English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 September 2019, 18:44   #1
Lasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alta
Posts: 35
How to make an Amiga test Kit?

I wanna test my memory on my Amiga 1200, and have been recommended doing it with Amiga Test Kit.

Can anybody explain me how I make an Amiga Test Kit?

I have found the application, but how to get it operative is difficult for a newbie to understand. A step by step guide would be great, or a link to a youtube video, but I can't find it. I do have a Amiga 1200 with a CF card, WHDload and a operative floppy drive.

Anybody?
Lasse is offline  
Old 15 September 2019, 20:22   #2
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 717
The best path I have found is the following, summarised:

* Emulate your A1200 setup in WinUAE, using the same CF as you have used in your A1200. You need to also be able to also mount a folder where you can transfer files between your PC/MAC and the emulated A1200.

* In your emulated A1200 setup, get PCMCIA CF drivers working - using this guide:

https://exthema.io/2016/11/07/moving-files-around/

Download the files and use the mount folder mentioned above to get the downloaded files in to the emulated setup.

* You can then use the CF in the real A1200, now with the appropriate PCMCIA CF drivers.

* Then you can transfer the program files, or ADF files, using the PCMCIA CF between your A1200 and PC/Mac.

* To write DMS or ADF files to a real floppy drive - use tsgui:

http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/tsgui

(You'll probably want to download and save this file/program during in your emulated A1200 setup, using the mounted transfer folder.



Note: You can just copy the DMS/ADF files (or any files)( direct to your emulated A1200 setup (and then use that in your real A1200), but having a working PCMCIA CF will be so much better in the long run.

I hope that helps and gives you some pointers. There are still quite a lot to do and understand for each step, but this is just to show the summarised process I used.
solarmon is online now  
Old 15 September 2019, 21:59   #3
Lasse
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Alta
Posts: 35
Superb. Thanks. That is what I was looking for.
Lasse is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 600 and brand new AMIGA KIT 1MB RAM won't work NunoUFO support.Hardware 3 13 July 2019 16:58
Amiga Test Kit memory results NoBrain2k support.Hardware 5 25 April 2019 02:02
Sony Video Encoder Chip at Amiga Kit Amiga Store amigakit.com MarketPlace 1 12 March 2019 01:54
3D Construction Kit - 3D Kit Game WHDLoad zeropolis79 request.Other 5 07 April 2015 15:45
CD32 Frog Feast test available. Test out the final! cdoty News 42 01 April 2008 17:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06004 seconds with 15 queries