English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 September 2009, 16:16   #1
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Lock some settings while loading a new config.

Hi Toni,



Would it be possible to lock certain settings in WinUAE, so that when I load a new config., those settings or group of settings would not be affected.



For example :
  • Locking the whole Host section, to test only the Hardware part of a config. someone hands me over
  • Locking certain "critical" settings*, so that the new config would not alter them
Or may be some kind of WinUAE config. editor, if such an editor exists, or if its idea has emerged from the mind of one of your fellow testers would do the job better than WinUAE itself.


It "may" (big brackets here ) also possibly improve Quickconfig accuracy.


* During my attemps to load CD32 games with Steve's CD32 custom config, I would have liked Cycle exact not to be ticked. It's not much to untick it, but then it has me editing his original config / creating a new one just because of that.

Last edited by NewDeli; 09 September 2009 at 20:04.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 09 September 2009, 20:13   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,727
No but just remove configuration lines you don't want
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 September 2009, 07:09   #3
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Simply commenting / uncommenting lines would do I guess, but thanks.


Then what about the possibility to output (save as) only the Host part or the Hardware part of a config (last try, I promise )
NewDeli is offline  
Old 10 September 2009, 08:09   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
You mean like that :



?
TCD is offline  
Old 10 September 2009, 11:31   #5
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Lightbulb To Lock Host Settings, I...

Wow, partly due to seeing your screenshot, I think I got this working... finally.


TO LOCK HOST SETTINGS, I...
  • Gave it a name in the Host tab (Medieval , 'cause these settings aren't really common)
  • Saved this "piece of config." in Host subfolder
  • Ticked Autoload
  • Closed WinUAE
So now every config. I would load, whether Quickconfig (Quickconfig + start in Quickconfig + restart) or an external one would not affect my Host settings .
I hope it's not something known for years, I feel I am kinda learning my WinUAE lessons backwards, at times !



Toni decides of which settings should go in the Quickconfig's, right ?
Then I assume if they are carved into WinUAE like the Excalibur into its rock, is it not impossible to propose a modification to the CD32 one ?



@TCD
You seem to enjoy using very new versions of WinUAE !

Last edited by NewDeli; 11 September 2009 at 08:10.
NewDeli is offline  
Old 11 September 2009, 06:16   #6
NewDeli
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Paris / FRANCE
Age: 44
Posts: 1,248
Send a message via ICQ to NewDeli
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Yes
Ah, better ! Only WinUAE makes it possible, I knew it .
NewDeli is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.2.0 - Doesn't store several config settings. SailorSat support.WinUAE 1 30 June 2010 21:44
winuae crashes after loading another config p7h support.WinUAE 2 25 February 2007 13:35
auto loading save states for each custom config,how? kirk support.WinUAE 11 23 November 2006 18:56
config settings in WinUAE... overburn support.WinUAE 9 19 January 2005 10:50
WinUAE 0.8.26 - Crash on loading config Sascha support.WinUAE 5 16 May 2004 17:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06234 seconds with 13 queries