English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 November 2019, 18:50   #1
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 40
Posts: 153
8bitdo Retro Receiver for SEGA for Amiga??

Hi,i bought this adapter, 8bitdo Retro Receiver for SEGA,you can use it on Amiga in some way?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Retro Receiver for SEGA Genesis.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	65370  

Last edited by danko; 01 December 2019 at 21:56.
danko is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 18:53   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,875
No, it's a Bluetooth receiver. The 2.4GHz version of the M30 8Bitdo controller works though, especially with a Genesis2AmigaCD32 controller adapter.

edit: Ah, ok. The Genesis2AmigaCD32 adapter makes the M30 Bluetooth controller compatible too as it seems. Sadly Melbourne Console Reproductions doesn't have the adapter in stock anymore. A cheap custom build adapter with switched pins for Power and Ground should work too.

First post after the review.

https://gbatemp.net/review/8bitdo-se...-receiver.977/

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 30 November 2019 at 19:21.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 19:32   #3
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 40
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
No, it's a Bluetooth receiver. The 2.4GHz version of the M30 8Bitdo controller works though, especially with a Genesis2AmigaCD32 controller adapter.

edit: Ah, ok. The Genesis2AmigaCD32 adapter makes the M30 Bluetooth controller compatible too as it seems. Sadly Melbourne Console Reproductions doesn't have the adapter in stock anymore. A cheap custom build adapter with switched pins for Power and Ground should work too.

First post after the review.

https://gbatemp.net/review/8bitdo-se...-receiver.977/

Ok,thx for the infos!
danko is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 19:34   #4
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 40
Posts: 153
And for the custom build adapter have a schematics?
danko is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 19:40   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,875
Daedalus probably have something like this. For the pinouts. It seems only the +5V has to be switched from pin 5 to 7.

http://phobosys.de/blog_january_18.html
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 19:43   #6
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 40
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Daedalus probably have something like this. For the pinouts. It seems only the +5V which has to be switched from pin 5 to 7.

http://phobosys.de/blog_january_18.html

Thanks!!!!
danko is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 19:58   #7
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 40
Posts: 153
It possible to make an adapter with only two DB9 male and female connector with correct pinout?
danko is offline  
Old 30 November 2019, 20:21   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 48
Posts: 11,875
Probably. But i haven't tried it. Maybe Daedalus or Jope can tell you this for sure. A wired controller doesn't even need an adapter with switched pins, but powering the wireless MD adapter doesn't work properly without the little fix as it seems.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 30 November 2019 at 20:27.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 01 December 2019, 16:47   #9
SukkoPera
Mighty Pirate

SukkoPera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Torino, Italy
Age: 39
Posts: 85
Wired controllers have a single IC inside, which gets powered "parasitically" through pin 7 and works anyway. This thing definitely needs proper powering, hence the need to provide +5V on pin 5.

You can try with my OpenC64MegaDrivePadAdapter:

https://github.com/SukkoPera/OpenC64MegaDrivePadAdapter
SukkoPera is offline  
Old 02 December 2019, 13:24   #10
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by danko View Post
It possible to make an adapter with only two DB9 male and female connector with correct pinout?
Yep, an adaptor is very easy to build with a male and female 9-pin plug. Swapping pins 5 and 7 will give you proper power and control to the pad, but occasionally that won't work, so to force the MD pad permanently into 2-button mode you simply connect Amiga pin 7 to pad pin 5, and also pad pin 7 to pad pin 5 (preferably via a 1k resistor), leaving Amiga pin 5 unconnected.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 02 December 2019, 20:52   #11
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 40
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Yep, an adaptor is very easy to build with a male and female 9-pin plug. Swapping pins 5 and 7 will give you proper power and control to the pad, but occasionally that won't work, so to force the MD pad permanently into 2-button mode you simply connect Amiga pin 7 to pad pin 5, and also pad pin 7 to pad pin 5 (preferably via a 1k resistor), leaving Amiga pin 5 unconnected.

Hi, it possible to make an schematic? could be useful for everyone......
danko is offline  
Old 02 December 2019, 20:57   #12
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 759
Daedalus posted one a while back, found a copy of it here:

indigolemon is online now  
Old 04 December 2019, 00:37   #13
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,439
Cheers Yeah, that one also includes diodes, which makes the MD pad safe to use on a C64 too. But if you're only going to use it on an Amiga, you can leave the diodes out.

A 1K resistor instead of a wire between controller pins 5 and 7 will give protection against the unlikely event of using a 3-button Amiga mouse through the adaptor, in which scenario pressing the middle mouse button would short the 5V rail to ground.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 15:21   #14
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 715
Better schematic is this one (from Flashback docs).

Code:
                Prise DB-9 Mâle                   Prise DB-9 Femelle	


                     -                                -
                    |  \                             |  \
                    |   \                            |   \
                1   | .  \---------------------------| o  \   1
                    |     \                          |     \ 
                  6 |    . --           ,------------|    o     6
                    |      | \         /             |      |  
                2   | .    |--\-------/--------------| o    | 2
                    |      |   \     /               |      |  
                  7 |    . |----\---'  ,-------------|    o |   7
                    |      |     \    /              |      |  
     ==>        3   | .    |------\--/---------------| o    | 3         ==>  
                    |      |       \/                |      |  
  Joystick        8 |    . |-------/\----------------|    o |   8      Port 
 4  boutons         |      |      /  \               |      |        Joystick
                4   | .    |-----/----\--------------| o    | 4       AMIGA
                    |      |    /      \             |      |  
                  9 |    . ----/--------\------------|    o     9
                    |     /   /          \           |     /
                5   | .  /---'            \----------| o  /   5
                    |   /                            |   /    
                    |  /                             |  /
                     -                                -       


	Cela revient donc à relier chacune des broches de la prise mâle
	à leur homologue de la prise femelle, sauf la 5 qui va à la 7,
	la 6 qui va à la 5 et enfin la 7 à la 6.
You can use all four buttons in few games (e.g. Flashback).
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 21:03   #15
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Cheers Yeah, that one also includes diodes, which makes the MD pad safe to use on a C64 too. But if you're only going to use it on an Amiga, you can leave the diodes out.

A 1K resistor instead of a wire between controller pins 5 and 7 will give protection against the unlikely event of using a 3-button Amiga mouse through the adaptor, in which scenario pressing the middle mouse button would short the 5V rail to ground.
I used Megadrive controllers back in the 90s without issues. Was that bad?
We used them to play Barbarian. Just Barbarian. We would steal them from my friends little brother

Little brother is not so little these days and came with me to Amiga32/34.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 22:44   #16
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,439
No, there's only a tiny risk, and that's only in edge cases like games that continuously try to read a CD32 pad.

@Solo Kazuki
Yeah, that's good for a few games, but it also won't work for other games because the fire button is re-routed. If they'd simply swapped pins 5 and 7 it would work in moth scenarios, but too late now...
Daedalus is offline  
Old 07 December 2019, 23:56   #17
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 40
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by indigolemon View Post
Daedalus posted one a while back, found a copy of it here:




Make this cable and tested it on Amiga 600 with a wired sega controller, but only one key is mapped, with adapter by sukkopera two buttons are mapped,can you do some mods to make 2 buttons work?
danko is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 12:11   #18
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,439
Hmmmm... There's no button mapping done by that cable - in 2-button mode, pin 6 is button 1 (B on the MD pad) and pin 9 is button 2 (C on the MD pad). If button 2 isn't working, check the connection between them. Measure the voltage of the pin at the Amiga side if possible, it should be close to 5V by default and should drop to 0V when button C is pressed.

Have you included the diodes in your cable? They're primarily for protection of the C64 and aren't strictly necessary on the Amiga. I have found that it works fine on the A1200, but given that the button 2 input is an analogue input being used to detect a digital signal, its characteristics might change slightly from machine to machine, and the diode might be enough to upset it in some cases. Try remove / bypass the diode to pin 9 and see if that helps.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 12:38   #19
danko
Registered User
danko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 40
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
Hmmmm... There's no button mapping done by that cable - in 2-button mode, pin 6 is button 1 (B on the MD pad) and pin 9 is button 2 (C on the MD pad). If button 2 isn't working, check the connection between them. Measure the voltage of the pin at the Amiga side if possible, it should be close to 5V by default and should drop to 0V when button C is pressed.

Have you included the diodes in your cable? They're primarily for protection of the C64 and aren't strictly necessary on the Amiga. I have found that it works fine on the A1200, but given that the button 2 input is an analogue input being used to detect a digital signal, its characteristics might change slightly from machine to machine, and the diode might be enough to upset it in some cases. Try remove / bypass the diode to pin 9 and see if that helps.

All six diode included in this cable and try to remove diode D6 is ok?
danko is offline  
Old 17 December 2019, 13:25   #20
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,439
Yep, just to see if it helps.
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8Bitdo Megadrive/Genesis retro receiver + A1200 GearCross support.Hardware 0 20 September 2019 19:44
8bitdo sega wireless reciever and controllers nexus Hardware mods 29 11 April 2019 10:29
8bitdo Mod Kit for original Sega Mega Drive 6 Button, NES and SNES controller Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 19 16 October 2018 14:38
Wireless Logitech Mouse/Pad receiver for Amiga pandy71 News 6 21 December 2013 00:23
Sega Opens Retro Download Service Amigaboy Retrogaming General Discussion 12 07 September 2006 16:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10109 seconds with 16 queries