English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2020, 22:39   #181
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,702
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Picasso IV Z3 (cgx4) has the same fluctuating framerate but no hpos crashes in beta5!

56kaudio does seem to help bringing the refresh rate upto 60Hz from 50Hz mking the experience much better. (Refresh=Chipset in rtg settings) Due to that cgx setting being buggy with whdload I prefer to set 56k audio through Ahi on my real and emulated amiga.

"Addaudiomodes DBLScan refresh quiet"
Mad-Matt is online now  
Old 16 October 2020, 22:57   #182
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does it happen with other boards too? (CV64 or PicassoIV?)
Does anything change if you configure 320x240 without doublescan in CGXMode?
I have test two twice with either CB64 and PicassoIV with no sync no error.
With sync ieither CB64 and Picasso IV demo run correctly but when i esc i have a glich in worbench screen without block.

Only with CyberVision 64 i have the start sceen error but if i click continue wb start normaly.

320x240 already create in normal , no doublesca.
I retest with doublescan?

In atthacment all.

Note: It possible are the driver of my pc?

Glich_Log.zipGlich.JPG
RoxxierError.JPG
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Glich.JPG
Views:	127
Size:	34.6 KB
ID:	69359   Click image for larger version

Name:	RoxxierError.JPG
Views:	92
Size:	21.0 KB
ID:	69361  
Attached Files
File Type: txt Glich_winuaebootlog.txt (14.2 KB, 31 views)
File Type: zip Glich_Log.zip (40.8 KB, 68 views)
Zilog is offline  
Old 16 October 2020, 23:41   #183
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Toni I tested the Demo XIII and it seems to go well, tested with OS 3.5 CV 64/3D and OS 3.9 BB4+AfA OS CV 64/3D

I enclose a small exhaustive video:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/19G3...ew?usp=sharing

Toni I have attached a screenshot showing the versions of CyberGraphx, in the video I used the 800x600x16 Resolution but it works well with 320x240x24

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 21 October 2020 at 16:23.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 11:13   #184
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,317
It looks like something (CGX?) gets confused if vsync period is too long, probably if it is less than 60Hz. Setting for example 75Hz RTG refresh rate (RTG panel) fixes it.

Unfortunately PCem SVGA emulation does not seem to have any support for querying current SVGA chip programmed refresh rate.

EDIT: and I think I found the bug that causes hpos error. S3 emulation runs blitter and 3d in a thread and when it finishes, it generates interrupt. Interrupt generation calls custom chipset emulation function that handles it. Only main thread can do this or things can go very wrong.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 17 October 2020 at 11:26.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 12:58   #185
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,317
Interrupt bug fixed (uses thread safe method that was designed for PPC emulation)

https://download.abime.net/winuae/files/b/winuae.7z

Does this fix "hpos" errors and other unexpected glitches?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 12:58   #186
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
..........
EDIT: and I think I found the bug that causes hpos error. S3 emulation runs blitter and 3d in a thread and when it finishes, it generates interrupt. Interrupt generation calls custom chipset emulation function that handles it. Only main thread can do this or things can go very wrong.

Is Very Very surgical work....in fact you are the mind and we are the arms

Great Work!
Zilog is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 13:27   #187
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Interrupt bug fixed (uses thread safe method that was designed for PPC emulation)
https://download.abime.net/winuae/files/b/winuae.7z
Does this fix "hpos" errors and other unexpected glitches?
With Picasso IV i have winaue crush but with dumb (not always)

With CV64 not glich ,is ok.

With CV3D/64 i have a glich (not always) but error "h4.." NO
WarpTest don't see again image 3d.

WinaueBeta5Err8_PicasssoIV_Crush.zip
WinaueBeta5Err8_CV3D64_Glich.zip
Attached Files
File Type: zip WinaueBeta5Err8_CV3D64_Glich.zip (59.3 KB, 65 views)
File Type: zip WinaueBeta5Err8_PicasssoIV_Crush.zip (48.0 KB, 64 views)
Zilog is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 13:36   #188
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,317
Your results aren't very useful if you don't compare them to previous version. Almost everything you listed happened with previous version. This update mostly affects jittery behavior/"hpos" error.

CGX4 + 3D stuff not working is totally different issue and so far there is not enough information and nothing will happen unless someone finds some 3D program that makes debugging possible. (Or if warp3d _driver_ sources exist)

And following should be always included:
- CGX or P96
- Resolution used and also does it happen in other resolutions/color depths. (Very important)

Also never use Restart-button when logging/testing! It can cause extra side-effects.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 14:44   #189
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,702
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Testing with Cgfx v4. After testing all the progs that would instantly crash for me, the HPos fix seems to be a success!!! A positive side effect is that the Warp3D framerate has doubled since Beta3 in the Engine demo and is now much more stable. Still some random flickering. The XIII demo now also runs without causing hpos crash.

Wipeout is almost running at a blistering 0.2 (maybe) fps!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wipout2097.png
Views:	133
Size:	170.3 KB
ID:	69371   Click image for larger version

Name:	w3d-glquakewos.png
Views:	99
Size:	194.0 KB
ID:	69374   Click image for larger version

Name:	AmigaWO2097Window.png
Views:	90
Size:	196.6 KB
ID:	69379  

Last edited by Mad-Matt; 17 October 2020 at 23:57.
Mad-Matt is online now  
Old 17 October 2020, 14:55   #190
Zilog
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
.........
Without Rest Button the probleam seems to be fixed!
Thanks a lot!
Zilog is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 17:36   #191
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Beta4

Strange issues with Workbench when JIT is on... they disappear if I switch JIT off or use WinUAE 4.4.1.

THE http://m68k.aminet.net/package/util/wb/THE2 sometimes misses keyboard strokes (e.g. I use ESC to close active window and SHIFT+ESC to close all windows).

Next http://m68k.aminet.net/package/text/show/Next right scroller won't work (i.e. text inside won't scroll)

I use P96+zorro 3, but even in AGA native mode Workbench I can reproduce these issues.
JIT indirect fixes Next issue, but not THE bug.

My cfg in signature...
These strange issues seem gone with latest non-public beta

Last edited by hexaae; 17 October 2020 at 20:44.
hexaae is online now  
Old 17 October 2020, 20:02   #192
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga_amigo View Post
Hi Toni,

i have an issue with the 4500 betas (all beta 1-4):

Bridgeboard vga (both CL-GD5426 and CL-GD5429) seems to have a problem with mode switching(?) - at least in windowed mode, haven't used fullscreen.
Starting any game e.g. WingCommander from the dos-prompt, the screen goes/stays black.
I can hear the sound playing. Switching to the "amiga monitor" with <END>+<F9> and back makes the pc vga to show correctly.
No problems afterwards. It doesn't matter if the pc vga is on virtual monitor 1 (i.e. single window, switching with <END>+<F9>) or on monitor 2.
My config and drivers worked fine in 4400 and before.
This is fixed in next beta.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
These strange issues seem gone with latest non-public beta
Which is strange because all changes only affect PCem boards. Retest when next official beta is released.

I still haven't done any JIT checks why JIT Direct now works strangely with display cards.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 20:28   #193
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,269
Toni on my AfA One JIT works well with UAE Zorro III and Picasso IV, with some very rare RTG games to avoid a crash I have to set "Default" to RGB Refresh Rate
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 20:55   #194
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,605
I noticed a big improvement with P96+Z3 with software like Elastic Dreams: I use to play an animation I created to test WinUAE:

baboon blinking


I always noticed a strange behaviour with all previous WinUAE versions: when I was moving mouse, animation usually played a bit faster... Now with latest beta it's ALWAYS faster at constant speed and is no more mouse movements dependent which is good (I use a 60Hz 1920x1080 WB, on a 144Hz g-sync display). Makes sense due to latest changes in 4.5.0 beta?

Last edited by hexaae; 17 October 2020 at 22:58.
hexaae is online now  
Old 17 October 2020, 21:45   #195
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 59
Posts: 684
How do you know my sister in law????

Mclane is offline  
Old 17 October 2020, 22:56   #196
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,605
Lol
hexaae is online now  
Old 18 October 2020, 18:18   #197
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,317
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...nuae_4500b6.7z
https://download.abime.net/winuae/fi...ae64_4500b6.7z

Beta 6:

- Fixed CV64/3D 3D vertical clipping. Fixes at least warptest corruption when test texture goes out of screen vertically.
- Fixed CV64 and CV64/3D weird behavior (pauses, possible "hpos" error dialog) due to interrupt triggering being called from a thread.
- Fixed possible crash if hardware mouse pointer was very near to end of VRAM.
- Debugger TO, Te and Tf didn't fully use current mmmu mapping mode. (For example TO output was corrupted if system was A3000 with loaded superkickstart)
- x86 bridgeboard VGA display stopped updating every time display when mode changed. (b1)

Previously known issues: CGX + Warp 3D: no textures (reason unknown, 3D part of Virge is not accessed at all when running warptest if texturing is enabled but is accessed normally if texturing is disabled). JIT direct + hardware RTG mode = glitches.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 18 October 2020, 23:40   #198
hexaae
Bug hunter

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 44
Posts: 1,605
Ok, my bugs are back in public b6 (I still have that b5 17-10-2020 exe if needed)
hexaae is online now  
Old 19 October 2020, 03:35   #199
superfrog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Francisco, USA
Posts: 166
Hi Toni,

The 4.5.0 betas crash the emulator for me when booting a config with A2386SX Bridgeboard. I tried both 4500b1 and 4500b6. I know the earliest 4.4.1 pre-betas did not crash this way.

My config is based on OS 2.1 with Janus 2.1 software. The exact point where the crash occurs is when BindDrivers is called from the Startup-sequence, so it's got something to do with loading janus.library and initializing the Bridgeboard.

The attached archive includes the config, hdf, nvr, and crash dump. I've commented out the BindDrivers line from the Startup-sequence, so the config will at least boot to Workbench. To reproduce the crash, open the Shell and run BindDrivers.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z 4500b6 Bridgeboard BindDrivers Crash.7z (1.03 MB, 26 views)
superfrog is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 19:32   #200
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Ok, my bugs are back in public b6 (I still have that b5 17-10-2020 exe if needed)
Does same happen using both 32-bit and 64-bit version? (see below)
And does winuae.7z always behave differently? (It is not fully optimized)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfrog View Post
Hi Toni,

The 4.5.0 betas crash the emulator for me when booting a config with A2386SX Bridgeboard. I tried both 4500b1 and 4500b6. I know the earliest 4.4.1 pre-betas did not crash this way.

My config is based on OS 2.1 with Janus 2.1 software. The exact point where the crash occurs is when BindDrivers is called from the Startup-sequence, so it's got something to do with loading janus.library and initializing the Bridgeboard.

The attached archive includes the config, hdf, nvr, and crash dump. I've commented out the BindDrivers line from the Startup-sequence, so the config will at least boot to Workbench. To reproduce the crash, open the Shell and run BindDrivers.
This might be caused by a compiler bug or some undefined behavior somewhere in pcem code. It also only happens in optimized build.

64-bit version seems to work.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 4.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 09 April 2019 19:31
WinUAE 3.4.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 464 20 December 2016 16:56
WinUAE 3.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 385 09 November 2015 00:06
WinUAE 2.4.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 223 09 May 2012 17:16
WinUAE 2.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 119 28 June 2010 03:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10501 seconds with 16 queries