English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 May 2015, 20:22   #241
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 43
Posts: 236
just incredible
huepper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 May 2015, 21:49   #242
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,128
Quickstart A1200 4Mb Fast

PB-Twisted-A.DMS -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=10549

WinUAE Beta 17 (2015.05.02) -> it starts to happen from this version!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PB-Twisted-A_001.png
Views:	342
Size:	7.5 KB
ID:	44237  

Last edited by amilo3438; 20 May 2015 at 17:08. Reason: link added for demo
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 22 May 2015, 16:58   #243
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 156
Just wanted to add that I can't get OpenBSD 3.2 to get past the "probe HD for installation" phase with 3.0 but it works fine in 3.1-beta. The le0 (A2065) in SLiRP mode is damn slow though... Much slower than in AMIX 2.1.
Noth is offline  
Old 22 May 2015, 21:51   #244
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
Quickstart A1200 4Mb Fast

PB-Twisted-A.DMS -> http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=10549

WinUAE Beta 17 (2015.05.02) -> it starts to happen from this version!
Will be fixed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noth View Post
Just wanted to add that I can't get OpenBSD 3.2 to get past the "probe HD for installation" phase with 3.0 but it works fine in 3.1-beta. The le0 (A2065) in SLiRP mode is damn slow though... Much slower than in AMIX 2.1.
If 68040 config, then it probably was fixed in b1.

Sorry but I am not going to debug any emulation problem that is not simple "not working at all/crashes" when OS is "alien". Too much work x 100. (Unless OpenBSD sources reveal the problem easily)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 May 2015, 06:12   #245
Noth
Registered User
Noth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Will be fixed.



If 68040 config, then it probably was fixed in b1.

Sorry but I am not going to debug any emulation problem that is not simple "not working at all/crashes" when OS is "alien". Too much work x 100. (Unless OpenBSD sources reveal the problem easily)
It all works (TM) so I'm not complaining. Not a dev so pinpointing that stuff is way beyond my skill set. It hasn't been supported since 2003 anyway.. The hanging in 3.0 is moot, although I'm surprised it's a 68040 issue, not an i/o driver issue.
Noth is offline  
Old 23 May 2015, 14:15   #246
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3100b21.zip

Beta 21: (RC1)

- b17 DSKSYNC update should not have started DMA in WORDSYNC mode.
- Moved A590/A2091 ram autoconfig board after HD board. A2091 install disk RAM tester expects it. (Some other boards may also have wrong HD/Fast RAM board order)
- Debugger deep trainer "not modified" condition fixed.
- AROS ROM updated.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 May 2015, 03:47   #247
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,128
TLC-powertrax
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=389
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=393

Above glitch start to happen again from Beta 5! (worked fine in WinUAE 3.1.0 from Beta 1 to Beta 4)

p.s.
Also, regarding the demo, something with plasma was broken in official WinUAE 3.0.0 ?! (just for info)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UPFRONT-PlasticPassion

http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=348

White screen with music on plasma part in OCS! (if change to ECS seems better)

It starts to happen from Beta 3!

Last edited by amilo3438; 24 May 2015 at 04:15.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 24 May 2015, 14:14   #248
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by amilo3438 View Post
TLC-powertrax
More undocumented features remaining when copper writes to BPLxPT and next cycle is DMA. Apparently bitplanes 5+ work differently or something. (This is not exactly same problem as previously, similar result but different reason..)

I probably try to fix this after 3.1 because full fix needs lots of real hardware testing. Any attempt to guess will break other programs. (As you must have noticed!)

EDIT: Fixed because solution appears to be very simple.

Quote:
White screen with music on plasma part in OCS! (if change to ECS seems better)
You found really rare bug edge condition. Fixed.

Scroller is actually broken on ECS too and works only accidentally.. It sets DDFSTRT/DDFSTOP value pair so that it causes DMA conflict but because DDFSTOP is >maxhpos, ddfstop condition does not match. Here comes the OCS/ECS difference: At the start of next line OCS Agnus will always clear "horizontal window open" flag but ECS leaves it alone (only ddfstop match will clear it) -> after first line (that caused the conflict), next line will start horizontally from smallest possible position (0x18) which does not cause conflicts anymore! (Technically same as DDFSTRT=0x2c becoming DDFSTRT=0x18)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 24 May 2015 at 18:54.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 May 2015, 23:41   #249
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 56
Posts: 520
Slightly OT but just wanted to thank Amilo3438 for his stunning long term demo testing, helping make WinUAE even better by pointing out so many emulation errors for Toni to fix..

Truly amazing dedication there..People rarely understand just how mind numbing testing is, you have shown real determination..

Thank you...
Mclane is offline  
Old 25 May 2015, 00:30   #250
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,128
Thank you... but I'm afraid it's like this ...

until my "outdated" WinXP laptop be able to run a new version of WinUAE I'll be able to help.

p.s. I do not intend to purchase a new laptop until the current works... ie while covers all my needs.

Cheers!

p.s.2
Also, as long as it is fun I will try as much as I can (get), despite recently, the lack of free time and consequently difficulties in finding motivation.

And yes, debugging really is not easy, so the occasional "thank you" feels good because you know that there is someone who appreciates the effort.

Perhaps a little too far with emotions, but I felt like... I hope it will not turn out a cry-baby.

Last edited by amilo3438; 25 May 2015 at 11:01.
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 25 May 2015, 19:41   #251
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Twisted by Polka Brothers moved to problematic AGA demos. (and thanks for Upfront last minute report )

XP support is not going away as soon as I originally expected because next visual studio version still supports it. Some other "legacy" features may go away but it will still run on XP.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 May 2015, 21:16   #252
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3100b22.zip

Beta 22: (RC2)

- In some rare situatations both "HARD_DDF_STOP" and "plf_passed_stop" test conditions incorrectly passed in single fetch block. Only happened when DDFSTRT/DDFSTOP value pair caused bitplane dma overrun so result was different corrupted display. (Plastic Passion / Upfront plasma part with OCS Agnus)
- BPL DMA pointer modified one cycle before same channel's BPLxDAT gets accessed behavior adjusted. (Powertrax / The Light Circle)
- Archos ADD-500 is also confirmed having fast ram autoconfig board after HD controller.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 25 May 2015, 21:35   #253
Fieldday
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76
I ripped the kommos eproms to disk as .bin file (2 27c128 eproms). When I scan the rom folder they are not found. Is there any special to do?
Fieldday is offline  
Old 25 May 2015, 21:40   #254
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fieldday View Post
I ripped the kommos eproms to disk as .bin file (2 27c128 eproms). When I scan the rom folder they are not found. Is there any special to do?
Nothing special is needed. Perhaps it is different version? (EDIT: Attach or upload them to the zone and I'll check)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 25 May 2015 at 21:48.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 May 2015, 01:19   #255
amilo3438
Amiga 500 User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EU
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
XP support is not going away as soon as I originally expected because next visual studio version still supports it. Some other "legacy" features may go away but it will still run on XP.
That's nice. I also did not expect that the new version of VS could have support for XP. (really great)
amilo3438 is offline  
Old 26 May 2015, 07:21   #256
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,152
When I run a program that uses the Tocatta emulation, I need to disable "sound -> automatic switching" to hear any sound.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 26 May 2015, 17:52   #257
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
When I run a program that uses the Tocatta emulation, I need to disable "sound -> automatic switching" to hear any sound.
Argh (and interesting that no one noticed until now, it should have been same in 3.0 too). http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip should fix this.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 May 2015, 20:10   #258
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,173
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Toni, i have noticed a problem introduced in b21. Rawread freeze when i try to image any original disk. the problem was not there in b20.

I noticed you changed this :

- b17 DSKSYNC update should not have started DMA in WORDSYNC mode.

Can you have a look and see what happens ? BTW It's not related to my amiga configuration under winuae, Thanks
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 26 May 2015, 20:21   #259
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
"Not enough information!" No command line, no used disk. No nothing.

EDIT: Duplication instructions needed because change you mentioned is related to disk dma and rawread does not even start any disk dma operations.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 26 May 2015 at 20:35.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 26 May 2015, 22:02   #260
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Argh (and interesting that no one noticed until now, it should have been same in 3.0 too). http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip should fix this.
Thanks it is fixed.

I noticed that since the beginning, I tried to report it but I am sure I was not clear when I spoke about the issue, well you know, english is not my native language, it is far from perfect...

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 26 May 2015 at 22:56.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 3.0.0 beta series (was 2.8.2/2.9.0) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 1012 15 December 2014 14:41
WinUAE 2.4.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 342 29 March 2012 10:02
WinUAE 2.3.2 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 79 31 May 2011 20:39
WinUAE 2.3.0 beta series (was 2.2.1) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 229 22 September 2010 20:20
WinUAE 1.6.0 beta series (was 1.5.4) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 751 22 May 2009 08:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24886 seconds with 15 queries