English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 October 2009, 16:55   #1
Kitty
Stay a while,Stay FOREVER

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Age: 31
Posts: 1,376
Question CD32 Video Skipping

Ive noticed even when I have WinUAE set on high priority in Settings, some video scenes on CD32 games still tend to skip (James Pond 3 & Zool noticeably), the actual gameplay runs fine though, anyone know if this is a normal or is it a problem that can be fixed?
Kitty is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 04 October 2009, 18:22   #2
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 40
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
you need this
CD32 - Extended Kickstart
as the supporting ROM

Barely setting the main ROM to CD32 - Kickstart 3.1 is not enough

I myself wouldn't bother playing James Pond 3 from the CD32, as it doesn't bear any difference at all with the floppy versions.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 20:24   #3
Kitty
Stay a while,Stay FOREVER

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Age: 31
Posts: 1,376
Quote:
you need this
CD32 - Extended Kickstart
as the supporting ROM
I have that already I dont think CD32 emulation will work without it anyway.
Kitty is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 20:25   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 13,407
2.0 betas have rewritten CD32 cd emulation but it still isn't 100% smooth.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 21:07   #5
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 40
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Zool is smooth here, but host PC may be a tad faster than kitty's.

Here's my config, as closely resembling the CD32 QuickConfig one as possible.
Try to view it, and analyze how it differs from yours (provided you have created a custom one)
in plain text before loading it.

EDIT :
config removed

Last edited by NewDeli; 04 October 2009 at 21:54.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 21:35   #6
Kitty
Stay a while,Stay FOREVER

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Age: 31
Posts: 1,376
Hmm lol, I couldnt get that config file to work at all xD

My pc is an AMD64 2000 MHz with 1.5GB of ram and a Geforce 7600 GS, yeah its getting dated now could do with a Dual Core I guess ..

The Video skipping isnt hugely noticable but as Toni said if its not 100% smooth then that may be the reason. The actual gameplay is fine.
Kitty is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 21:38   #7
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Hmm lol, I couldnt get that config file to work at all xD
Same here and I actually have no idea why. I changed ASPI back to SPTI and adjusted the ROMs, but the game won't boot. It boots with the quickstart, but has 'skippy' sound in the vid
TCD is online now  
Old 04 October 2009, 21:38   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 13,407
Please, just stop posting configurations for non-special configurations. You are not helping, actually you are making my job much more difficult. Just stop it.

There is big difference between trying to FIND the problem and jumping to conclusions instantly.

1. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get smooth CD32 animations with old WinUAE versions.
2. your PC is not same as mine or OPs.
3. I'll ignore any non-quickstart config instantly
4. there can be problems with future versions
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 21:51   #9
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 3,552
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Well said toni

Perhapse we could have a thread with the basic configs listed with what the options do
as seems to me lots of ppl come to winuae without knowing the specs of the machine they are trying to emulate.
Some times I think you should start all ya posts with try it with default A500 config hehehe
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 21:59   #10
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 40
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Try to reproduce your animation problem with Kid Chaos, it bears also a fast multi-directional scroller.

@Toni
All I am trying to illustrate is that INMHO kitty should have one config for each situation by now.
To me nothing can replace a set comprised of a custom CD32, WB, and A500 one,
once you get familiar with QuickConfig's predefined settings.

I'll "deal" config's with OPs in private, no worries
(except when posting one is absolutely necessary for my own issues)

Last edited by NewDeli; 04 October 2009 at 22:43.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 31 October 2009, 01:37   #11
Kitty
Stay a while,Stay FOREVER

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Age: 31
Posts: 1,376
CD32 MPEG Cartridge ROM rev 40.30 (256k)

I cant find that anywhere, but would that be the reason for video emulation not quite 100% yet due to real Amiga CD32's needing that cartridge to play the video correctly? Or am I just grasping straws here?
Kitty is offline  
Old 31 October 2009, 01:40   #12
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 23,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
I havnt found that yet, but would that help the problem at all?
Nope. It's only for playing Video-CDs.
TCD is online now  
Old 27 December 2009, 16:34   #13
sayasupacrew
Registered User
sayasupacrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: noirmoutier france
Age: 44
Posts: 18
i need a 40.30 rom files for my Full motion card, for my cd 32 video game. Can you send me

thanks you

Last edited by sayasupacrew; 03 October 2010 at 13:04.
sayasupacrew is offline  
Old 29 December 2009, 19:14   #14
Kitty
Stay a while,Stay FOREVER

Kitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Age: 31
Posts: 1,376
Google? First rule of fight club do not request kick roms!
Kitty is offline  
Old 29 December 2009, 19:24   #15
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 40
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Never mind Kitty ! Thomas is not a rule breaker but a lost soul from the French MorphOS scene. I will check on IRC if someone hasn't sent him the file yet.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 29 December 2009, 19:33   #16
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 8,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
Google? First rule of fight club do not request kick roms!
Roms for a FMV expansion, not Kickstart roms. I guess there should be no problems with it.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 29 December 2009, 19:53   #17
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 40
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli Send a message via Skype™ to NewDeli
Could someone put this (these) rom(s) in the zone, then ? Then I shall mail them as attachments.
May I ask is it for adding video playback capabilities to the CD32 ? Is it a feature supported by WinUAE ?

(Feel free to split the thread Toni)
NewDeli is offline  
Old 29 December 2009, 19:56   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 8,839
For VCD and CD-I Video. Some games like Cannon Fodder have MPEG intros too. Currently not supported in WinUAE.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 29 December 2009, 20:24   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 13,407
(I don't know what to split, some other moderator can do it)

afaik Cannon Fodder is the only game..

Technically all information required to emulate MPEG cartridge is now known (mpeg and audio chip documentation, schematics, address space, etc..) but it won't happen quickly because it is the most complex pointless feature.

(technically ROM contains KS stuff because there is updated cd.device but I don't really care)
Toni Wilen is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.5.0 mouse capturing/pointer skipping issue mark_k support.WinUAE 25 06 December 2012 18:15
CD32 - noisy video endre1952 support.Hardware 3 07 January 2012 19:40
CD32 video skipping Djay support.WinUAE 4 04 October 2010 14:09
Systematic skipping of all interesting content? :) Photon AMR suggestions and feedback 7 01 September 2009 17:05
Video Creator CD32 contents..... Rochabian Amiga scene 0 01 November 2006 19:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17477 seconds with 11 queries