English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General > Coders. Releases

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 October 2018, 20:32   #321
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,197
Tested with rapture G4 450mhz, both 6r6 and r7: timedemo gives 26fps, so only fractionally slower than 900mhz G3.

PC 640x480 OpenGL on a GeForce 6800Ultra



Amiga 640x480 voodoo 3



Haven’t yet done a comparison of q3config to determine why the pc looks so much more vibrant
trixster is offline  
Old 25 October 2018, 22:10   #322
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 639
hardware TnL?
the PC version is more dynamic lighting looks like
they say it takes a 750FX at those speeds to beat a 7410 with Altivec
the 7410 is really the fastest clock for clock G4 the later boost clock speed by making the pipeline longer kinda like P4 did

Last edited by nexus; 25 October 2018 at 22:19.
nexus is offline  
Old 25 October 2018, 22:34   #323
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 476
Official 7. Just like last updload take care of r_primitive (1 or 0). vm_ all at "2".

Build with latest Hedeon beta mos2wos.
Attached Files
File Type: lha Q3_beta7r2_wos.lha (718.3 KB, 24 views)
Cowcat is offline  
Old 27 October 2018, 11:21   #324
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Official 7. Just like last updload take care of r_primitive (1 or 0). vm_ all at "2".

Build with latest Hedeon beta mos2wos.

Great I must rebuild my A4000 much faster for this software.
BULI is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 22:01   #325
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 476
As a test I uploaded here https://github.com/AmigaPorts/ioq3 a couple of warpos builds to try:

One fully compiled for 603e or G3 cpu's similar as those used in Sonnet hardware.
The other is self explanatory.

But besides choosing one of other, the test is to see if both work for non G4 hardware, and if a difference is noticed on same cpu.

But do not "com_altivec 1" on non G4.

Edit: Also the newest 68k build. Bear in mind that .so files are now .dll !!!

Last edited by Cowcat; 30 October 2018 at 22:44.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 31 October 2018, 15:22   #326
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,197
With the new builds and the beta powerpc.library that allows for more ppc memory I tried picmip 0 (high texture detail) again but it still slows to a crawl, ie 1 or 2 fps in busy large areas.

I guess either the voodoo3 does not have enough memory to accommodate the large textures without texture compression on, or there’s not enough bandwidth over the Mediator bus to move around such large textures. Voodoo 3 has 16mb ram but 2mb is reserved for pcidma.
trixster is offline  
Old 11 November 2018, 22:09   #327
Wrangler
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 253
Here's a deathmatch using the latest Q3 beta. Works great - thanks Cowcat!

[ Show youtube player ]
Wrangler is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 11:30   #328
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,197
I like your curtains
trixster is offline  
Old 12 November 2018, 15:37   #329
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 476
Some tips:

Just before playing check out on q3config.cfg that:

For Voodoo gfx: r_guardband "1" . Also disable "Marks On Walls" to get rid off black squared bug.

For all: cg_lagometer to "0" (not a real need to have a net debug drawing sucking frames).

Apart from gfx quality performance sets, I put there a "r_perspective_fast" directive just to see if it does something with real Amiga warp3d libraries (should be set before playing).


Newer upcoming version has my "famous" windowmode mouse handler + fixed minigl scissoring that made those ugly black bars on top on windowmode + upgraded some file/cvar issues that allows coming from a multiplayer mod to normal Q3 game without having to close the game.
Cowcat is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quake 2 WorkShop Cowcat Coders. General 165 22 September 2018 01:57
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 22:11
Quake Cosmos support.WinUAE 8 11 February 2007 16:54
Quake 2 DDNI request.Apps 2 06 December 2006 01:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07807 seconds with 15 queries