English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 April 2018, 01:39   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,180
QEMU Released






QEMU (Quick EMUlator) it is a software that allows you to emulate systems x86, AMD64, PowerPC, MIPS e ARM.

QEMU v2.12.0: Download

Highlights include:

Spectre/Meltdown mitigation support for x86/pseries/s390 guests. For more details see: https://www.qemu.org/2018/02/14/qemu...pectre-update/
Numerous block support improvements, including support for directly interacting with userspace NVMe driver, and general improvements to NBD server/client including more efficient reads of sparse files
Networking support for VMWare paravirtualized RDMA device (RDMA HCA and Soft-RoCE supported), CAN bus support via Linux SocketCAN and SJA1000-based PCI interfaces, and general improvements for dual-stack IPv4/IPv6 environments
GUI security/bug fixes, dmabufs support for GTK/Spice.
Better IPMI support for Platform Events and SEL logging in internal BMC emulation
SMBIOS support for “OEM Strings”, which can be used for automating guest image activation without relying on network-based querying
Disk cache information via virtio-balloon
ARM: AArch64 new instructions for FCMA/RDM and SIMD/FP16/crypto/complex number extensions
ARM: initial support for Raspberry Pi 3 machine type
ARM: Corex-M33/Armv8-M emulation via new mps2-an505 board and many other improvements for M profile emulation
HPPA: support for full machine emulation (hppa-softmmu)
PowerPC: PPC4xx emulation improvements, including I2C bus support
PowerPC: new Sam460ex machine type
PowerPC: significant TCG performance improvements
PowerPC: pseries: support for Spectre/Meltdown mitigations
RISC-V: new RISC-V target via “spike_v1.9.1”, “spike_v1.10”, and “virt” machine types
s390: non-virtual devices no longer require dedicated channel subsystem and guest support for multiple CSSs
s390: general PCI improvements, MSI-X support for virtio-pci devices
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 April 2018, 14:39   #2
mulder77
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Petershagen/Germany
Posts: 39
Any luck in booting MorphOS or AmigaOS via Sam460ex emulation?
mulder77 is offline  
Old 29 April 2018, 16:02   #3
Schlachtwerk
68k RULEZ
Schlachtwerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 199
I have read AROS will Boot but Mophos 3.10 will not run at this state
Schlachtwerk is offline  
Old 30 April 2018, 05:29   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by mulder77 View Post
Any luck in booting MorphOS or AmigaOS via Sam460ex emulation?
You can have more information HERE to its developer
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 30 April 2018, 09:52   #5
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 627
I'll buy a beer for the first to get Windows 10 running on their Amiga
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 13 May 2018, 13:42   #6
knightbeat
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: UK
Posts: 22
I suspect a Qemu for OS4.1 would require more than just one beer as a reward!
knightbeat is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 10:09   #7
waldiamiga
Registered User

waldiamiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
You can have more information HERE to its developer
Someone knows what you should have to run even u-boot Sam460EX?
waldiamiga is offline  
Old 21 May 2018, 10:21   #8
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by e-penguin View Post
i'll buy a beer for the first to get windows 10 running on their amiga...
...1200

:d
Dunny is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 16:49   #9
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,766
Has anyone had any luck yet emulating MorphOS via QEmu?

I followed the instructions here: http://zero.eik.bme.hu/~balaton/qemu/amiga/#morphos

but the guest screen (sm501) always just says "Guest has not initialized the display (yet)" no matter how long I leave it. Serial output log attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	qemu.gif
Views:	51
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	58869  
Minuous is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 17:42   #10
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 946
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldiamiga View Post
Someone knows what you should have to run even u-boot Sam460EX?
Code:
/usr/local/bin/qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex
i append then the following to run my self compiled aros.iso:
Code:
-serial stdio -drive if=none,id=cd,file=/home/wawa/aros-ppc-630/distfiles/aros-sam440-ppc.iso,format=raw -device ide-cd,drive=cd,bus=ide.1 -netdev user,id=net0 -device ne2k_pci,netdev=net0 -show-cursor
but thats another story.
aros gets sometimes stuck on boot. it helps to just re-run the emulation. i dont know about os4 and morphos, though.
wawa is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 21:25   #11
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 52
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
Has anyone had any luck yet emulating MorphOS via QEmu?

I followed the instructions here: http://zero.eik.bme.hu/~balaton/qemu/amiga/#morphos

but the guest screen (sm501) always just says "Guest has not initialized the display (yet)" no matter how long I leave it. Serial output log attached.
Gigi Burdo has AmigaOS and MorphOS videos on YT of him booting them....
Methanoid is offline  
Old 16 July 2018, 22:12   #12
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,766
According to here https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plu...rum=9&start=75 QEMU 3.0.0 was not tested properly on Windows before being released and has bugs. Oh well, maybe one day it will be fixed.
Minuous is offline  
Old 17 July 2018, 00:52   #13
wawa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: berlin/germany
Posts: 946
im using qemu anyway under linux vm on windows, so im fine.
wawa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE QEMU PPC Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 486 13 August 2018 15:09
QEMU TCG as JIT replacement? KillaByte request.UAE Wishlist 21 30 January 2018 16:05
Using Dolphin's PPC Code instead of QEmu's? Xeon3D support.FS-UAE 5 14 June 2016 10:30
QEMU-UAE keeps tripping on my OSX PPC! Hypex support.FS-UAE 21 17 December 2015 13:27
linux qemu-uae kvm tlosm support.FS-UAE 11 15 February 2015 09:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07863 seconds with 16 queries