English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 October 2018, 18:48   #3741
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917


A burst data pipe!! now I really am annoyed I couldn’t get 12ns ram in this size

EDIT: burst mode alpha now in the repo (confirmed working at 50Mhz).

Last edited by plasmab; 14 October 2018 at 20:22.
plasmab is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 21:52   #3742
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 96
Not sure if you’ve seen this, but it’s a good read.
http://amigadev.elowar.com/read/ADCD.../node0161.html
pipper is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 22:54   #3743
ray
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6
Successfully flashed CPLDs's! I was almost convinced I was doing something completely wrong after double checking all connections and still getting a "no JTAG chain found" message. I was trying to flash via Raspberry Pi and using PWR1 connection to power the board. Almost ready to give up for the day, I tried the same but now powering the board by placing it in the Amiga, and voila, it worked! Should the PWR1 method work for TF530 rev3?

For those of you looking for a rev3 board, after flashing my CPLDs I'm confident of getting my board to work which means I have some to spare of my DirtPCB proto pack ordered back in February (took me a while to find the time to actually start building ;-)). PM if you're interested, reasonable price of course (but needs to come from the Netherlands, so some postage fees might be needed).
ray is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 23:04   #3744
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 803
Full 1.5 meg slow-fast now working correctly.

And a pic of the performance test at 36 mhz with dburst enabled (approx 70% faster than stock A3000).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	534-new1.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	77.5 KB
ID:	60268   Click image for larger version

Name:	534-new2.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	60269  
alenppc is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 23:16   #3745
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 410
i am still impressed about today's stream! Excellent work, Stephen!
Hope to see FW backport to TF530 soon!!!
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 23:22   #3746
chue
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 56
One question about the stream today, Stephen: will the TF534 require a full 68030 (not EC)?

Here you mention something about disabling caches using the MMU:

https://youtu.be/iAxF-GbAXCc?t=1135
chue is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 23:29   #3747
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by chue View Post
One question about the stream today, Stephen: will the TF534 require a full 68030 (not EC)?

Here you mention something about disabling caches using the MMU:

[ Show youtube player ]
You just dont get an easy way to put ROM in RAM with CPU FASTROM. I was worried about the caches with the slow ram area but Alen has confirmed this isnt an issue. So you can use either MMU or non-MMU CPUs with the TF53x.
plasmab is offline  
Old 14 October 2018, 23:31   #3748
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
Full 1.5 meg slow-fast now working correctly.

And a pic of the performance test at 36 mhz with dburst enabled (approx 70% faster than stock A3000).
Excellent. Glad to hear it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
i am still impressed about today's stream! Excellent work, Stephen!
Hope to see FW backport to TF530 soon!!!
It was a good day. You will have another TF534 pcb in the post tomorrow.

If only we can find 2Mb versions of those static ram chips. Then we could have a TF538.
plasmab is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 00:32   #3749
hooleydog
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Southfield
Posts: 36
Where's my TF534 pcb SOB!!!!
hooleydog is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 00:41   #3750
CRP
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Milano
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray View Post
Successfully flashed CPLDs's! I was almost convinced I was doing something completely wrong after double checking all connections and still getting a "no JTAG chain found" message. I was trying to flash via Raspberry Pi and using PWR1 connection to power the board. Almost ready to give up for the day, I tried the same but now powering the board by placing it in the Amiga, and voila, it worked! Should the PWR1 method work for TF530 rev3?
I have been able to successfully program the CPLDs with a Raspberry PI while having the board outside an Amiga, powered by an external 5V power supply.
CRP is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 01:42   #3751
8 Bit Dreams
Retro maniac

8 Bit Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: near Munich / Germany
Posts: 410
Well, spent a hour looking for 5.5v chips - no chances to find something for a reasonable price.. Seems the next step will be XC95288XL or XC95144XL with implemented level shifting to be able to use 3.6v chips...
In that case we can use something like this:
https://www.digikey.de/product-detai...259-ND/5214135

or maybe someone want to try run 3.6v chips on 5v? Then try this:
https://www.digikey.de/product-detai...116-ND/4844184
is there actually free space in tre RAM cpld? Maybe actual design allows to inplement level shifting?

Well, actually there is one chip, that fits our needs, but with different footprint:
https://www.digikey.de/product-detai...464-ND/7791412

Last edited by 8 Bit Dreams; 15 October 2018 at 01:59.
8 Bit Dreams is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 01:47   #3752
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8 Bit Dreams View Post
Well, spent a hour looking for 5.5v chips - no chances to find something for a reasonable price.. Seems the next step will be XC95288XL or XC95144XL with implemented level shifting to be able to use 3.6v chips...
In that case we can use something like this:
https://www.digikey.de/product-detai...259-ND/5214135
I already have a plan for SDRAM but thats a complete redesign. Wont happen on the 5xx first. The 53X series is SRAM only. Presume you realise thats an SDRAM chip?
plasmab is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 04:22   #3753
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 803
I bumped the clock back to 50 Mhz and installed the 3.1.4 rom. Annoyingly, CPU Fastrom support was removed from the new OS, so I will be using the old CPU command for now.
alenppc is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 10:18   #3754
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
I bumped the clock back to 50 Mhz and installed the 3.1.4 rom. Annoyingly, CPU Fastrom support was removed from the new OS, so I will be using the old CPU command for now.


Oh I shall have a mighty go at Hyperion for that on stream at some point
plasmab is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 18:40   #3755
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
I bumped the clock back to 50 Mhz and installed the 3.1.4 rom. Annoyingly, CPU Fastrom support was removed from the new OS, so I will be using the old CPU command for now.
I asked CPU fastrom from Thor when I looked solution to map my 1mb kickstart to fast ram. CPU fastrom worked with 1mb kickstart. He said that it is not protected could be over writen any time.

MuLibs does that http://aminet.net/package/util/sys/Mu680x0Libs
utri007 is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 21:13   #3756
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
You just dont get an easy way to put ROM in RAM with CPU FASTROM.
Just FYI skick (Aminet) can map a Kickstart into RAM on MMU-less CPUs. It does this by patching the Kickstart. Only common Kickstarts are supported and the 'ROM' will not be write-protected. Gives a nice speed boost though.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 22:57   #3757
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
I bumped the clock back to 50 Mhz and installed the 3.1.4 rom. Annoyingly, CPU Fastrom support was removed from the new OS, so I will be using the old CPU command for now.
Hows the stability?
plasmab is offline  
Old 15 October 2018, 23:03   #3758
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Hows the stability?

I used it for a couple of hours last night with no issues. It gave me a few troubles when first powered up (red/green/yellow screens at random) but once it started it was OK. I suspect the RAM timing is probably at the limit at this point.
alenppc is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 15:23   #3759
SpeedGeek
Registered User
SpeedGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Age: 55
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
I asked CPU fastrom from Thor when I looked solution to map my 1mb kickstart to fast ram. CPU fastrom worked with 1mb kickstart. He said that it is not protected could be over writen any time.

MuLibs does that http://aminet.net/package/util/sys/Mu680x0Libs
MMU write protection is over-rated. There are very many ways to crash AmigaOS. So any software hack or unsafe code which can do an illegal write to any task, program data or system allocated memory space can mess things up just as easily as the remapped Kickstart ROM image. Also, any write to the standard $F80000 ROM space will generate a /BERR crash (unless a software handler has been installed to prevent it).

Softkick users have been operating without the benefit of MMU protection for many years now and they don't seem to worry much about it. At best MMU write protection increases the chance of generating a "Software Error" which is useful for debugging purposes. However, the disadvantage is a much larger MMU table (e.g. Enforcer). Hence, more memory usage and reduced MMU performance.

The AmigaOS CPU command (provided by Commodore and H&P) utilizes a 32K page size with a short format early termination MMU table. Hence, it provides the very fastest MMU translation.
SpeedGeek is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 17:26   #3760
bugsymalone666
Amiga baby yeah!

bugsymalone666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 98
So todays question of the day to anyone building these things, I have most parts coming from DigiKey, but I was unable to find a PGA128 socket for the 68030 (mines a 68EC030 @40mhz when it gets here)

Seems PGA 128 sockets are rare, can you just build them using SIL socket headers instead?

I think I'll be fine putting most of it together, its just the CPLD's I worry about, the first one I soldered a few months back I cocked up slightly (too much Solder) and I have a USB microscope somewhere, then I will build it on a nice flat desk and be very very careful.
bugsymalone666 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 07:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 10:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 02:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 21:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 09:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14755 seconds with 14 queries