.ro/index.php/en...plus3-hardware
In red, it does say the power connector is inverted. So be wary.
BarryB is offline  
Old 14 February 2018, 16:55   #791
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
Yep, seen similar info when googling before but never sure if it's +3 compatible so thanks for the info and warnings, i'll see what i can blow up over the weekend
The last link is +3-specific and should be safe to follow. Fear not!

I kinda miss my +3, now that Goteks exist, it would be great to have one. Alas, I never ended up using it much, like any of my Amstrads, so letting them go was the right choice.
Akira is offline  
Old Today, 01:43   #792
SunSpire
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 14
Every time I check this thread some new progress has been made with the firmware, great work! A lot of people seem to adapt to the OLED display and rotary encoder modifications and new Gotek mounting frames have surfaced on Ebay (for instance 173118338141) that will let you mount the Gotek and OLED display in a neat-looking, non-destructive way. Really awesome, time to do these modifications myself, soon.

However, I really don't like the look of the rotary knobs being used most of the time, they stick way out of the case sideways and they get in the way for transportation reasons or dust covers. So I was wondering if something like the volume wheels found in oldschool Walkmans could be used instead? (see picture!) Of course it would have to rotate continuously without min / max positions. I've not yet found a matching product.



Such wheel would barely stick out of the case (it could be placed in the former floppy disk eject button spot) and I'd imagine it to look really nice. Worth a try? What do you think?

EDIT: Alternative idea: mouse encoder wheel??

Last edited by SunSpire; Today at 02:32.
SunSpire is offline  
Old Today, 15:03   #793
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 811
Great idea, like the wheel on a mouse, with built in button - just scroll up and down, and press to enter.
kolla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help to open-source SAS/C Hauke Coders. General 35 26 September 2017 23:39
LCD on Gotek (with HxC firmware) christopherpm Hardware mods 1 08 January 2017 03:51
Gotek drive firmware for mounting .iso cd images Ox. Amiga scene 7 05 November 2014 06:14
Gotek drive firmware for Amiga general USB mass storage solution Supamax Amiga scene 2 20 September 2014 09:35
BlitzBasic - Is now open source Djay Amiga scene 2 08 February 2003 02:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15159 seconds with 15 queries