English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 May 2018, 08:35   #1
Amifan23
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 27
Exclamation Need help with Amiga 500 voltage converter !

Hello, I have just bought an Amiga 500 with hard disk and memory expansion with an original power supply of 117 volts, but as in my country the standard is 220 volts, I need to buy a 220V to 110V step down voltage transformer - ( I had one some years ago but cannot remember the power it had ) - The available transformers go from 100 watts to 500 watts - What is the minimum in watts that the voltage transformer should have to work fine with the Amiga 500 ? Will be grateful for any help !
Amifan23 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 May 2018, 09:33   #2
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Step down transformers are designed to allow 110v items to work on 230v mains. So you shouldn't have to worry about the watts as the 110v PSU you have, should just work as normal.

To answer your question anyway, the Amiga 1200 supplied PSU's were 25w and some early A500 PSU's are 60w. The A500 can work on both of these PSU's. The only time you require more watts is when you are adding more items that require extra power, such as Accelerators and disk drives etc.

Failing all this, you could just buy an Amiga 500 230v PSU, rather than step down transformer, there are plenty available on eBay.
MigaTech is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 10:07   #3
Amifan23
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MigaTech View Post
Step down transformers are designed to allow 110v items to work on 230v mains. So you shouldn't have to worry about the watts as the 110v PSU you have, should just work as normal.

To answer your question anyway, the Amiga 1200 supplied PSU's were 25w and some early A500 PSU's are 60w. The A500 can work on both of these PSU's. The only time you require more watts is when you are adding more items that require extra power, such as Accelerators and disk drives etc.

Failing all this, you could just buy an Amiga 500 230v PSU, rather than step down transformer, there are plenty available on eBay.
Thanks for your reply - So do you mean that the watts don´t matter here as the power is provided by the main 117 volt power supply I already have ? It would cost me more to buy a 230v PSU on ebay because I would have to pay the shipping and I think it would be expensive and would bring me problems with Customs, etc, it´s more cheaper for me to buy a 220v to 110v transformer where I live, costs around USD 30 and I don´t have to pay any shipping - So if I buy say a 100 watts 220v-110v transformer and plug it to the power supply, then would it be enough for the Amiga to work ?

Last edited by Amifan23; 15 May 2018 at 10:09. Reason: error
Amifan23 is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 10:12   #4
MigaTech
Only Amiga !!

MigaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 522
Yes a 100w voltage step down transformer should be sufficient to run that original Amiga 110v PSU.
MigaTech is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 17:07   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Don't bother, it's a pain and in the end adds bulk and problems to your setup.
I have dealt with up and down step converters for a large part of my life and little by little I have turned to convert my stuff, where applicable, to run on 110/240 indistinctly by changing the power supplies.

In the case of the Amiga, with an adapter, you could adapt a PC PSU to run with it and could be your cheapest solution. An adapter pre-made bought fro m Steady would be a light, small package that would be cheap to ship and give you no customs issue.

With that said, I have at least one 220V Amiga PSU I have absolutely no need for and will gladly send it to you for shipping costs only. I will send you a private message now to talk about this.

Los hermanos rioplatenses amigueros deben ayudarse
Akira is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 18:33   #6
Amifan23
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by MigaTech View Post
Yes a 100w voltage step down transformer should be sufficient to run that original Amiga 110v PSU.
Many thanks again !
Amifan23 is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 18:42   #7
Amifan23
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Don't bother, it's a pain and in the end adds bulk and problems to your setup.
I have dealt with up and down step converters for a large part of my life and little by little I have turned to convert my stuff, where applicable, to run on 110/240 indistinctly by changing the power supplies.

In the case of the Amiga, with an adapter, you could adapt a PC PSU to run with it and could be your cheapest solution. An adapter pre-made bought fro m Steady would be a light, small package that would be cheap to ship and give you no customs issue.

With that said, I have at least one 220V Amiga PSU I have absolutely no need for and will gladly send it to you for shipping costs only. I will send you a private message now to talk about this.

Los hermanos rioplatenses amigueros deben ayudarse
Hola, veo que eres argentino, gracias por tu mensaje y el consejo, lei tambien tu mensaje privado - Yo ya tuve una Amiga 500 hace muchos años y luego la vendí - La usé como 15 años con un transformador de 220v-110v sin nigun problema - Cuando la vendí vendí también el transformador, y ahora por nostalgia compré otra que venía sin transformador, asi que para mi la solución del transformador no me trae ningún problema - Si compro en el exterior voy a pagar en el mejor de los casos los mismo, y acá la Aduana te retienen cualquier mercadería aunque digas que no vale nada, es muy burocrático y tiene demoras, etc - Lo que voy a hacer es comprar un transformador de 100 watts aqui que me cuesta unos 25 dolares - te agradezco tu ayuda y saludos !
Amifan23 is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 19:52   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Alright man, PSU may or may not cost more than USD25 to ship, really don't know.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What voltage transformer to buy for Amiga 500 Power supply ? Amifan23 support.Hardware 9 16 May 2018 18:16
Amiga 500 Rev.6A VS Amiga 500 Plus with 2MB chip and ACA 500 turrican9 support.Hardware 0 24 December 2016 02:16
Final Fight on AMIGA 500+ (500 Plus), not 500! padremayi support.Games 55 09 March 2016 20:39
Amiga VGA converter mojorific support.Hardware 2 15 June 2012 04:21
WTB: Amiga 600, 500, 500 +, 1200 (NTSC) JeremyDay MarketPlace 2 30 November 2006 03:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06729 seconds with 15 queries