English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 May 2019, 13:01   #1
rincewinda
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 26
Archos OverDrive PCMCIA Hard Drive and CF Cards

Would anyone happen to know if it's possible to use the CF IDE Adapters with the Archos OverDrive PCMCIA Hard Drive?

If so how would I do this?

If this isn't possible what would I need to look for as an IDE hard drive to use with the Archos OverDrive PCMCIA Hard Drive, as I have one with a fully working hard drive, one with no hard drive, and one with a faulty hard drive.

I've tried a really old 3GB IDE hard drive, but this didn't work, wasn't detected.
rincewinda is offline  
Old 22 May 2019, 13:06   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 7,185
No idea whether it is compatible, but you'd just plug it in place of the IDE hard disk.

Then it's down to the Archos drivers whether it accepts the CF card in IDE mode.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 May 2019, 13:10   #3
rincewinda
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
No idea whether it is compatible, but you'd just plug it in place of the IDE hard disk.

Then it's down to the Archos drivers whether it accepts the CF card in IDE mode.
Yeah I tried a known working card and adapter that works internally in my A1200, but this didn't work in the Archos Hard drive.
rincewinda is offline  
Old 22 May 2019, 13:14   #4
rincewinda
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 26
Argh I just found this via some googling.

The overdrive uses carddisk.device as its driver. It is bootable since carddisk.device is in the kickstart ROM.

Carddisk.device does not work with flash cards, this is why compactflash.device was created.
rincewinda is offline  
Old 22 May 2019, 13:22   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 7,185
CF cards can be in IDE mode or PCMCIA mode. In PCMCIA mode they can be accessed via compactflash.device, but in IDE mode they are much closer to an IDE hard disk.

Seems they're not close enough in this case, if the overdrive really just hooks up the IDE drive to the PCMCIA slot without any intelligence in between.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 May 2019, 13:42   #6
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 3,957
There's a circuit board in the Archos Overdrive cases, buried in the tab that goes into the PCMCIA port. It may well use carddisk.device to boot and install drivers, but carddisk.device only supports up to 4MB drives so it wouldn't be much use for hard drives. Connecting an IDE hard drive directly to PCMCIA won't work with carddisk.device either, so whether it works or not is up to the driver that the Overdrive loads.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 22 May 2019, 14:58   #7
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 7,185
That makes much more sense in my opinion.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 May 2019, 17:20   #8
rincewinda
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
... carddisk.device only supports up to 4MB drives so it wouldn't be much use for hard drives. Connecting an IDE hard drive directly to PCMCIA won't work with carddisk.device either, so whether it works or not is up to the driver that the Overdrive loads.
I see, that I wasn't aware of so... it seems I need to do some trial and error with a bunch of CF cards, this could prove a costly exercise trying to find a card that works of a decent size.
rincewinda is offline  
Old 23 May 2019, 00:07   #9
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 657
I’ve read the overdrive initially boots from a tiny (32k IIRC) flash memory (supported by cardddisk.device) and then switches over the boot process to the harddrive ASAP.
So I guess trial and error is required indeed.
fgh is offline  
Old 23 May 2019, 11:36   #10
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 7,185
This makes me want to get one for experiments. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 23 May 2019, 11:39   #11
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
This makes me want to get one for experiments. :-)
That’s exactly what I though, but I never did (so far), so you can buy mine if you like. Send me a PM.
fgh is offline  
Old 23 May 2019, 11:47   #12
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 7,185
Cheers, we shall deal in private.
Jope is offline  
Old 06 June 2019, 21:21   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 22,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgh View Post
I’ve read the overdrive initially boots from a tiny (32k IIRC) flash memory (supported by cardddisk.device) and then switches over the boot process to the harddrive ASAP.
I got dump of this ROM (software dump, type of chip is unknown) few weeks ago and I can confirm this behavior. It is basically image of 32k read-only SRAM PCMCIA card which is supported by carddisk.device. "Card" has normal startup-sequence which loads IDE driver, detects the drive, resets assigns and finally executes IDE drive's startup-sequence.
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing drive in Archos overdrive cd Exit support.Hardware 5 16 December 2012 15:00
More IDE troubles - Archos Overdrive CD / PCMCIA kyrian support.Hardware 6 18 October 2009 23:20
Archos Overdrive power supply! ElectroBlaster support.Hardware 2 25 June 2007 18:53
Archos PCMCIA CDRW drive (not zappo) on 1200 _ThEcRoW support.Hardware 11 28 March 2006 22:51
For Sale: Archos OVERDRIVE CD martin-flash MarketPlace 5 21 June 2005 20:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07411 seconds with 14 queries