English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 October 2020, 01:40   #1
Planetinfinity
Registered User

Planetinfinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Mannheim
Age: 44
Posts: 90
MagicWB vs. BestWB vs. BetterWB vs. MagicWB

Hello,

does anyone know whether their is a comparison list of the different workbenchs with it feature and the information what the workbench addon is mostly used for ?

BR Planetinfinity
Planetinfinity is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 13:24   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
MagicWB is just a set of icons and patterns.

BetterWB is a set of programs, utilities, datatypes etc. for WB 3.1.

BestWB is BetterWB for WB 3.1.4.
thomas is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 21:40   #3
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 6,589
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
You forgot Classic Workbench, although not updated for a while offers a fantastic range of options for all manor of Amigas:

http://classicwb.abime.net/

Also AmigaSYS 4:

https://www.amigasys.net/download.html

Haven't used the latter in some time but it was a good alternative.

BetterWB/BestWB are a much more trimmed down version, keeping it simple and something for you build on.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 22:02   #4
Planetinfinity
Registered User

Planetinfinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Mannheim
Age: 44
Posts: 90
I look at the website of amigasys and noticed this picture:

https://www.amigasys.net/amigasys4_04.jpg

Does this really mean that the A1200 with wb 3.1 is able for such a good graphic (colors) ?
Planetinfinity is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 22:08   #5
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,694
With a graphic card, yes. WB using AGA is usually limited to 256 colours. Needs some further software too.
daxb is online now  
Old 04 October 2020, 22:40   #6
Planetinfinity
Registered User

Planetinfinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Mannheim
Age: 44
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
MagicWB is just a set of icons and patterns.
BetterWB is a set of programs, utilities, datatypes etc. for WB 3.1.
BestWB is BetterWB for WB 3.1.4.
Does this mean that BetterWB is not optimal for WB 3.1.4 ?
Planetinfinity is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 22:43   #7
Planetinfinity
Registered User

Planetinfinity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Mannheim
Age: 44
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
With a graphic card, yes. WB using AGA is usually limited to 256 colours. Needs some further software too.
Ok, this means I need to buy a Graphic Card. Does a graphic card exist that does not have the need to be plugged in to the extension slow because I already use a turbo card from individual computers in it.
Planetinfinity is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 22:49   #8
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 6,589
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Not for the A1200 unless you have a Vampire with built-in HDMI or the Blizzard Vision that only connects to the Blizzard PPC. Or you would need to put the Amiga in a Tower and use a Mediator PCI and PCI graphics card.

You can get an Indivision AGA which will let you use a higher resolution such as 1024x768 but does not improve the colours.

It looks like AmigaSys has come a long way since I used it and more suited to emulation or very high end Amiga
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 04 October 2020, 23:14   #9
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planetinfinity View Post
I look at the website of amigasys and noticed this picture:

https://www.amigasys.net/amigasys4_04.jpg

Does this really mean that the A1200 with wb 3.1 is able for such a good graphic (colors) ?

On the Italian Sites I created a Thread with all the OS3 RTG (with graphics card), in the link you can see the screensho of all the Distributions, I think I didn't miss anyone.

All the Distributions you will see are installed on my WinUAE, some of them I had on my A4000/060 that has been sleeping for 30 years in the garage.


https://www.amigapage.it/index.php?o...020-1-4&page=1
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 05 October 2020, 23:45   #10
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planetinfinity View Post
Does this mean that BetterWB is not optimal for WB 3.1.4 ?
Yes. Some parts of BetterWB are already contained in 3.1.4.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MagicWB registered? Solderbro support.Apps 13 21 October 2020 19:16
magicwb questions honx support.Apps 60 05 February 2018 10:24
MagicWB 2.1p Registered Stig request.Apps 4 02 February 2014 22:33
MagicWB k4lmp support.Apps 1 16 November 2012 12:48
The Old MagicWB 2.0 maxmouse request.Apps 2 19 March 2004 20:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09441 seconds with 13 queries