English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 April 2018, 11:23   #1
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,843
What are the differences between this and WinUAE?

Just curious.
Foebane is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 13:03   #2
haps
Rumpig

haps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The bottom of the bottle
Age: 3
Posts: 189
Is is really that difficult to download and see for yourself?
haps is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 13:31   #3
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,316
I was ready to say the same thing, download and see the differences yourself.

In general;
Fs-uae has much better UI, better design and fonts, it has that clean Mac look, is a lot simpler and is ported to more platforms such as Linux, Mac. Also gives a bit more attention to shaders. Plus it has a standalone "arcade" version and is using opengl (to be more portable).
nobody is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 15:00   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,356
I can do the same if thats the way it goes..

WinUAE has much better GUI, it is actual native Windows GUI, not some annoying alien one, it allows any possible configuration, nothing is hidden and it does not restrict you in any way which obviously makes it is more complex to use, much better latency and more advanced features due to use of native APIs, has bleeding edge features.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 15:14   #5
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,316
I use Winuae on Windows and fs-uae on Linux. If I had to choose between them sure I would choose Winuae, I am not a noob I know how to configure and I am not pissed by the UI in general.

PS a big disadvantage of opengl is that it won't vsync to multiple displays eg if you have 1st monitor 59hz and 2nd 60hz you'll experience stuttering for sure. But in directx you get perfect sync on external monitor.
nobody is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 15:14   #6
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,404
Exactly, what I would love to see is FS-UAE with either QT or GTK UI similar to WinUAE's.
Now that would be awesome.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 15:17   #7
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I can do the same if thats the way it goes..

WinUAE has much better GUI, it is actual native Windows GUI, not some annoying alien one, it allows any possible configuration, nothing is hidden and it does not restrict you in any way which obviously makes it is more complex to use, much better latency and more advanced features due to use of native APIs, has bleeding edge features.
malko is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 15:38   #8
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Exactly, what I would love to see is FS-UAE with either QT or GTK UI similar to WinUAE's.
Now that would be awesome.
Seriously? You would change this UI to Winuae look?

https://fs-uae.net/wp-content/upload...0/Launcher.png
nobody is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 15:50   #9
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,404
If I had the skills, yes, in a heartbeat.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 15:52   #10
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peristaltic City
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Exactly, what I would love to see is FS-UAE with either QT or GTK UI similar to WinUAE's.
Now that would be awesome.
i would love to see a nixuae in the future.

fs-uae already makes use of the uae core, right? now i wonder what it takes, to create a qt or gtk ui on top of it.

happy easter to all of you
Nova is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 20:06   #11
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobody View Post
Seriously? You would change this UI to Winuae look?

https://fs-uae.net/wp-content/upload...0/Launcher.png
Yes, without hesitation. After having designed GUIs myself in Borland Delphi (old name), I realise how compatible and consistent a Windows-native GUI can look, as opposed to the above.
Foebane is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 21:00   #12
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,316
Actually Windows are dying, we are not so far away from the day that they will follow Internet explorer to oblivion. Android was a major blow to the Windows monopoly. So better be prepared to work on other environments as well.
nobody is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 21:02   #13
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foebane View Post
Yes, without hesitation. After having designed GUIs myself in Borland Delphi (old name), I realise how compatible and consistent a Windows-native GUI can look, as opposed to the above.
That's a native toolkit UI, though - on Windows it looks like... well, a Windows UI.
Dunny is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 21:28   #14
thevoice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 118
winuae and fs-uae (which uses winuae code) have quite some different targets.

if you want to be able to emulate as much amiga hardware as possible then winuae is the number 1 choice.
winuae was/is and will forever be the champion when it comes to amiga emulation thanks to tony's endless work he put into winuae.

fs-uae is more like an easy to use thing. in combination with the launcher/arcade launcher and the online database it's a breeze to just play games. no need to worry about configurations and stuff.
and recently the launcher branched out to support more platforms beside the amiga.

so at the end of the day it is a matter of preference what one is about to do with the emulator,
thevoice is offline  
Old 01 April 2018, 21:48   #15
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 1,843
I don't mean to start some kind of competition war between emulators, but in the distant past I did use WinFellow, but that's strictly limited to OCS (possibly ECS). I was just curious as to what the "Third" Amiga Emulator offered.
Foebane is offline  
Old 02 April 2018, 15:51   #16
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,430
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
The main difference is Net Play ! https://fs-uae.net/net-play

you can play much games VS others Players on FS-UAE... and it's cross-platform...
Foul is offline  
Old 02 April 2018, 16:00   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,816
It was built with Amiga gaming in mind. Hence the Launcher and Arcade GUI. And yes, Netplay. Though the latter still isn't as userfriendly to set up as Frode said it would be (a few years ago).
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 02 April 2018, 16:22   #18
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,430
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul
in one word :

you're on Windows : Best Choice is WinUAE
you're on Linux/Mac : Only Choice is FS-UAE
Foul is offline  
Old 02 April 2018, 16:48   #19
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 45
Posts: 3,404
or WinUAE via Wine.
Don't know about Mac, but it works great on Linux.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 02 April 2018, 17:52   #20
waal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Paris / France
Age: 44
Posts: 134
WinUAE is of course the reference and every update is fascinating. Bleeding edge. I always learn something new with this system such as about hardware I could never use at the time.

So I didn't hesitate to virtualize a windows 7 on my macbook. That's the only reason I could tolerate this.

But I also use FS-UAE on OSX for quick gaming and demos. It's comfortable and the shaders are nice. I must say that it's very cool to have this build given the years of absence on the Apple machine. Sure, there was still E-UAE and Hi-Toro as frontend but good luck with this.

I also use Amiberry on my Pi 3 and it's going better and better.

But all of this wouldn't have happened without the very impressive work of Toni Wilen and then the work of the different devs for the ports. So kudos to all of them.

I want Amiga everywhere. Period.

Last edited by waal; 02 April 2018 at 17:59.
waal is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Differences between beta versions and non-versioned winuae.zip? amadama support.WinUAE 2 22 August 2014 13:37
WinUAE debugger differences pmc support.WinUAE 2 05 October 2011 13:57
differences in ram consuming winuae vs real 1200 _ThEcRoW support.WinUAE 9 02 May 2006 14:01
Differences between 3.5 and 3.9 redneon Amiga scene 1 17 February 2005 13:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09343 seconds with 15 queries