English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2020, 10:45   #1
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
Installing WB to CF Card

I tried to install the workbench to a CF Card via WinUAE. I tried the hdinstll tool and changed the device to UAEHF.device. It will be found then but after I partioned and try to save the config I gewet Error 28 from The Hdinstall tool.

Does someone know hoe to get it working?
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 10:53   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,282
See video:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WZz...UOzPEnfkJ/view
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 11:13   #3
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
Tried it and still no work. Now I get the error tnot a drive type file when I try to delete the drive types. When I try to create a new one I get the error the drive size.
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 11:32   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,282
You have added the CF as "Add Hard Drive" and tick "Lock".
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 12:12   #5
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
Yes that is what I made. I still get the error 28 when I try to save the config for the CF card by the HDToolbox

Last edited by Drake008@; 26 August 2020 at 12:20.
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 13:03   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,282
It could be an unsupported CF or Windows protection !

As a test try with a Pedrive to see if you have the same error
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 14:55   #7
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
Even woithj a PEndrive I get the Error 28
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 15:03   #8
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 6,591
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
You might need to clean the Disk with Diskpart in a Command Prompt before you can use it with WinUAE.

Alternatively partition and format your CF card in a real Amiga with a Workbench 3.1 Install Disk then move it to WinUAE to do the install of Workbench and your files to the ready prepared CF card.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 15:10   #9
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
MAde this, too. An original AMiga is not here ATM. I'M looking for a A500plus with 2 Megs of Chipram Kick 3.1 and an ACA500plus
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 16:38   #10
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake008@ View Post
Even woithj a PEndrive I get the Error 28
Strange, I think you're missing some steps, I've tested several PenDrives and memoryCards and never had that kind of error.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 17:46   #11
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
I think so, too. That I make any mistake here. But I have seen different videos now and they still make the same thing and it works by them.

I'll always get drive sdize error when I try to "find the drive data" in the toolbox or when I try to save this error 28.

Last edited by Drake008@; 26 August 2020 at 18:26.
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 26 August 2020, 20:00   #12
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,282
Try an O3.9 BB4 based system with the latest HDToolbox.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 September 2020, 18:38   #13
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
Got an OS 3.9 form my friend. Tried it and still no success.
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 01 September 2020, 21:21   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,336
Does it work if you create identically sized HDF image? (use "dynamic" option to keep physical size small). If it does work, then the problem is either CF card or adapter or something prevents write access to physical drives.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 02 September 2020, 11:18   #15
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
With HDF File I'll get the dh0:NDOS Icon at once. That Icon isn'T there with my CF card/USB Stick
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 02 September 2020, 20:59   #16
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drake008@ View Post
With HDF File I'll get the dh0:NDOS Icon at once.
Click on Full Disk/RDB Mode before you start.
thomas is online now  
Old 03 September 2020, 14:30   #17
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
Well it works with HDF Files. I also tried now 4 USB Stick and 3 CF Cards and everytime I get these mysterious errors.
Drake008@ is offline  
Old 04 September 2020, 17:23   #18
Drake008@
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 108
Got two new CF Card reader and still it gets me Error 28 on write
Drake008@ is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picasso IV installing on A4000 with CF card jman support.Hardware 5 11 October 2011 13:00
Installing ClassicWB on a CF card Akiko project.ClassicWB 9 03 April 2011 11:40
Installing SFS on 8G CF Card using A1200 with 3.1 OS crazyegg support.Apps 16 24 February 2009 21:40
Installing onto a CF Card sbeehre project.ClassicWB 5 25 March 2008 07:10
Installing Classic WB onto a CF Card ami_junkie support.Hardware 0 06 March 2008 09:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10330 seconds with 13 queries