English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Off Topic > OT - Technical

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 September 2020, 18:50   #1
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
SSD hard disk speed is really better ?

Hi guys


Perhaps i am going to buy another external hd


I was asking myself if it's the case of buying an SSD unit (i need 1 TB)


It is really better than normal hard disk ?


I will use it to make a backup of my Amiga stuff


Thanks for attention, chip
chip is offline  
Old 13 September 2020, 19:24   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
I don't know if an external SSD has advantages speed wise. Normally the USB bus is the bottleneck.

But regarding physical robustness an SSD is absolutely top. If you drop a HDD to the floor it's most likely dead. If you do it with an SSD it's most likely still working.
thomas is offline  
Old 13 September 2020, 19:29   #3
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
I have USB 3.0 if this can help
chip is offline  
Old 13 September 2020, 20:09   #4
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 58
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
I have USB 3.0 if this can help
To an extent this will help with transfer speeds, but here is the thing to consider.

The cost, the cost of spinning rust has been pretty low but has stayed this way due to manufacturing costs.

The pricing on SSD's has fallen quite a bit and will continue to do so.

Since you only need a 1TB of storage you can get buy with either choice and a standard 2.5 inch SSD format would be just fine.

External USB3 devices are still going to be limited to the transfer rate of the interface so really it's how fast an external device matters for your needs.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 13 September 2020, 20:44   #5
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 230
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Seagate BarraCuda 1 TB (or 2 TB if you can afford) 2,5'' and adequate USB enclosure, mechanical HDD's for the win!
SquawkBox is online now  
Old 13 September 2020, 21:01   #6
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
Thanks guys for all the replies

I really don't know if the speed will be better

As thomas pointed out, there's the USB connection limit to be considered

But surely i like much more the idea of an SSD unit
chip is offline  
Old 13 September 2020, 21:47   #7
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 230
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
For backup purposes, speed isn't the most important criteria. External SSD especially branded is still expensive for anything above 250 Go. Waste of good money IMHO, decision is yours.
SquawkBox is online now  
Old 14 September 2020, 02:59   #8
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
Hummm .... good point

I will think better my decision
chip is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 11:15   #9
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,935
USB 3 is significantly faster for transfers than USB 2, so long as every element is USB 3. Both mechanical and solid state drives can stream data at very high speeds, the real advantage of SSDs speed-wise is the seek time, which is massively reduced since there are no heads to mechanically move to the required location. You'll easily see that difference when accessing lots of different files in rapid succession or when seeking in a large file.

However, as was said, for backup purposes, you get a lot more storage for your Euro with a mechanical drive. I use SSDs for a couple of main hard drives, but even within those machines I also have mechanical drives for data storage, and backups are mechanical too because having that much storage in SSDs would cost me crazy money, considering how speed is such a low priority for that purpose.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 11:31   #10
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
Hey Daedalus ..... thanks for the explanation

My mind is changed about this decision

Indeed i just searched the internet for the prices

Well, 1TB normal HD is priced around 50 euro

An SSD one .... 150 euro

So, if speed is not so important for backup, money become an important factor
chip is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 14:40   #11
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 48
Posts: 3,078
I got eSATA cradle for external HD, one where you can replace HDs on fly and that is my main backup unit. I got bunch of 1 and 2 GB disks with different backups and did not have much of issues. Not dropping them much to be an issue as Thomas suggested.

I have 1 SSD HD that I use for VMs, and yes, you can see difference, but that is mostly due to eSATA connection. I never tested it on USB 3.0 (I have one cradle with USB3.0, but never used it on this computer.)
Anubis is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 17:17   #12
SquawkBox
Speedbump gimme goosebump
SquawkBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 230
Send a message via ICQ to SquawkBox
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Well, 1TB normal HD is priced around 50 euro
An SSD one .... 150 euro
So, if speed is not so important for backup, money become an important factor
It's not that speed is not important, it's just that it shouldn't be first and foremost criteria for backup purposes.
Also, to be fair, for normal HDD, it's not 50 euros period, it's 50 euros + price of enclosure (metal shield). Personally, I use a cheap SATA / IDE 2.0 USB / e-SATA enclosure laid over an empty CD-R jewel case, it works wonder with my 2 TB Seagate 2,5'' HDD's. 3.0 USB ones ones might cost a bit more (or you can get a complete external 3.0 USB HDD from Western Digital, but the enclosure for such products maybe factory sealed).
If you use an enclosure which require an external power supply (e.q. from a USB hub), make sure you power it first before plugging the USB cable. Also, USB ports from the back of a computer are generally more reliable than the ones from the front.
which brings me to SSD's are self powered that's another benefit over normal HDD's, the latter usually require more power.
SquawkBox is online now  
Old 14 September 2020, 17:21   #13
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
Again thanks for the replies guys

Sometimes i got much more replies here than in the "normal" forum
chip is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 17:25   #14
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 763
Have you considered offsite backup?

Googledrive / microsoft one both have good low tier prices and allows random access to files + search.
While not traditional backup solutions (incremental change etc) I found that just having 100GB to dump files solved most of my problems.
spiff is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 17:30   #15
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
Humm, never thinked to this kind of solution

But i have more than 500 GB of stuff .... so it's probably not convenient an offline solution
chip is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 17:49   #16
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 783
For backup purposes I would also think how long the data survives on the drive when it isn't powered... IIRC there are issues with SSDs with this.

You'll see reports like this with quick googling:
https://www.extremetech.com/computin...-without-power
jPV is offline  
Old 14 September 2020, 17:55   #17
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
Humm, things are much more complicated it seems

Anyway i already chosen for a "normal" external hd
chip is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 04:12   #18
Anubis
Retro Gamer

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Underworld
Age: 48
Posts: 3,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip View Post
Humm, things are much more complicated it seems

Anyway i already chosen for a "normal" external hd
Good choice considering purpose of HD. Don't do same as I do, create backup of a backup.
Anubis is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 09:15   #19
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
Instead it is exactly what i want to do !
chip is offline  
Old 15 September 2020, 10:47   #20
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,137
Anubis, do you think it is too much exaggerate ?

I don't know, my files are the result of 5 years of downloading .... i don't want to lose them !
chip is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive speed, few questions Glen M support.Hardware 6 15 March 2020 19:24
winUAE and ssd disk maybe a stupid question White support.WinUAE 12 06 January 2020 23:13
Network speed and Disk speed S0ulA55a551n support.Other 2 05 December 2019 21:18
why cannot I boot hard drive directory or hard disk image jotd support.WinUAE 2 31 October 2017 19:00
Guide to the CF/SD/SSD jungle, what's your speed? Photon support.Hardware 12 19 October 2008 22:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15063 seconds with 15 queries