English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 August 2020, 21:58   #1
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
PCMCIA CF0 emulation for CFD (compactflash.device) / FAT95

Hi,

I couldn't find any information on whether PCMCIA emulation is supported and, if so, how to make it work to test mounting a CC0: device when CFD (compactflash.device) and FAT96 drivers are installed.

I'm aware of the built-in expansion for "A600/A1200 PCMCIA (Commodore)" but I'm unsure how to mount something to make use of this.

Thank you.
solarmon is offline  
Old 15 August 2020, 23:51   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,121
CC0 is not CF0. CC0 is automatically mounted, but it only works with SRAM cards.

CF0 requires compactflash.device and FAT95.

Both can be emulated with WinUAE.

To emulate CF0 you have to enable "PCMCIA IDE" on the Expansions page. Then you can add a HDF with PCMCIA IDE controller. After that you have to return to the Expansions page and enable "PCMCIA inserted".

To emulate CC0 you have to go the same route, but use PCMCIA SRAM instead of IDE. Then you can use PrepCard to format the SRAM card as a harddrive.
thomas is offline  
Old 16 August 2020, 01:01   #3
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Apologies, I did mean testing mounting CF0. I've got a boot floppy disk that loads the CFD/FAT95 drivers and I wanted to test it in emulation.

I did try to do the steps that you mentioned, for CF0, but there is some slightly different terminology that I'm seeing in WinUAE 4.3.0 (2019.12.19) 64-bit.



Note that there is no 'PCMCIA inserted' option, just 'Enabled'.

The hardfile bit is where I'm struggling. What format does the hardfile need to be in? I assumed it it should be a FAT32 image, so I had made an image of a FAT32 format CF card using Win32DiskImager.

There is no "PCMCIA IDE controller" to choose from, so I just chose "Commodore A600/A1200/A4000 IDE" and selected "CF" from the drop down options. I also selected 'Full drive/RDB mode'.



I know this doesn't look right, but there is no 'PCMCIA' controller option to choose. So where am I going wrong?
solarmon is offline  
Old 16 August 2020, 01:08   #4
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Ah! I found where 'PCMCIA IDE' is! I thought it would be listed under the 'Built-in expansions'!

solarmon is offline  
Old 16 August 2020, 01:14   #5
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Got it working!

Thank you for your help!

See the CF0 drive ("FE08-86BF") in the top left:



Even PrepCard works!

solarmon is offline  
Old 18 August 2020, 22:08   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
Ah! I found where 'PCMCIA IDE' is! I thought it would be listed under the 'Built-in expansions'!
PCMCIA IDE emulates physical PCMCIA IDE (CF) adapter. It is not Amiga built-in hardware.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 August 2020, 22:28   #7
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
PCMCIA IDE emulates physical PCMCIA IDE (CF) adapter. It is not Amiga built-in hardware.
Hi Toni,

Yes, it is obvious now, now that I've thought more about it and understand it a bit better how it works!
solarmon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDToolbox and compactflash.device burf2000 support.Apps 3 01 September 2015 11:01
compactflash.device or fat95 silesystem issue Akira support.Apps 2 07 February 2012 01:19
compactflash.device and mountlists ppill support.Apps 4 03 June 2010 13:37
Bootable disk with CFD+FAT95 Chain request.Apps 5 03 November 2007 12:00
Use compactflash.device with FFS? Jerry support.Apps 3 08 December 2006 15:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07140 seconds with 15 queries