English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2017, 13:00   #1
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Arcade cabinet with rotative CRT monitor and real amiga inside project

hi guys,

Since 2 months, i am working on new project : an arcade cabinet with rotative CRT monitor.

- 2D/3D schematics are finished (using VariCAD tool)
- MDF structure are finished, built and painted.
- rotative monitor system is done (but not again motorized)

I have to finish the wiring and find a motor powerful enough for the rotation.

The goal is to get a pixel perfect render for arcade games and a real amiga.

If people are interested, I will released the 3D technical schemes on this thread.

Done:
- Dédicated Win7+ATi GPU+Groovy mame for pixel perfect display
- Cabinet 2D/3D schematics
- Cabinet built and painted
- monitor rotation system (rim + roller whells...) using CRT PHILIPS 21PT5408 tube and PCB
- front glass painted
- front panel with switches and wiring built
- CRT rotation motorized with limit switches calibred (06-29-2017)
- retro lighting for marquee (with switch on front panel between monitor and x arcade) added
- marquee designed and installed (x10)
- X-arcade , Trusmaster steering wheels support
- amiga inside with common monitor/keyboard (mouse possible but not connected because i use mouse/joy automatic switch)

To do:
- add twice light guns support (working but not installed)
- to make 2 X-arcade tank/DB9 adaptator



Remarks:
- I use an mini ATX PC with Groovymame and ATI GPU for perfect pixel render for arcade/Megadrive/(SNES), etc
- I want use an real amiga for amiga games of course (but x arcade adaptor to do=>using currently joy/mouse hidden in hidden drawer under X Arcade)
- it's designed for Trusmaster steering wheels support (replacing X arcade)
=>both computers can be placed inside cabinet.

best regards.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CabinetV4-3D-1.PNG
Views:	156
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	53399   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170610_161903.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	465.9 KB
ID:	53400   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sans titre2.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	70.6 KB
ID:	53413   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sans titre3.png
Views:	129
Size:	96.9 KB
ID:	53414  

Last edited by CFOU!; 13 September 2017 at 10:40.
CFOU! is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 June 2017, 13:54   #2
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 47
Posts: 551
Hi CFOU!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
Since 2 months, i am working on project of arcade cabinet with rotative CRT monitor
GREAT!

Quote:
I have to finish the wiring and find a motor powerful enough for the rotation.
If not found there is always a solution: your arms

Quote:
If people are interested, I will released the 3D technical schemes on this thread.
I think that there surely people interested

Cheers,
ross
ross is offline  
Old 12 June 2017, 14:03   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Cool stuff CFOU! and I see you have an X-Arcade there also
DamienD is offline  
Old 12 June 2017, 15:50   #4
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,517
I would use a motor from a washing machine.
Predseda is offline  
Old 12 June 2017, 17:25   #5
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Hi CFOU!

If not found there is always a solution: your arms
yes

it's already working with my arms !!

But the best solution is to use a motor with a 3 position switch on the front to choose between the horizontal and vertical position
CFOU! is offline  
Old 12 June 2017, 17:41   #6
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
I would use a motor from a washing machine.
I will look for that but I'm afraid the size is too big.

i already try:
- 5RPM 12V DC motor with engine couple of 106 ft lbs (15kg.cm)
=>without success

i'll try soon
- both 5RPM 12V DC motor with engine couple of 212 ft lbs (30kg.cm)
- one 5RPM 220V AC motor with engine couple of 184 ft lbs (26kg.cm)

i hope it will be enought power

I used VariCAD for 2D/3D schematics (see linked PNG)

I use a hidden mouse/keyboard for maintenance (in a hidden drawer under X arcade Tank)

Last edited by CFOU!; 18 June 2017 at 14:21.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 10:50   #7
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,175
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Hi good to see you again ! Arcade machines are very cool too !!!
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 21:46   #8
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
I will look for that but I'm afraid the size is too big.
Do you know how heavy is a drum full of your wet socks?
Predseda is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 23:22   #9
spiff
Oh noes!
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 660
Probably a good idea to have a degauss button easily reachable, if you're going to rotate often.. or get a separate coil, hair dryer works in a pinch.

"Broke" my last CRT about 3 years ago, masking came loose and it never recovered. I've been looking for a good 4k 27 inch since then.
spiff is offline  
Old 14 June 2017, 14:25   #10
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,384
A window viper motor from a car might be suitable? Or a starter motor from a motorcycle/scooter. Should be small and powerful.

Why do you need the screen to rotate btw? To match different games where some was designed with a landscape mode display and others in portrait mode?
demolition is offline  
Old 14 June 2017, 14:30   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Why do you need the screen to rotate btw? To match different games where some was designed with a landscape mode display and others in portrait mode?
Exactly

...most arcade games are landscape but virtually all shooters e.g. Raiden / Twin Cobra are portrait.

The screen will rotate to portrait in MAME but the screen is small when the monitor is landscape. If you change the orientation of the monitor to portrait you will get a larger / fuller image.
DamienD is offline  
Old 14 June 2017, 15:17   #12
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,384
Seems excessive to rotate something as big and heavy as a CRT, but can understand the desire to have the feature. :-) Besides the degaussing required after every rotation, could it also not give convergence problems in general? I mean the tube is adjusted for one orientation and when rotated, it won't be optimal any longer. Perhaps the errors are small enough to not be severe though.

For games in portrait mode, do they use the same tubes as regular landscape mode CRTs, i.e. with vertical scanlines or do some have horizontal scanlines in portrait-oriented tubes?
demolition is offline  
Old 15 June 2017, 10:24   #13
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiff View Post
Probably a good idea to have a degauss button easily reachable, if you're going to rotate often.. or get a separate coil, hair dryer works in a pinch.

"Broke" my last CRT about 3 years ago, masking came loose and it never recovered. I've been looking for a good 4k 27 inch since then.
yes, is good idea, i will modify design to add degauss button in front panel between monitor and X arcade Tank
CFOU! is offline  
Old 15 June 2017, 10:34   #14
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Seems excessive to rotate something as big and heavy as a CRT, but can understand the desire to have the feature. :-) Besides the degaussing required after every rotation, could it also not give convergence problems in general? I mean the tube is adjusted for one orientation and when rotated, it won't be optimal any longer. Perhaps the errors are small enough to not be severe though.

For games in portrait mode, do they use the same tubes as regular landscape mode CRTs, i.e. with vertical scanlines or do some have horizontal scanlines in portrait-oriented tubes?
yes, it may seem excessive but i will add painted glass (bezel) to hide rotation system.

So to turn the screen, I should each time remove the glass...

So if possible turn button (3 positions switches) with automatic degauss is better way.

all my motor are not enougth powerfull
window viper motor is a good idea i will investigate to test it
CFOU! is offline  
Old 15 June 2017, 20:54   #15
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
Why not just install a lever? It removes a lot of margin for error.
idrougge is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 01:30   #16
paul773car
RAC377LAUP
paul773car's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Billericay UK
Age: 43
Posts: 93
if you use a level you could power that internally with a car window power regulator, with the lever you wouldnt need so much power and you can set the up and down stops on the regulator???
paul773car is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 19:30   #17
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul773car View Post
if you use a level you could power that internally with a car window power regulator, with the lever you wouldnt need so much power and you can set the up and down stops on the regulator???
hi

i have already tested power regulateur.

The disadvantage is that it increases the inertia of the motor at the time of stopping.

i use following moteur without success :
https://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B01...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B01...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sans titre.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	53466  
CFOU! is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 19:33   #18
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Why not just install a lever? It removes a lot of margin for error.
What type of lever? I do not see how to use a lever to do a quarter turn of the wheel.
CFOU! is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 20:26   #19
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
all my motor are not enougth powerfull
Can you gear them down?
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 18 June 2017, 05:00   #20
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU! View Post
What type of lever? I do not see how to use a lever to do a quarter turn of the wheel.
One that extends out of the cabinet. Nothing fancy, just a stick attached to the monitor's axis.
idrougge is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Amiga-based Arcade Cabinet Project Astrofra Hardware mods 31 11 June 2014 05:42
anyone know stuff about MAME arcade cabinet builds techn1um Retrogaming General Discussion 59 10 September 2010 21:29
Arcade cabinet and emulators Konrad Retrogaming General Discussion 16 03 October 2006 15:43
Best games for an arcade cabinet unclet Nostalgia & memories 11 28 May 2006 04:15
Buying an arcade cabinet LaundroMat Retrogaming General Discussion 6 26 April 2004 10:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 1.46889 seconds with 13 queries