English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2020, 20:00   #1
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,712
Heretic & Hexen - crashes in v4.5.0 betas

Heya guys,

I'm really at a loss with this one, have spent many hours trying to find a solution, and have now exhausted all avenues

Heretic & Hexen will crash 100% of the time in the latest WinUAE v4.5.0 betas.

It's definitely JIT related; as without all is ok... but the game runs way too slow / jerky so it's not really an option to switch this off.

Also the Aminet version runs fine, but this an earlier version, is missing the startup loading screen and MIDI music in game...

Here's the facts:
  • WinUAE 4.3.0; the game runs rock solid and never crashes.
  • WinUAE 4.4.0; the game started crashing, messed around with JIT settings and got it stable again.
  • WinUAE 4.5.0 betas; the game will crash 100% of the time. It used to crash usually within the first 10-15 seconds of play but by messing again with JIT settings ("indirect" etc.), it now crashes very soon after SoundFX kick in i.e. you can hear your punch noise etc.
Besides being changes that have occured with JIT between WinUAE versions; I do feel that possibly it has something to do with the library files uses for MIDI music / SoundFX... but probably not.

I have found 2 x different versions of "doomsound.library" and 2 x different versions of "hereticsound.library".

I've tried all combinations of both, but all still crash in the WinUAE 4.5.0 betas.

I've also even upgraded the "HEXEN.WAD" from "1.0" --> "1.1"; no difference.

Code:
ORIGINAL CD

	(doomsound.library)		= 	14352

	(hereticsound.library)		=	14488


========================


DOOMSOUND.LIBRARY

Doom & DoomSnd373 			= 	13664	
						
DoomSnd372 & Spear & Wolfenstein	= 	14352
						

=========================


HERETIC.LIBRARY

Heretic - Aminet 			=	14468


=========================


COMBOS TO TRY v1.0 WAD


- Original: 	BREAKS 
Doom		14352
Heretic		14488


-1: 		BREAKS
Doom		14352
Heretic		14468


-2: 		BREAKS
Doom		13664
Heretic		14488


-3: 		BREAKS
Doom		13664
Heretic		14468


========================


COMBOS TO TRY v1.1 WAD


- Original: 	BREAKS
Doom		14352
Heretic		14488


-1: 		BREAKS
Doom		14352
Heretic		14468


-2: 		BREAKS
Doom		13664
Heretic		14488


-3: 		BREAKS
Doom		13664
Heretic		14468
Does anyone know of any other sized "doomsound.library" and "hereticsound.library" I can try please?

Also, if anyone wants to test / see if they can work this out then I will provide the configuration and .HDF.
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 20:24   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,269
Damiano, Now I don't know which engines you use, i think it is a problem with the PAL and maybe also Picasso IV (I have to check, before there were problems).

With With 4.5.0 beta 6 - UAE Zorro III + JIT Heretic & Hexen Graphics Card both PAL and SDL version are very fast, see video.

http://eab.abime.net/zone/Test-Heret...26%20Hexen.avi

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 20 October 2020 at 20:35.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 20:53   #3
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Damiano, Now I don't know which engines you use, i think it is a problem with the PAL and maybe also Picasso IV (I have to check, before there were problems).

With With 4.5.0 beta 6 - UAE Zorro III + JIT Heretic & Hexen Graphics Card both PAL and SDL version are very fast, see video.

http://eab.abime.net/zone/Test-Heret...26%20Hexen.avi
I don't use Picasso IV; I'm using the free version on Aminet: Picasso96-2_1.e

Also, none of what you say helps with the fact that it worked rock solid on v4.3.0 and v4.4.0 (with adjusted configuration though).

I'm also not using a PAL screen; I'm using "UAE 320x200 8 Bit".

Finally I don't use SDL or GL; I'm running this game on a standard Workbnech 3.1 install.

Last edited by DamienD; 20 October 2020 at 21:07.
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 21:59   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,317
I'd recommend to ignore any beta JIT issues when using programs that are not worth the trouble (=large and "alien" programs) to debug until specifically mentioned that JIT is again safe to use. Aranym merge included some weird behavior in some situations and I haven't debugged it yet (as I said in changelogs already)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 22:06   #5
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I don't use Picasso IV; I'm using the free version on Aminet: Picasso96-2_1.e
"Picasso96-2_1.e" I use them too, they are only the Drivers you need for both Picasso IV Video Card and UAE Zorro III.

For games I suggest you to use "UAE Zorro III" much more compatible than Picasso IV, JIT works well, moreover the 32Bit offered by "UAE Zorro III" guarantees you always perfect colors in games.

If you use "UAE 320x200 8 Bit" then you are using "UAE Zorro III".
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 23:10   #6
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,712
Carlo,

You're really not helping here and going way off tangent...

I know I'm using "UAE Zorro III".

If you want to see my configuration then:

Code:
config_description=
config_hardware=true
config_host=true
config_version=1.0.0
config_hardware_path=
config_host_path=
win32.rom_path=./
win32.floppy_path=./
win32.hardfile_path=./
win32.middle_mouse=false
win32.logfile=false
win32.map_drives=false
win32.serial_port=none
win32.parallel_port=none
win32.active_priority=1
win32.inactive_priority=0
win32.inactive_nosound=false
win32.inactive_pause=false
win32.iconified_priority=-2
win32.iconified_nosound=true
win32.iconified_pause=true
win32.ctrl_f11_is_quit=true
win32.rtg_match_depth=false
win32.rtg_scale_aspect_ratio=0:0
win32.midiout_device=-1
win32.midiin_device=-1
win32.midiout_device_name=default
win32.no_overlay=false
win32.aspi=false
win32.soundcard=0
win32.cpu_idle=0
win32.notaskbarbutton=false
win32.always_on_top=false
win32.no_recyclebin=false
use_gui=yes
use_debugger=false
kickstart_rom_file=.\ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A1200) rev 40.68 (512k).rom
kickstart_ext_rom_file=
flash_file=
cart_file=
kickshifter=false
floppy0=
floppy0type=0
floppy0sound=0
floppy1=
floppy1type=-1
floppy1sound=0
floppy2=
floppy2type=-1
floppy2sound=0
floppy3=
floppy3type=-1
floppy3sound=0
nr_floppies=1
floppy_speed=100
floppy_volume=33
parallel_on_demand=false
serial_on_demand=false
serial_hardware_ctsrts=true
serial_direct=false
scsi=false
sound_output=exact
sound_bits=16
sound_channels=stereo
sound_stereo_separation=7
sound_stereo_mixing_delay=0
sound_max_buff=16384
sound_frequency=44100
sound_interpol=none
sound_adjust=0
sound_filter=emulated
sound_volume=0
comp_trustbyte=indirect
comp_trustword=indirect
comp_trustlong=indirect
comp_trustnaddr=indirect
comp_nf=true
comp_constjump=true
comp_oldsegv=false
comp_flushmode=soft
compforcesettings=true
compfpu=true
comp_midopt=false
comp_lowopt=false
avoid_cmov=false
avoid_dga=false
avoid_vid=false
cachesize=16384
joyport0=mouse
joyport0autofire=none
joyportfriendlyname0=Windows mouse
joyportname0=WINMOUSE1
joyport1=none
joyport1autofire=none
bsdsocket_emu=false
synchronize_clock=no
maprom=0x0
parallel_postscript_emulation=no
parallel_postscript_detection=no
ghostscript_parameters=
parallel_autoflush=5
gfx_display=0
gfx_display_rtg=0
gfx_framerate=1
gfx_width=720
gfx_height=568
gfx_width_windowed=720
gfx_height_windowed=568
gfx_width_fullscreen=720
gfx_height_fullscreen=576
gfx_refreshrate=0
gfx_vsync=false
gfx_lores=false
gfx_linemode=double
gfx_fullscreen_amiga=true
gfx_fullscreen_picasso=true
gfx_center_horizontal=smart
gfx_center_vertical=smart
gfx_colour_mode=32bit
gfx_blacker_than_black=false
gfx_api=direct3d
gfx_filter_scanlines=50
gfx_filter_scanlines_rtg=50
gfx_filter_autoscale=none
gfxcard_hardware_vblank=false
gfxcard_hardware_sprite=true
gfxcard_multithread=false
gfxcard_size=16
gfxcard_type=ZorroIII
immediate_blits=false
fast_copper=false
ntsc=false
show_leds=true
show_leds_rtg=true
show_leds_enabled=cpu,fps,power,hd
show_leds_enabled_rtg=cpu,fps,power,hd
keyboard_leds=numlock:none,capslock:none,scrolllock:none
chipset=aga
chipset_refreshrate=0
collision_level=playfields
chipset_compatible=A1200
fastmem_size=0
a3000mem_size=0
z3mem_size=32
bogomem_size=0
chipmem_size=4
cpu_speed=max
cpu_type=68040
fpu_model=68040
cpu_compatible=false
cpu_24bit_addressing=false
cpu_cycle_exact=false
blitter_cycle_exact=false
rtg_modes=0x602
log_illegal_mem=false
catweasel=0
kbd_lang=us
state_replay=no
state_replay_rate=250
state_replay_buffer=20971520
hardfile2=rw,DH0:.\Games\Heretic & Hexen AmigaCD RTG\Heretic & Hexen AmigaCD.hdf,32,1,2,512,0,,uae
uaehf0=hdf,rw,DH0:.\\Games\\Heretic & Hexen AmigaCD RTG\\Heretic & Hexen.hdf,32,1,2,512,0,,uaeinput.config=0
input.joymouse_speed_analog=20
input.joymouse_speed_digital=10
input.joymouse_deadzone=33
input.joystick_deadzone=33
input.mouse_speed=100
input.autofire=10
input.1.joystick.0.disabled=0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.0=JOY1_HORIZ.0
input.1.joystick.0.axis.1=JOY1_VERT.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.0=JOY1_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.1=JOY1_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.0.button.2=JOY1_3RD_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.1.disabled=1
input.1.joystick.1.axis.0=JOY2_HORIZ.0
input.1.joystick.1.axis.1=JOY2_VERT.0
input.1.joystick.1.button.0=JOY2_FIRE_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.1.button.1=JOY2_2ND_BUTTON.0
input.1.joystick.1.button.2=JOY2_3RD_BUTTON.0
<snip>
Anyway, suggesting that I use anything but "Workbench 3.1" or that I use "SDL" or "GL" is not going to happen.

I've said it enough times. I'm a "classic" Amiga guy...

The game has been working perfectly until the latest betas. That's the issue I'm trying to solve with the game set up as is.
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 October 2020, 23:15   #7
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I'd recommend to ignore any beta JIT issues when using programs that are not worth the trouble (=large and "alien" programs) to debug until specifically mentioned that JIT is again safe to use. Aranym merge included some weird behavior in some situations and I haven't debugged it yet (as I said in changelogs already)
Ok, so you're saying I shouldn't bother testing this game / my setup with any v4.5.0 betas and just hope that when the stable v4.5.0 is released, all suddenly works again?
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 00:46   #8
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 742
That's how I read what Toni typed. I was going...and still am...going to comment that I wouldn't rely on the Betas so much for JIT. Go wth previous versions of WinUAE until he's able to debug a lot of stuff.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 02:42   #9
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 794
DD, have you tried this doomsoundlibraries from Amiga Libraries FTP?

doomsound_37.0.library Library Amiga 14,02 Ko 18/05/2017
doomsound_37.1.library Library Amiga 14,18 Ko 09/04/1998
doomsound_37.2.library Library Amiga 14,02 Ko 11/04/1998
doomsound_37.3.library Library Amiga 13,34 Ko 02/10/2018
doomsound_37.3(060).library Library Amiga 13,50 Ko 04/10/2018
ma693541 is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 05:47   #10
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 742
THANKS for the link!! Very helpful.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 09:22   #11
ma693541
Computer Wizard

ma693541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ramberg/Norway
Posts: 794
This is a shoot in the blind, but DD, you said ORIGINAL CD. Is that clickBOOMs DOOM for Amiga? I had that disc for some years ago, but now it's gone, I even bought some extra discs for the PC DOS game DOOM with installer disks for the Amiga, so that I could use the extra discs on my Amiga.
ma693541 is offline  
Old 21 October 2020, 10:41   #12
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by AC/DC HACKER! View Post
That's how I read what Toni typed. I was going...and still am...going to comment that I wouldn't rely on the Betas so much for JIT. Go wth previous versions of WinUAE until he's able to debug a lot of stuff.
It's not just these betas though.

As mentioned, problem first started with 4.3.0 betas and I had to adjust JIT settings. This continued to work with the stable 4.4.0.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ma693541 View Post
DD, have you tried this doomsoundlibraries from Amiga Libraries FTP?

doomsound_37.0.library Library Amiga 14,02 Ko 18/05/2017
doomsound_37.1.library Library Amiga 14,18 Ko 09/04/1998
doomsound_37.2.library Library Amiga 14,02 Ko 11/04/1998
doomsound_37.3.library Library Amiga 13,34 Ko 02/10/2018
doomsound_37.3(060).library Library Amiga 13,50 Ko 04/10/2018
Thanks, I've already tried 37.2 and 37.3 (see opening post). So tonight after work I will try 37.0 and 37.1.

...but as mentioned, I don't think this is the issue really; but I'm trying everything I can.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ma693541 View Post
This is a shoot in the blind, but DD, you said ORIGINAL CD. Is that clickBOOMs DOOM for Amiga? I had that disc for some years ago, but now it's gone, I even bought some extra discs for the PC DOS game DOOM with installer disks for the Amiga, so that I could use the extra discs on my Amiga.
Heretic.&.Hexen.(Open.Source.Conversion).[A.P.S].rar

Last edited by DamienD; 21 October 2020 at 11:35.
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 October 2020, 07:19   #13
Aardvark
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 53
Perhaps this is not helpful, but Heretic is JIT stable with 3.1.4 rom. I'm getting crash too with 3.1
Aardvark is offline  
Old 22 October 2020, 16:40   #14
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,712
Thanks for the info but...

Heretic isn't the problem here; it's Hexen.

On WB 3.1 / RTG / JIT, Heretic never crashes for me.

Hexen never did either in v4.3.0.

In 4.4.0 it started too but found a workaround by playing around with JIT settings.

Now in v4.5.0 betas Hexen will crash 100% of the time; and I'm yet to find a solution.

Hence the point of this thread; as I've exhausted all options / ideas.
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 October 2020, 18:48   #15
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Heretic isn't the problem here; it's Hexen.

On WB 3.1 / RTG / JIT, Heretic never crashes for me.

Hexen never did either in v4.3.0.
Can't you stick with 4.3.0 for Hexen alone, if it never crashed for you? I always have two versions of WinUAE with me, in case one doesn't work with a certain demo or game.
Foebane is offline  
Old 22 October 2020, 18:52   #16
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Can't you stick with 4.3.0 for Hexen alone, if it never crashed for you? I always have two versions of WinUAE with me, in case one doesn't work with a certain demo or game.
...and how's that going to work with my collection
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 October 2020, 19:41   #17
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,269
Damiano i tested your version of Hexen from ISO that you have attached and used your config with a slightly older version of the engine Hexen and it seems to go better with WinUAE v4.5.0 b6

http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/Hexen
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 22 October 2020, 20:18   #18
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Also the Aminet version runs fine, but this an earlier version, is missing the startup loading screen and MIDI music in game...
You could try the most recent version (AFAIK) here:

https://web.archive.org/web/20070627...auer/Hexen.lha

Hexen uses dmxemul.library for MIDI. Most recent version (AFAIK) here:

https://web.archive.org/web/20070627...er/dmxemul.lha

Last edited by James; 22 October 2020 at 20:37. Reason: more added
James is offline  
Old 22 October 2020, 20:49   #19
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by James View Post
You could try the most recent version (AFAIK) here:

https://web.archive.org/web/20070627...auer/Hexen.lha

Hexen uses dmxemul.library for MIDI. Most recent version (AFAIK) here:

https://web.archive.org/web/20070627...er/dmxemul.lha
Thank you James; very much appreciated.

Will give these a try
DamienD is offline  
Old 22 October 2020, 20:50   #20
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 18,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Damiano i tested your version of Hexen from ISO that you have attached and used your config with a slightly older version of the engine Hexen and it seems to go better with WinUAE v4.5.0 b6

http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/Hexen
Thanks Carlo, but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Also the Aminet version runs fine, but this an earlier version, is missing the startup loading screen and MIDI music in game...
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heretic & Hexen - Screenmode IDs DamienD support.Games 4 02 February 2020 16:17
Hexen GL arti project.Amiga Game Factory 0 10 January 2015 01:04
Hexen & Heretic Vids LuMan Amiga scene 0 05 February 2011 23:17
PPaint crashes & problems with WinUAE hexaae support.WinUAE 9 25 April 2009 15:09
CLi & Shell CRASHES !!!! THX1138 support.Apps 2 23 January 2003 13:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10127 seconds with 15 queries