English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 September 2017, 21:41   #1
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 858
UAE wrapper to sell Amiga games on Steam or other stores

So had this idea that probably in the long term could be used to revitalize Amiga retro games development by having a source of funding beside Amiga market itself; using a UAE executable and AROS roms to wrap the game files and sell it on steam: games will look and feel retro to PC users and market is big enough to guarantee some ROI, however what are the technical and legal obstacles to overcome in order to make this possible?
saimon69 is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 16:47   #2
IridiumFX
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London
Posts: 12
I guess you should check the licenses and/or approach the respective owners. In Case of WinUAE, that's probably easier as there's a single author to contact. For AROS you'd have to check the license in order to verify whether or not you are allowed to use the AROS ROM in commercial scenarios.

As a personal opinion, anything that can make people aware of the Amiga, spreading the word (and in this case, the disk), would help the cause to onboard more potential users.

I also recognise that the wrapper could generate extra revenue for the developers wanting to go the extra effort to wrap/repackage/steamize their products.

Hope the project succeeds and you can let dev teams use it
IridiumFX is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 18:57   #3
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 669
WinUAE has more than 1 author. Tony did not create UAE (though he has massively extended it).
I believe AROS should not be a problem as it's based on the Mozilla license.

IANAL
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 19:29   #4
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 7,008
Ahem: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ndroid+develop
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 17 September 2017, 20:17   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,012
UAE license is practically impossible to change, early UAE had lots of developers.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 September 2017, 05:31   #6
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 858
Well, first of all i have no technical skills to do it, i hoped to inspire someone that do - and did not seen Galahad thread before - however is good to know the idea has been considered before and is an interesting read so far; just targets and final purpose are different because i would love to target the PC/steam market (and android is a good idea too, but PC is more handy) to repay the Amiga side of the development.

By the way,did that project progress?

Last edited by saimon69; 18 September 2017 at 05:32. Reason: punctualization
saimon69 is offline  
Old 21 September 2017, 00:30   #7
IridiumFX
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London
Posts: 12
this thread could be closed already as wishful thinking, I guess. Yet, for future reference, Toni, you'd have my gratitude if you could explain us according to the best of your knowledge, which steps are necessary to bundle WinUAE in a commercial product? in the end, that's what AmiKit and Amiga Forever are.
IridiumFX is offline  
Old 21 September 2017, 03:51   #8
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 400
It would still be a cool idea, I know there were Amiga games released on the iPhone with an emulation layer, I know it was with Uae4ALL.

Would it require the source code to be released for UAE?

I wonder how well it would work on iPhones these days, I stopped back in iPhone 4 days due to too many hoops with apple to jump through. PS: they also disabled my apple account

I did have an old Version of Winuae's core working but it was extremely slow back then for the iPhone.
Vairn is offline  
Old 24 September 2017, 14:16   #9
IridiumFX
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London
Posts: 12
I guess CPU and GPU are not an issue anymore. I was given the possibility to play with a iPhone8 (not x, nor plus). It's fast. Damn fast. Is it really faster than a core i5? I don't know. Maybe for specific workloads, probably not always.
Not exactly an Apple fan speaking, but I reckon the closed environment worked perfectly in order to optimize everything for a selection of devices only. I'd say they copied a page or two from Commodore's playbook here. The nice surprises was Xcode 9. I refuse to look at swift-4 but the ide is now actually useable (no, clion is still a mile ahead)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Vairn View Post
I did have an old Version of Winuae's core working but it was extremely slow back then for the iPhone.
IridiumFX is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fs-uae-wrapper gryf support.FS-UAE 2 12 January 2017 21:09
Steam and FS-UAE? wolverine4500 support.FS-UAE 9 23 August 2016 12:45
UAE XFD wrapper (beta) Toni Wilen Amiga scene 5 25 June 2012 00:02
sell some amiga games bastibs MarketPlace 2 11 April 2008 20:00
Any UK stores which sell Vulcanology? MethodGit Amiga scene 3 26 May 2004 23:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.91806 seconds with 15 queries