English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 February 2015, 23:42   #61
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekopaa View Post
Has there been any project to make or port Outrun for Amiga. The orginal port is one of worst games i played Sega Megadrive port is amazing Atari ST is bad too.
I think the first proper (Arcade perfect) Outrun port was on the SEGA Saturn, a bunch of years after the other ports. (The Saturn Sprite Scaling capabilities could match that of the Arcade hardware).
In the 80's, the Megadrive was in fact pretty decent, but you'd expect that from SEGA wouldnt you. The PC Engine port wasn't bad either. The Amiga port certainly was a huge, huge disappointment at the time. While it would be interesting to see an Amiga port optimized for AGA Amigas with 030 or better, I don't think its gonna happen any time soon ;-)
eXeler0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 February 2015, 23:55   #62
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
While it would be interesting to see an Amiga port optimized for AGA Amigas with 030 or better, I don't think its gonna happen any time soon ;-)
I doubt we will ever see a port for AGA from the arcade version. But don't forget about us 020 users, we don't all have accelerators .
john1979 is offline  
Old 25 February 2015, 17:49   #63
jolly11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 111
I don't mind if isn't a 1:1 conversion, I can play it in many way (I like very much saturn's version), the goal must be to do a better conversion than the one we had with the same hardware (amiga 500 with 1 mega)
jolly11 is offline  
Old 06 March 2015, 00:50   #64
Coagulus
Gets there in the end...

Coagulus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wales
Posts: 608
Mine's smoother than the original - and I just used colour rotation! ;-)

zipped adf for aga included (don't get hopes up, it was quick!) with Blitz2.1 source in case someone could actually make a full game out of it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip inrun.zip (27.0 KB, 88 views)
Coagulus is offline  
Old 06 March 2015, 01:31   #65
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coagulus View Post
Mine's smoother than the original - and I just used colour rotation! ;-)

zipped adf for aga included (don't get hopes up, it was quick!) with Blitz2.1 source in case someone could actually make a full game out of it.
lol ... not bad... it's a start!
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 March 2015, 04:04   #66
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,174
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
yes it's not bad. This game would require some visual tricks in order to be able to do some of the nice effects the coin-op has
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 06 March 2015, 22:34   #67
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
yes it's not bad. This game would require some visual tricks in order to be able to do some of the nice effects the coin-op has
The Arcade version is ace! I was surprised by its graphics when I replayed it recently. I recall the C64 being what I believed to me a good port considering the time it released. I very much doubt the Amiga version had much of an improvement other than graphics being brighter lol
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 10 July 2015, 17:23   #68
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,282
HEre's an article discussing the process of making a game of this type. I thought it might help anyone interested in developing such a game:
http://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/Brand..._the_trade.php
Akira is offline  
Old 10 July 2015, 23:08   #69
DisposableHero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 183
Not sure how much memory having the full graphics implemented would take, but using a 14Mhz processor to emulate 2 10Mhz ones and a 3.54 (presumably) Z80 sounds like a big ask, even with fastram. Lotus 2 shows the limits of this type of game on the A500, and the scenery is nowhere near as complex as arcade OutRun. Lotus 3 is far too slow in places on an A500.
DisposableHero is offline  
Old 11 July 2015, 00:35   #70
Gzegzolka
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Warszawa / Polska
Posts: 1,026
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
HEre's an article discussing the process of making a game of this type. I thought it might help anyone interested in developing such a game:
http://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/Brand..._the_trade.php

I do not like idea of killing deers, but those pixels look very addictive It reminds me old pc-dos World Rally Fever , both game are very heavy about amount of sprites and brushes used to put on tracks as decoration.
Gzegzolka is offline  
Old 11 July 2015, 03:55   #71
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisposableHero View Post
Not sure how much memory having the full graphics implemented would take, but using a 14Mhz processor to emulate 2 10Mhz ones and a 3.54 (presumably) Z80 sounds like a big ask, even with fastram. Lotus 2 shows the limits of this type of game on the A500, and the scenery is nowhere near as complex as arcade OutRun. Lotus 3 is far too slow in places on an A500.
Agree with you: the mountain scenes were unbearable on my old A500; probably because side sprites were too big and using too much colors: however i suppose that with some smart tweaking (like using mixed bitmaps on/off and such) and 25fps rather than 50 more detail can be reached
saimon69 is offline  
Old 12 July 2015, 16:58   #72
SilentBob
Junior Member

SilentBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
The Arcade version is ace! I was surprised by its graphics when I replayed it recently. I recall the C64 being what I believed to me a good port considering the time it released. I very much doubt the Amiga version had much of an improvement other than graphics being brighter lol
The annoying thing about the C64 version is that there are no road forks. You have to load all the singular tracks and play them separately.
SilentBob is offline  
Old 12 July 2015, 22:55   #73
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,811
PC DOS CGA [ Show youtube player ]
s2325 is online now  
Old 12 July 2015, 23:53   #74
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Although a better A500 port would be an interesting challenge, I doubt it can magically be much better than Lotus (2) so really, an A1200 (with some fastmem) port maybe would be a bit more rewarding considering it could look more like the Arcade version.
The PC Engine version looked pretty good an that hardware is much older than the A1200.
As for the c64 version, I was pretty disappointed. Granted I was a huge fan of the arcade so expectations were probably always going to be too high... but I remember it was much too easy and I finished it like in the first attempt.
Gameplay wise Buggy Boy was much much better than OutRun on the c64.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 13 July 2015, 03:34   #75
adrdesign
Registered User

adrdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 267
Eerm... just for the record...
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=998600&postcount=17
I think threads can be mixed or something.
adrdesign is offline  
Old 04 August 2015, 20:30   #76
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,811
I think Amiga need Hyper Crash [ Show youtube player ] not Outrun.
s2325 is online now  
Old 04 August 2015, 20:59   #77
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 699
@s2325
hypercrash seems absolutely feasible, but is a low hanging fruit, Outrun is the yummy big cherry in top of the 300 ft tree, with in the middle a couple of beehives, rabid squirrels and an hungry grizzly bear, THAT is the goal why? Because Amiga version did suck and for the Honor we gotta show we can! (ok exaggerated but is that the spirit)

Suggestion:
i did see again the Big Run port and realized that, like unreal flight phase, is using dual playfield in hi-res non interlaced that also seem a faster mode; do that might give some hnts on how to do stuff? how fast is hi-res non int 16?
saimon69 is offline  
Old 04 August 2015, 21:06   #78
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
I'm kinda baffled about Lotus 3's speed on A500 you know. I've seen this vid from Zeus:

[ Show youtube player ]

which, as you can see on the comments section, is ran on a true A500 and the rock section seems pretty flawless. The guy asking seems baffled as well as he has experienced the same slow downs everyone else is talking about here.

Is it possible that there's actually a slower and another, proper version of the game?

Otherwise, how could you explain that? I've no real A500 to try it on, only A1200 and the whdload version works just like on the video, but that could be just A1200's hardware having some rare speed-up effect on the game. Any ideas?
vulture is offline  
Old 04 August 2015, 21:14   #79
saimon69
Bedroom musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 699
@vulture
that guy is me, and i remember Lotus III mountain level damn slow in my 500 1.2 1 meg (that i have in europe) so unless the version i had was a beta and then the final version did run smoother had no clue...

(should not be a factor but i also used to play with music on)
saimon69 is offline  
Old 04 August 2015, 21:20   #80
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
I see.... Perhaps someone here has a WHDLoad capable A500 to try it on? Or just a different floppy version? I'm talking of course about single player mode. Split screen wouldn't be as smooth.

Last edited by vulture; 04 August 2015 at 21:40.
vulture is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outrun likes games question sandruzzo Nostalgia & memories 51 20 July 2013 18:40
would you like to have an Outrun like for Aga? sandruzzo Retrogaming General Discussion 50 30 January 2013 13:03
Problems running outrun europa dlfrsilver project.WHDLoad 12 23 November 2007 23:30
good retro racer in Lotus/Outrun style s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 4 27 May 2007 21:57
Outrun arcade challenge.......... Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 0 12 September 2003 16:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22242 seconds with 13 queries