English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 June 2012, 12:10   #41
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Don't use FastIPrefs or any of Cosmos's libraries, please !
Just in case of confusion. FastIPrefs is optimized by H.-W.Schober in 1997.
daxb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 June 2012, 12:19   #42
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Yes ok, but it's not capable to do the job of IPrefs under OS 3.5+. It cannot handle the new preferences format of OS 3.5 or 3.9, no matter if it's perfectly optimized or not.
PeterK is offline  
Old 16 June 2012, 23:29   #43
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,725
Of course FastIPrefs is for OS3.1.
daxb is offline  
Old 17 June 2012, 18:51   #44
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Hi Bamiga2002,
are you sure that it's 46.4.228 which is doing the job for you, and not 225 ?? I was wrong, 228 is not using FastMem by default like 225 is doing it. I'm a bit confused now, what's really going wrong on your system. So, I need some more information. Is it really DOpus 4, not DOpus 5, which makes the problem with falling back into 4-color mode ?

Which versions and revisions of the following files are installed ?
workbench.library, datatypes.library, picture.datatype, png.datatype and/or WarpPNG.datatype, all picasso96 files or cybergraphics files. Which size and date+time has the icon.library ?

Version of SetPatch, IPrefs, exec.library, graphics.library, dos.library ?

Don't use FastIPrefs or any of Cosmos' libraries, please !
Hello PeterK, sorry for late reply.

file versions:
icon.library 46.4.228 - 26660 bytes (31.3.2012 07:40)
workbench.library 45.131
datatypes.library 44.48
picture.datatype 45.17
png.datatype 45.16 (WarpPNG)
PICASSO96:
Picasso96API.library 2.310
emulation.library 40.395
fastlayers.library 40.48
rtg.library 40.3992

Setpatch 44.38
IPrefs 45.13
exec.library 45.20
graphics.library 40.24 (in ROM)
dos.library 40.3 (in ROM)

With latest icon.library 46.4.240 icons display slowly and chipram is used. I use DOpus 4. It gives me this error message:

"Directory opus request:
unable to open screen/window"

and then it opens a screen in PAL low res mode with 2-colors or 4-colors (chipram is used up).

EDIT: attached Startup-sequence & User-startup. also tested with icon.library 46.4.233 and 46.4.235 and it also eats chipram.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Startup-Sequence.txt (1.5 KB, 204 views)
File Type: txt User-Startup.txt (1.2 KB, 142 views)

Last edited by Bamiga2002; 17 June 2012 at 19:11. Reason: added infos
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 17 June 2012, 21:26   #45
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Hello Bamiga2002,

your configuration looks quite reasonable. I can't find an obvious bug, but I will check that in detail on my WinUAE system.

Atm, I can only see two things, which you should change:
Quote:
SetPatch DISABLEROMMODULES "" SKIPROMMODULES fs,icon,ram-handler,scsi.device,shell,workbench QUIET
Please, remove icon and workbench from this line, because they don't belong to the DEVS:AmigaOS ROM UPDATE.
Quote:
SetPatch DISABLEROMMODULES "" SKIPROMMODULES fs,ram-handler,scsi.device,shell QUIET
Second change: You are using two lines: Stack 4096, but no MinStack or StackAttack instruction. A stack of 4000 is the system default anyway, and two Stack instructions with the same argument won't make much sense.

But much more important, the Stack instruction has only an effect on the commands in your startup-sequence and will not prevent stack overflows after booting has finished. The default stack of 4000 is much too low for programs, tools and libraries. Please, insert a line with MinStack 10000 after SetPatch.

And please delete 46.4.233, it was buggy !

It would also be nice, if you could check the attributes of your memory chunks. Is the FastMem PUBLIC, which priority has it, and which priority has the ChipMem ? You can use SysInfo or similar tools like ShowConfig.

Maybe, this could help in case that the workbench.prefs are broken? Delete the workbench.prefs from ENVARC:sys and from ENV:sys and then use Sys:Prefs/Workbench, set the memory type to "other memory" and save it. Remove the WBCtrl IMT=IconFast from the startup-sequence and reboot (Hardware Reset).

Btw, what happens if you execute IconsToFastMem from a shell after booting ?
And, what happens with the original icon.library 45.1 ?
What are your PicassoVS settings ?
Attached Files
File Type: lha MinStack.lha (2.0 KB, 141 views)

Last edited by PeterK; 18 June 2012 at 02:37.
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 05:09   #46
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
hiya Peter,

I just started using v46.4 with my 3.9 install and so far everything is working nicely, thanks for your efforts
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 07:08   #47
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Atm, I can only see two things, which you should change:

Please, remove icon and workbench from this line, because they don't belong to the DEVS:AmigaOS ROM UPDATE.
Done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK
Second change: You are using two lines: Stack 4096, but no MinStack or StackAttack instruction. A stack of 4000 is the system default anyway, and two Stack instructions with the same argument won't make much sense.

But much more important, the Stack instruction has only an effect on the commands in your startup-sequence and will not prevent stack overflows after booting has finished. The default stack of 4000 is much too low for programs, tools and libraries. Please, insert a line with MinStack 10000 after SetPatch.
OK I have changed this, removed the stack-lines and put "MinStack 10000" right after Setpatch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK
And please delete 46.4.233, it was buggy !
Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK
It would also be nice, if you could check the attributes of your memory chunks. Is the FastMem PUBLIC, which priority has it, and which priority has the ChipMem ? You can use SysInfo or similar tools like ShowConfig.
Checked with Scout, Sysinfo and Showconfig.
FastMem starts at $78000000 and hasn't got any in-name/node. Scout says <none> in Memory/in-name column and Sysinfo displays plain empty. ShowConfig does display "FAST" so it's recognised. FastMem has priority of 40.

ChipMem is flagged as "chip memory" by both Scout/SysInfo and has priority of -10.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK
Maybe, this could help in case that the workbench.prefs are broken? Delete the workbench.prefs from ENVARC:sys and from ENV:sys and then use Sys:Prefs/Workbench, set the memory type to "other memory" and save it. Remove the WBCtrl IMT=IconFast from the startup-sequence and reboot (Hardware Reset).
Tried this, no help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK
Btw, what happens if you execute IconsToFastMem from a shell after booting ?
And, what happens with the original icon.library 45.1 ?
What are your PicassoVS settings ?
IconsToFastMem seems to do nothing for me, memory runs out even if it is ran.
Original 45.1 icon.library works like it should - fastram is used. Although it's slower than 46.4.228
I attached my P96-variable settings as file.
Attached Files
File Type: txt p96-variables.txt (288 Bytes, 135 views)
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 07:41   #48
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Hello Bamiga2002,

what are the "attributes" for your FastMem in Scout or ShowConfig or is there a the keyword PUBLIC in SysInfo ?

Last edited by PeterK; 18 June 2012 at 08:17.
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 08:12   #49
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
SysInfo:
"memory type: 32BitRAM PUBLIC KICK"

Scout mem attibute: $0405

IconsToAnyMem didn't seem to help here.

note: sometimes when I coldstart/reboot the miggy the icon.library works normally, sometimes not. strange. haven't been able to isolate what causes this.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 08:16   #50
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Did you copy any PNG-icons into DEVS:monitors ?

are you runnung out of FastMem, too ?
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 08:19   #51
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
No, there are only normal icons for monitor-files:
Additional info from Scout, memory attributes for FastMem:

MEMF_ANY=$0000
MEMF_PUBLIC=$0001
MEMF_FAST=$0004
MEMF_KICK=$0400
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 08:29   #52
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
How much FastMem is free ?
For me, it looks as if your FastMem is not available or not properly recognized by the system.

You could try to insert a WAIT 2 above IPrefs

Last edited by PeterK; 18 June 2012 at 09:28.
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 09:04   #53
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Added "Wait 2". Free fast ~ 119-119.5Mb right after WB has loaded up and ~1.6Mb free chip.
With this IconsForceFastMem some icons revert to WB-default ones, eg. DOPUS 4 yellow icon changes to gray hammer (default). Chip mem is eaten up anyway.

I deleted workbench.prefs, rebooted, library working fine -> rebooted, chipram eaten again. It seems to randomly work.

Last edited by Bamiga2002; 18 June 2012 at 09:12.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 09:13   #54
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
That means that the icon.library doesn' get any FastMem for the planar images. I've no idea why not.
What says Avail FLUSH ?

You could also try to load the iconlib and wblib by SetPatch instead of LoadModule. In this case remove the DISABLEROMMODULES ""

Last edited by PeterK; 18 June 2012 at 09:25.
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 09:36   #55
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
The SetPatch way didn't work either, same results.
Avail FLUSH gives otherwise normal results BUT "Largest" in fastmem is displayed "0". With icon.library 46.4.228 it is almost ~120Mb.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 09:42   #56
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Ok, I'm gonna try to make a modification in the icon.library now. It may take a few minutes...

Removed.

Last edited by PeterK; 18 June 2012 at 19:28.
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 10:13   #57
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Thanks that was fast!
Will test this version as soon as I get back home.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 10:30   #58
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,668
Don't know if this version could help, but I've no better idea atm.
PeterK is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 10:32   #59
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I'll give it a go ofcourse then we'll see
I wonder if anyone else with a BPPC has this same problem...
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 19:37   #60
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Just tried v241 and the problem's the same. Tried with IconsForceFastMem and WBCtrl, no help. Is there something specific I need to check here?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 6 03 December 2012 12:47
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20415 seconds with 13 queries