English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 September 2011, 21:41   #1
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Display issues with 2.3.3

I've no idea if this has been discussed or covered elsewhere - I'm not as active in the community as I once was - but hopefully someone can help me out.

Time was I could set the screen resolution to 800x600 safe in the knowledge that WinUAE would keep the emulated display centered, but that's apparently changed. Now it seems WinUAE stretches the display to fill the entire screen. This has the rather unfortunate knock-on effect of making the emulated Amiga display look incredibly ugly, and makes taking screenshots more or less pointless.

My previous resolution of 800x600 now effectively pointless, I've taken to using my monitor's native resolution of 1440x900, with Aspect Ratio Correction turned on. It's passable for lo-res games like Fury of the Furries, but hi-res stuff (such as, say, Workbench 1.3, or the CD32 boot screen) looks damned ugly, with distorted pixels and noticeable banding on the screen.

This new display quirk only took effect from WinUAE 2.3.3, and so far as I can tell there's no way to change the setting. Which is odd, because it more or less renders a lot of Display settings such as Line Mode and Centering more or less pointless (disabling or changing these settings has no visible effect on the display).

So what's going on? And how can I revert to the old display mode? I liked the old display mode.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amiga-stretched-00.png
Views:	705
Size:	8.6 KB
ID:	29526   Click image for larger version

Name:	amiga-stretched-01.png
Views:	194
Size:	81.9 KB
ID:	29527   Click image for larger version

Name:	amiga-stretched-02.png
Views:	212
Size:	28.9 KB
ID:	29528  
squirminator2k is offline  
Old 28 September 2011, 08:04   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,915
What was your last used version? Because this change was not introduced in 2.3.3.

Change Filter panel "Default" select box to "No scaling".
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 September 2011, 08:10   #3
squirminator2k
Dream17 / PortsCenter guy
squirminator2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 32
Posts: 225
Ah, that seems to have fixed it. Thanks, Toni!

I can't remember when I last updated WinUAE before 2.3.3 but I think it's safe to say I was using 2.3.2.
squirminator2k is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE display issues Roman0 support.WinUAE 4 18 April 2011 12:57
display problem! help please! Gordon support.Hardware 3 06 September 2009 22:09
Display problems ginge73 support.Hardware 8 20 July 2009 10:21
Best Display-settings. Predabot New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 12 March 2009 00:59
WinUAE 1.0 display issues _Steve_ support.WinUAE 2 11 July 2005 20:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06700 seconds with 15 queries