English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 October 2020, 14:51   #21
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnought View Post
Hoarding: another reason why the prices are high
Yeah, I thought "how selfish is this guy?" when I read that.
Foebane is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 15:49   #22
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 226
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelord View Post
You might want to replace the power supply
Not cheap, but you can get on eBay a replacement power supply called the Amiga Duo PSU for about 62 euros. It's better than the original for three reasons mainly, electronic parts are new (better isolation), it consumes 20% less juice, it's modular (it can power up an Amiga 500 but also a CD32 or A1200). If you get one, it's up to you to choose two cables among the three available e.q. CD32 and A1200.
SquawkBox is online now  
Old 23 October 2020, 16:06   #23
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquawkBox View Post
Not cheap, but you can get on eBay a replacement power supply called the Amiga Duo PSU for about 62 euros. It's better than the original for three reasons mainly, electronic parts are new (better isolation), it consumes 20% less juice, it's modular (it can power up an Amiga 500 but also a CD32 or A1200). If you get one, it's up to you to choose two cables among the three available e.q. CD32 and A1200.
Aaahh, I remember the Amiga "brick", a simple and elegant solution when all of the innovative Amiga hardware was crammed into the A500 unit itself, leaving only room for a floppy drive. Same for the A520, the modulator that allowed connection to an ordinary TV, but the latter was optional.

Certainly much better than the Atari 520 ST, where the power supply AND modulator were fully integrated with room to spare. Typical for an inferior machine.
Foebane is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 16:54   #24
crazyc
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gravesend - UK
Posts: 583
I still think the ideal one stop system is an a1200 with CF/SD hard drive and a blizzard 1230 MK4. To save funds given silly pricing currently swap the Blizzard for an 8mb RAM card (of which there are some reasonably priced ones around).
crazyc is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 18:42   #25
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 42
Posts: 3,277
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreadnought View Post
Hoarding: another reason why the prices are high
I reached my peak at 12. Could never justify owning so many and hardly using them

Thankfully gave some away/sold others for not much money (don't have any now).

See Amiga prices approaching their original retail prices in some cases (if not a little more for rarer models such as the 3000/4000T etc).
I would only ever pay that much for a NOS unit; over the years used examples tend to be a mixed bag with what you get. The occasional eBay finds where you see little used Amiga's with all original paper work/non-modified are the best.
Paul_s is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 19:51   #26
d4rk3lf
Registered User

d4rk3lf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 918
I personally own A500, and Aca 500+ and I am very, very happy with it.

But I suggest that even better option for you is this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
... is the A1200. Coupled with a bit of RAM and WHDLoad it can do almost everything.
I don't like Gotek solution.
Where is the fun without Workbench?
With Gotek, you're turning your powerful Amiga into a stupid console.
You might want to instal something on Workbench, play with it, try some apps, draw, compose, model... etc.

So, again:
- A1200, with some additional Ram, WhdLoad - simply the best for me
- A500 with Aca 500+. Whdload

Both are great for further expansions if you ever need it (030/040/060, Warps, Vampires, Terrible Fire... etc).
d4rk3lf is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 20:15   #27
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
I reached my peak at 12. Could never justify owning so many and hardly using them
The guy said he currently had 31 Amigas. Where the heck does he store them? In boxes in a garage somewhere?

Here's a true story: At one point, after I had just gotten my PC, I decided to sell my A500, but I couldn't keep it in my room, so it ended up being put on display in our draughty, damp extension at the back of the house. A prospective family came to check it out, and because of all the cold and condensation, for the first time, the floppy drive failed to function so I couldn't demonstrate it, and what's more, it ruined one of my game floppies that I put into it. So the family left, disappointed. However, I convinced my mother (whose bright idea the location was) to have it in my room where the PC was, nice, dry and warm, and it worked fine again, and I was able to sell it to a nice man and his young daughter.

My point is, the guy is hoarding Amigas, and I only hope he is storing in at least acceptable condition.
Foebane is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 21:12   #28
Ami
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Poland
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
How expensive is real hardware ?
I've recently spent about 200€ for A500 with necessary accessories. You could always sell it in case of disappointment.
Ami is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 21:34   #29
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,512
There are value-for-money Amiga's to be had, but they have moved from eBay to other sales channels. Even Facebook marketplace is getting expensive. Try the local selling forums for your area, free ads in papers, car boot sales. You can still get Amiga 500s for under £50.

Personally, the A500/A1200 is "too big" today unless you love your nostalgia. The A600/CD32 are much better. MiSTer is a bit expensive but a Raspberry Pi 4 is good value.
alexh is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 23:57   #30
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,921
True MiSTer is expensive as an Amiga alternative until you factor in that you are also getting a C64, 486, Genesis etc etc


[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by NovaCoder; 24 October 2020 at 03:17.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 00:12   #31
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 32
Posts: 1,306
I have been very lucky in being able to purchase all the Amigas I wanted back when they were cheap enough. Pretty sure I couldn't justify today's prices for the limited time I can dedicate to them these days.

The highest I have ever paid for an Amiga was 250 EUR around 7 years ago for an A4000/040 with a Picasso II and a Microvitec M1438 monitor. While I don't have the Picasso II anymore (kinda felt restricting) the A4000 is still my most used Amiga and the M1438 sees daily use.

My most recent purchases were around 2 years ago, paid 30€ for a broken A2000 and 30-40€ for a working A500. I feel that is a fair price for an A500. Wouldn't spend more than 60-80 on an A600 and around 120 max for a 1200. But I guess those prices are long gone

Haven't managed to purchase a CD32 at all because of the crazy prices. Oh well, my A4000 can kinda work like one so no big deal.

These days I would just purchase a MiSTer - screw the profiteers trying to get rich on our hobby!

Anyway yeah, the current market situation is because of scalpers and hoarders I always try to keep only one piece per model of whatever I purchase... because, we must keep the retro flowing
jbenam is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 10:41   #32
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,129
Just want to thanks ALL for the suggests given
chip is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 12:19   #33
Pixelfill
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Preston
Posts: 74
I've been on the lookout for an A500 for some time, mainly just confining my searches to ebay and amibay.

For me the biggest problem is that those that genuinely know nothing about their worth follow the market, but haven't the technical knowledge to know the subtle differences, For A500+ this represents too much of a risk, given the battery situation. For A500 they are typically priced too high.

At the start of the year I reckon you could easily have picked up a decent A500 late revision with some additional goodies for about 70-80 quid, nowadays they all seem risky investments, and for considerably more money somewhat north of £100. if you're willing to take a risk on "spares / repairs" for those that couldn't be bothered to try and turn them on then you might pick something up for a reasonable price, but even those are high for potential scrap.
Pixelfill is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 15:20   #34
Avrovulcan
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Craghead, Stanley, Durham
Posts: 55
I managed to find an A500 in a spares repair condition on Ebay for about £60 about a year ago. Works fine, no issues. My CD32 and A1200 went missing from my grandmother's house 17 years ago. Prices seem to be going up and up. Especially on those units where the vendor 'claims' it's been recapped.
I probably would be prepared to pay £300-400 for one, especially as already stated, that they will become rarer and rarer as the years go by. As for a 3000 or 4000, I'm not going to waste my time looking. I have a 4000 replica set of PCB's, so I'll build my own as time and money allows. I do keep looking at the local classified ad's just in case something turns up.

Kind regards
Andy
Avrovulcan is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 00:09   #35
4pLaY
www.resistance.no
4pLaY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sandnes/Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
The guy said he currently had 31 Amigas. Where the heck does he store them? In boxes in a garage somewhere?
What he did say was "Since then I have purchased over 125 Amigas and I am the very proud owner of 31 Amiga 1200s"

I seem to remember seeing "scuzz" having a webpage dedicated to his collection, years ago. If it is the same guy, he has a lot more then 31 Amigas in total.
4pLaY is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 00:15   #36
MrClump
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Torquay
Posts: 29
I would add don't buy hardware if it stretches you to the limit financially just to get up and running. These are old machines that are always waiting for new and unusual ways to fail, sometimes in costly ways!

But if can accept you will probably be having to buy a new floppy drive or other such part that's failed, and can control your impulses to buy various gadgets and gizmos to enhance the experience (I can't), go for it. Now where is that eBay listing for my new PSU?
MrClump is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 00:23   #37
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,026
Here are some prices I paid for my Amigas:
1992 A1000 with few games and 2MB RAM $250
1994 A2000 with Turbo Silver sw, kbrd, mouse, probably some other stuff, $400
1996 A1200 with Blizzard IV complete in box, $250. I got lucky with this one, even back then.
1997 or 1998 A4000, like new in box $600
2005+ A600, just PC in Goodwill $40, needs new case.

New Amigas back then were $700+ for A500 and much more for big box Amigas, and that's in 1980s 1990s money.
So, as long as you don't pay more for them, then you should be fine.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 01:45   #38
BigFairy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 80
lately I have been bashing my A500 with just a floppy emulator.

Its the feeling of sitting in front of that large "machine" coupled to a crt tv/monitor that is whats best.
BigFairy is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 06:31   #39
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Aaahh, I remember the Amiga "brick", a simple and elegant solution when all of the innovative Amiga hardware was crammed into the A500 unit itself, leaving only room for a floppy drive. Same for the A520, the modulator that allowed connection to an ordinary TV, but the latter was optional.

Certainly much better than the Atari 520 ST, where the power supply AND modulator were fully integrated with room to spare. Typical for an inferior machine.
I’m not sure I follow your logic - the Archimedes A3000 managed to have it’s power supply and modulator mounted internally - was that an inferior machine to the A500?

The Falcon had its power supply and modulator mounted internally - was that an inferior machine to the A1200?
trixster is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 12:13   #40
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
I’m not sure I follow your logic - the Archimedes A3000 managed to have it’s power supply and modulator mounted internally - was that an inferior machine to the A500?

The Falcon had its power supply and modulator mounted internally - was that an inferior machine to the A1200?
I don't know about those two, I'm sure they didn't have room to spare.
Foebane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netplay on real Amiga hardware? lesta_smsc support.Hardware 3 04 December 2018 09:03
Amigans! REAL HARDWARE or EMULATION? Foebane Amiga scene 65 28 April 2018 02:53
commodore first demos: h.a.m on real hardware honx support.Demos 5 12 November 2017 09:35
ALWAYS test your code on real hardware!! h0ffman Coders. General 32 16 July 2015 22:02
Most expensive, but utterly useless piece of Amiga hardware you bought DrF Retrogaming General Discussion 31 01 October 2007 14:52

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10337 seconds with 16 queries