English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 March 2018, 01:09   #1
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,902
LoadModule Released




LoadModule installs so called "resident modules" in a reset-proof way, possibly replacing ROM modules by disk-based modules, similar to what SetPatch and its "ROM-Updates" mechanism does. "Resident modules" are loadable binaries containing a special structure telling the Os how to initialize them and what to perform on initialization - Amiga libraries and devices are the canonical example of these modules, the "ram-handler" is another. "LoadModule" can be used to install these resident modules in a reset proof way such that they are available immediately at system bootstrap time. This is desired whenever a module is required for booting, as for example some of modules in the Amiga-Os ROM-Updates. "LoadModule" can therefore be used as a more canonical form of the ROM-Updates since it does not require an undocumented file format - modules have to be provided as loadable disk based binaries in their most canonical form, and can be kept in their canonical location. For example, the V45 "console.device" could be kept in DEVS: similar to all other devices. "LoadModule" can be used as well to replace the ROM-based icon and workbench.libraries by their disk-based 3.5 and 3.9 replacments, or to make modules reset-proof that are typically disk-based, for example the diskfont.library or the mmu.library.


New in V45:

Can also load the 3.9 exec.library, and can upgrade the ROM fully automatically from disk. See below for details. For a quick start, just run "ExtractModule" without any arguments on an Os 3.9 system. This will place all modules of the ROM Updates in the right places, and LoadModule AUTOwill pick them up correctly.


LoadModule v45.15: Download
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	LoadModule.jpg
Views:	634
Size:	136.4 KB
ID:	57918  

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 01 May 2018 at 06:19.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 April 2018, 12:13   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,902
LoadModule v45.14.1 updating
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 01 May 2018, 06:20   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,902
LoadModule v45.15 updating
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kick 3.0 -> 3.9 via LoadModule / LoadResident possible? bladecgn support.Apps 15 11 October 2017 17:30
loadmodule and Kickstart1.3 Gilloo support.Other 0 11 July 2016 13:34
Loadmodule two times in Startup-Sequence ancalimon support.Apps 2 07 September 2014 06:35
LoadModule + scsi_4346beta on WinUAE/Amiga running AmigaOS3.1 Mr B support.Hardware 2 03 April 2011 23:56
16.6 Released alexh project.WHDLoad 6 09 June 2006 10:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05521 seconds with 16 queries