English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2018, 18:10   #1
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 161
Workbench Explorer Under WinUAE OS 4.1

I've been trying to run Workbench Explorer under the latest WinUAE using AmigaOS 4.1 Classic it does not seem to run.

Sometimes the emulation just seems to lock up and I have to kill the task from Windows (Windows 10).

Can anyone else test Workbench Explorer and let me know how it works?

Regards.
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 18:52   #2
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,772
For me no problem with Win7 32Bit, how much RAM do you have on OS 4.1?

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 October 2018 at 00:02.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 19:13   #3
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 161
I think I allocated 256MB of 32-bit Z3 RAM.

I'm also running the 32-bit version of WinUAE.
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 16 October 2018, 21:18   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,772
Have you installed Update 1?

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=85388
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 05:09   #5
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 161
Yes, I did the auto update to Update 1.
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 17 October 2018, 09:03   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,772
Try using my two configurations Picasso IV - UAE Zorro III (update only the path)

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 October 2018 at 00:02.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 16:20   #7
UncleSpam
Registered User
UncleSpam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 161
AMIGASYSTEM,

Thanks for the configuration files. I finally had a chance to test them and I'm getting the same results.

Based on that, my current suspect is that I am using a Windows directory for my System partition (and Work) and Workbench Explorer may have an issue with that.

I tried to create a new HDF file and copy my System files to it, but the emulation locks up before finishing the copy. This may be an issue in itself.

But, I will eventually get the HDF working using my system files and we'll see.

Not using an HDF file may be an issue after all.

Thanks!
UncleSpam is offline  
Old 18 October 2018, 20:12   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 3,772
Yes, copying a lot of files from OS4.1 as well as slow is the risk of blocking or Hardfile corruption if you do not use HardFile configured as HD Controller "Accelerator Cyberstorm PPC". In the past it happened to me too, especially when I was copying folders with lots of files.
Solve with ease if you copy files from an OS3 060/JIT/ 256 MB RAM (see screenshot), in a few minutes you copy the entire HD OS4.1, I do it often.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 22 October 2018 at 00:02.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 23 October 2018, 04:02   #9
mritter0
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 204
I developed Workbench Explorer in WinUAE until the X5000 came out. So it does work. Use an HDF for sure.
mritter0 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workbench for Winuae!! synchro Amiga scene 203 21 July 2018 02:47
Amiga explorer hardfile to winuae Fabie support.Hardware 8 07 January 2010 15:59
WinUAE and Workbench 1.3 galu support.WinUAE 4 17 September 2009 21:40
Bloodwych workbench on winuae synchro project.ClassicWB 14 15 June 2009 21:29
Workbench 3.x OS in WinUAE oneshotdead New to Emulation or Amiga scene 9 29 August 2007 08:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06834 seconds with 15 queries