English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 October 2020, 11:19   #1
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,762
Bush Buck - Sound Issues?

Hmmm, the .ADF and .IPF of this game has glitchy music.

Tried every config imaginable but the problem persists.

Anyone know how to fix?
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 18:48   #2
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,608
Are you referring to the German or English version of this game?
DrBong is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 18:52   #3
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 364
Bush Buck! I used to play this game all the time but completely forgot about it until now

DamienD: I'll look into it when I have a bit of time, but likely you'll figure it out way before I even start. You always do
Radertified is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 20:40   #4
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
Are you referring to the German or English version of this game?
Now why would an only English speaker care two hoots about the German version?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radertified View Post
DamienD: I'll look into it when I have a bit of time, but likely you'll figure it out way before I even start. You always do
Nope, haven't figured it out... included in my collection as is for now.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 20:59   #5
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,608
@Double D
Well, most of the thread is about the German version and you tend to test all the different versions of a game in TOSEC to see which one works best and report any bad versions. I was curious to know if both language versions have the glitchy music. If not, then perhaps you could compare and contrast (read: fix) the English version using the German version....assuming it's not an emulation or config. problem.

Last edited by DrBong; 19 October 2020 at 21:06. Reason: Added sentence!
DrBong is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 21:13   #6
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,762
Ooops... now the you mention it, yes andreas adjusted his first post to say "German".

The original thread title doesn't display that though.

This was the only thread, so posted my comments.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 21:30   #7
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
@Double D
Well, most of the thread is about the German version and you tend to test all the different versions of a game in TOSEC to see which one works best and report any bad versions. I was curious to know if both language versions have the glitchy music. If not, then perhaps you could compare and contrast (read: fix) the English version using the German version....assuming it's not an emulation or config. problem.
Issue occurs with the German .IPF also.

It could be an emulation issue; though doubt it...

Maybe you can test on one of your real A500s?
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 03:50   #8
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 364
I think this is one of those times where it needs to be tested on a real machine.

I assume by glitchy music, you're talking about the title screen music where it sounds like there's background glitchiness? ie. You can still hear the main tune but it sounds like it's being interrupted by glitchiness.

If so, I want to say that happened on a real Amiga too. I haven't played it in decades but that glitchiness seems familiar to me. It might be my shockingly bad memory playing tricks on me though.
Radertified is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 13:09   #9
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,762
Yes, that's the one.

As mentioned, I don't think it's a WinUAE issue.

It's probably a game problem... other games have had similar issues: "The Faery Tale Adventure" (which ross fixed) and "Spaceport".

Last edited by DamienD; 20 October 2020 at 15:11.
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 22:57   #10
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Hmmm, the .ADF and .IPF of this game has glitchy music.

Tried every config imaginable but the problem persists.

Anyone know how to fix?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
As mentioned, I don't think it's a WinUAE issue.

It's probably a game problem... other games have had similar issues: "The Faery Tale Adventure" (which ross fixed) and "Spaceport".
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Issue occurs with the German .IPF also.

It could be an emulation issue; though doubt it...

Maybe you can test on one of your real A500s?
My original copy of the English version tested fine on my A500/1MB machine, without any musical glitches. The two ditties (opening sequence, outro on quitting the game) were fairly short (quite familiar too, but I can't pinpoint the musical "inspirations" quite yet) and looped repetitively. The opening sequence music had a low drum beat that was distinctive from the other instruments used, but there was no glitchiness or distortion on my A500.

The only thing I found problematic about the game on the A500 was how it was slow to respond to keypresses and was generally sluggish in operation (probably coz it's an unoptimised PC port). Maybe someone else can test on real hardware to see if they find the same results....
DrBong is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 23:26   #11
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,762
<click>

Jump to 19 seconds in.

Last edited by DamienD; 21 October 2020 at 00:20.
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 19:02   #12
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,608
@DD
After testing fine on my A500/1MB set-up, I thought it might be an idea to test the English version original on my A1200/030 (with a little degrading from the early startup menu). Not only were the graphics garbled, but the sound in the opening sequence was distorted exactly as recorded under emulation by you.

I'm guessing if you've tried every config. under the sun together with multiple versions of the English and German original/cracked versions of the game, then it's likely an emulation bug....perhaps resulting from something weird going on with the music player routines used by the game. A quick look at some of the game files in a hex editor suggests that the coders have left in some redundant/unoptimised stuff from the lead PC version that it was converted from, so could be that some ugly hacks were used in adapting the PC code to the Amiga.

Toni would be better-placed, though, to comment on whether anything in the game code is potentially causing the glitchy music observed under emulation. Just a pity there isn't a WHDLoad version to test, particularly seeing that the patchers often provide a bit of a rundown in the readme on the fixes applied and any bothersome or glaring flaws in the game code.

Last edited by DrBong; 23 October 2020 at 21:49. Reason: Added/fixed sentence!
DrBong is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 19:42   #13
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 3,254
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ooops... now the you mention it, yes andreas adjusted his first post to say "German".

The original thread title doesn't display that though.
It does now. Do you want a thread split (with Bush Buck (ENGLISH) as a title)?
lilalurl is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 21:05   #14
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
After testing fine on my A500/1MB set-up
Knowing it works fine on a real Amiga and it's an emulation issue is great to know. When I get some time, I'll play around with settings to see what I can come up with.

Toni is of course welcome to chime in here too in case it's an emulation bug rather than a config issue.
Radertified is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 22:09   #15
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilalurl View Post
It does now. Do you want a thread split (with Bush Buck (ENGLISH) as a title)?
If you could move everything from post #7 onwards into a new thread called "Bush Buck - Sound Issues?" under the "support.Games" section; that would be great
DamienD is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 17:22   #16
lilalurl
Global Moderator
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 41
Posts: 3,254
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Done.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 17:43   #17
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 7,862
I'm not near an Amiga right now, but that sounds like a couplr of sound channels are being activated that shouldn't be and are playing whatever those channels were setup to play before.

The music just sounds like a big sample and maybe only 2 sound channels are supposed to be active.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 24 October 2020, 17:58   #18
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,608
I think you may be right Phill. The two ditties in the game are certainly on the short side and are looped ad nauseum. Interesting that UnExotica only has rips of the sound FX....wonder what happened to rips of the game's two music ditties??!!

https://www.exotica.org.uk/wiki/Bush_Buck
DrBong is offline  
Old 25 October 2020, 02:19   #19
Radertified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: -
Posts: 364
Like DamienD, I can't figure out a working config. I've tried a myriad of configs and failed.
Radertified is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound issues ItsTheSmell support.Hardware 27 06 July 2018 16:03
Sound and other issues bernd roesch support.WinUAE 9 09 May 2018 20:12
Sound issues? thermalthong support.Hardware 18 02 November 2012 19:14
A1200 sound issues arnljot support.Hardware 5 06 February 2008 14:16
REQ: Bush Buck (GERMAN) andreas request.Old Rare Games 5 01 May 2006 02:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12400 seconds with 15 queries